We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Atholl Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Atholl Palace Hotel
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Looking at the website for The Atholl Palace Hotel we were expecting this to be our "splurge" during a 3 week tour of Scotland. Driving past the gatekeepers cottage up the pretty driveway was lovely, then the manicured garden in front of the magnificent building that is the hotel was amazing. The foyer was large and very promising, nicely decorated corridors off the elevator to our family room. The room itself was almost suite-like, children's bedroom to the left, double room to the right separated by a room with tea facilities/sofa/tv. The room was tired looking, the sofa was badly in need of replacing, sagging horribly in the middle, the view, however, was excellent! We did not eat dinner in the hotel but ate breakfast which was adequate. There is a "pitch and putt" golf course down a lovely wooded walk behind the hotel, clubs and balls provided, which was a fun hour to spent as a family.
I titled this review "disappointed" because that's how we felt during our stay here. The Atoll Palace is a large hotel and felt impersonal, less welcoming compared to the smaller Hotels and B&B's that we had stayed in. It is a nice hotel but not worth the amount we paid for our family room for one night.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Martina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSpaven, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are extremely sorry you felt disappointed during your stay at the Atholl Palace Hotel. We do welcome your feedback however, as it helps us to improve our service and standards, so thank you letting us know.
We do hope that you will visit us again in the near future!
With kind regards
Dougal Spaven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    630
    496
    295
    163
    101
See reviews for
353
793
40
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed two nights here. Four stars for staff being helpful and giving excellent service, four stars for comfort of room and overall ambience (but not a plush cocktails on tap upmarket feel though).

Not four stars for the shower as pressure was very poor.

Not four stars for food. I tend to agree with some other reviewers about the food quality. As one noted, "The food seems to be catering- pack type rather than bespoke restaurant food of four star hotel quality". I agree. Seemed to be assembled rather than created food. Tasty enough but not outstanding. Breakfasts were average. Evening meal offered reasonable choice. Supplement for the duck breast starter seemed pricey for what was produced. Note to chef: One of my main courses (boiled smoked bacon in cream sauce with pear and honey) was the wrong combination of flavours. It just didn't work together, a sweet cure bacon would have been nicer. The smoked bacon dominated. For the first night pudding I chose ice cream - it was two scoops, vanilla and chocolate. The quality of the ice-cream was poor. Tasted a bit like cheap basics range from a supermarket. It could have been so much nicer if it had been a smooth Italian ice-cream with a bit of decoration. Make it a 4 star dessert instead of 2 stars. On the second night I had tipsy laird trifle. Well you would be hard pushed to have got tipsy - no whisky flavour as promised. Fruit, sponge and jelly with instant custard on the top and bit of piped cream. SO VERY WRONG for a tipsy laird dessert, folks. I make it and I would be happy to share the real Scottish version of this recipe with any interested parties! It should be infused with whisky or Drambuie that hits the palate and stays. The custard should be home made not out of a carton. Taking short cuts and pretending it is more than it is, is not good enough. That is why this hotel is teetering on four stars. It would be quite simple to improve the quality and creativity in the kitchen to make the dining experience more four stars to match the surroundings and view from the Verandah restuarant.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room with a valley view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank upgrader55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSpaven, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you ever so much for taking the time to post your review. We are really sorry you didn't enjoy the food during your stay, and we do welcome your feedback. Your comments have been passed to our head chef, and we will ensure that the appropriate steps are taken.
Meanwhile, we do hope that this will not deter you from visiting us again some time in the future.
With kind regards
Dougal Spaven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

This 4 star hotel situated a ten minute walk from the town center is an exceptional place to stay in and eat in. The hotel is of significant cultural and heritage interest, The museum gives a great history of the building and indeed of life over 100 years ago. Staff are very helpful and friendly.
Meals and service are of the highest standards. The kind of place where you don't want to leave.

It is surrounded by beautiful gardens and walks through wooded areas

Room Tip: A great view from the rooms to the rear, but all rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paulstown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSpaven, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you sincerely for taking the time to post your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and will pass your comments onto the rest of the team.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Atholl Palace Hotel again soon.
With kind regards
Dougal Spaven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
la rippe
Level Contributor
48 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We recently spent a few days on a vintage car rally at the Atholl Palace in Pitlochry.
The hotel is well run.
The rooms are clean and comfortable and the beds have a good sleeping quality.
We were 200 people in all and the hotel handled this amount very well.
We asked for a quiet room and got it.
The Spa was good with kind and efficient therapists.
The food was very good, fresh and well presented.
The hotel is in a beautiful situation and is close to some beautiful walks.it is 2 hours by train from Edinborough and the station is a 10 minute walk from the hotel.
There are many young foreigners working in this hotel and they have been well chosen for their willingness to help and serve.
All in all a good stay.

