We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Atholl Palace Hotel
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Reviewed February 5, 2013

WOW - spent a weekend here and it was such a wonderful re:charging! The spa was amazing and the staff were all very friendly and helpful.
We ate in the bar 1 evening and the food was lovely as was the atmosphere. We especially liked all the cosy fireplaces and the feeling of peace and quiet that the hotel and surrounds gave.
We will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 186543AudM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSpaven, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Thank you sincerely for your comments regarding your recent stay. It is most kind of you to take the time out to review the hotel and I will pass this onto the rest of the team.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay, and hope to welcome you back to the Atholl Palace Hotel again soon!
With Best Regards
Dougal Spaven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,912)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,379 - 1,385 of 1,912 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2013

I bought 4 of these packages for my mother, myself and 2 daughters as a post Christmas treat. The deal included 2 treatments each, lunch, glass of fizz and the use of the spa facilities. We went up about 10.00 and the beautician was very helpful. We swam in the pool which was lovely but the changing facilities were very shabby. We ordered lunch so it would be waiting for us after we had finished our treatments. I have to say that the 2 beauticians were fabulous and couldn't have been nicer. We loved the whole spa experience, apart from the shabby changing rooms. But when we went up to the restaurant there was a monosyllabic teenager who tried to avoid us until I asked was there a chance we could have a table and our pre booked lunch. Things then went from bad to worse. The deal included a glass of fizz and while one really pleasant young man served us our fizz we then had to ask was there any chance of actually getting our lunch. The surly Eastern European girl called Veronique eventually brought us our lunch but to round it all up, although the lunch was okay, when we made to leave she insisted we were owe them money for the glass of bubbles. I said, no, that was included but she insisted we had to pay for it. We just left, refusing to get in a stand up fight with a waitress. So, while it was a lovely spa day the lunch in the shabby old restaurant was a bit of a farce and she ruined it for us. Might be tempted back to the lovely beauticians but certainly not to the hotel restaurant!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank magicperthshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSpaven, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Thank you sincerely for your comments regarding your recent visit to our Lavender Spa.
At the Atholl Palace we welcome all feedback, good and bad. We pride ourselves on our high level of customer service and on this occasion we have failed. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit to the spa, and hope that you will treat yourself to some more treatments in the future.
Regarding your experience in the restaurant, we can only apologise, I'm afraid this is purely down to a lack of communication between the spa and the restaurant. This clearly needs addressed, and perhaps some re-training and we will certainly do our best to rectify this going forward.
We hope to welcome you back to the Atholl Palace Hotel in the near future.
With Best Regards
Dougal Spaven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Went for the celidh which was superb. Band were fabulous. Great fun! Wouldn't stay in hotel next time, would stay in local B & B and go to celidh. Food was poor, service poor, wine didn't arrive until after starter. Gave up waiting for coffee despite asking fot it twice. Staff not attentive or friendly. Room was very small and well overdue a refurb. Over priced.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sueronhowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSpaven, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Thank you sincerely for your comments regarding your stay over our ceilidh weekend.
At the Atholl Palace we welcome all feedback, good and bad. We pride ourselves on our high level of customer service and on this occasion we have clearly failed. Our ceilidh nights are usually such a success, the band are wonderful and create a fantastic atmosphere in the hotel. Regarding your experience in our restaurant, we can only apologise, this is most out of character for us and we will certainly do our best to rectify the points you have mentioned to ensure this does not happen again.
We hope to welcome you back to the Atholl Palace Hotel in the near future.
With Best Regards
Dougal Spaven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

This was my third visit to the Atholl Palace-all the trips have been in the winter period. The service is excellent and we enjoyed the ambience which strikes the right balance between friendliness and privacy. It was a great break- we spent several hours walking after a hearty breakfast and came back to lovely warm rooms and blazing fires in the lounge areas.
Brilliant value for money. The staff are lovely and always very accommodating.Didn'tvisit fitness centre.There was a problem with the bath in the first room we had but we received immediate attention and choice of alternative.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tair50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSpaven, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Thank you sincerely for your lovely comments regarding your recent stay. It is most kind of you to take the time out to review the hotel and I will pass this onto the rest of the team.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back to the Atholl Palace Hotel again soon!
With Best Regards
Dougal Spaven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We booked in for a 2 night winter warmer deal for DBB. Generally very impressed with the character and setting of the hotel. Given that we arrived with a foot of snow on the ground access was no problem. Room was comfortable and en suite bathroom very large. The room furnishings were perhaps a little tired, but nothing to worry about and we would certainly stay again. Dinner was very good, with a reasonable selection from the menu each night. Breakfast was ok.

On the downside, we were not offered our whisky liquer on arrival (not the end of the world !) and the restaurant was extremely cold on our first night. Various reasons were given for this, although I would expect a hotel of this standard, bearing in mind winter occurs in Scotland every year, to have sorted this out by now.

Free tickets to the nearby distillery was a nice touch.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richard2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSpaven, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Thank you sincerely for your comments regarding your recent stay.
At the Atholl Palace Hotel