Room Tip: the second floor at the end of the corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ittagub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSpaven, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out to post such a glowing review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay, seeing all the vintage cars parked outside the hotel really was a fabulous sight!! I will pass your kind comments onto the rest of the team, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Atholl Palace Hotel in the future.
With best regards
Dougal Spaven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night, the garden and surroundings are amazing. The room was large, clean and had a beautiful view. So far, very good things for the price. However, there were a few things that wasn't so good. The bed was rather hard and lumpy and the breakfast was really not good at all. There was a lot to choose from, it just didn't taste very well since it was poorly cooked. One example, the mushroomes was soggy and tasted coal.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ts T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSpaven, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your room and the gardens - I do hope it was nice weather during your visit!! I am disappointed to hear you did not enjoy breakfast with us, and I will pass your comments onto our head chef & team.
We do hope this will not deter you from visiting us again.
With kind regards
Dougal Spaven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stopped one night at the Atholl Palace. The approach to the building is stunning and the grounds are kept magnificently. The receptionist was helpfully, as we're all the front of house staff. Our room was of 'travellodge' standard, only not quite as good. The pillows were not much thicker than the ones handed out on airplanes, the TV had a small screen & the shower had low water pressure. We can live with that, of course, but the quality of the food in the dining room was just awful. I sent back my lamb because it was a tough as old boots - clearly cooked earlier and left under heat lamps. The very helpful Maitre d' offered an alternative which appeared within 3 minutes, so obviously pre cooked and just served up without any pride or care by the kitchen staff. Once again it was dire. It seems that the chef had gone home (8.30 pm) because the embarrased Maitre d' promised to "speak to him in the morning".

The food seems to be catering- pack type rather than bespoke restaurant food of four star hotel quality.

The hotel is a tourist trap, of course, catering for cheap coach tours, but there can be no excuse for such poor quality food. Stay and enjoy the grounds, but eat elsewhere is my strong advice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elni1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSpaven, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you sincerely for your comments regarding your recent stay.
At the Atholl Palace we welcome all feedback, good and bad and we pride ourselves on our high standard and customer satisfaction. On this occasion however we have clearly failed. For this we can only apologise and will certainly do our best to rectify the points you have mentioned to make sure these do not happen again.
We do hope to welcome you back to the Atholl Palace Hotel sometime in the future.
With Best Regards
Dougal Spaven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenrothes fife
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

we did the spa break 25/26 june for my daughters 21st and it was excellent, lovely afternoon tea then were were able to use the spa facilities... pool, jacuzzi, steam rooms etc. our room was lovely and spotless with a view over the hills, our evening meal was wonderful staff very helpfull . the next morning after breakfast back down to the pool etc before having a lovely back massage and facial, the therapist did a wonderful job. will certainly be back thank you

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brenaillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSpaven, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you sincerely for your comments regarding your recent Spa Break. It is most kind of you to take the time out to review the hotel and I will pass this onto the rest of the team. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and please wish your daughter belated 21st birthday wishes from all of us here!! We very much look forward to seeing you all back again!!
With Best Regards
Dougal Spaven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.9 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,684 reviews
0.3 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
0.5 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
1.3 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atholl Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atholl Palace Hotel

Property: Atholl Palace Hotel
Address: Perth Road, Pitlochry PH16 5LY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Pitlochry
#6 Luxury Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Atholl Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scottish Highlands, wild and rugged, have a timeless romantic quality. At their very heart, where the River Tummel flows to the Tay, sits the historic small town of Pitlochry. The Atholl Palace Hotel, the epitome of Scottish Baronial splendour, stands overlooking wooded parkland grounds and the town to the surrounding hills. Originally opened as the Athole Hydropathic in Victorian times, the hotel retains many features of the traditional large country house, with bedroom facilities and standards which often exceed expectations and complement spacious, relaxing public areas.With 107 bedrooms, self-catering lodges, apartments and 10 function suites we can cater for your needs whether it is leisure or business purposes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Atholl Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atholl Palace Pitlochry
Hotel Atholl Palace
Atholl Palace Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing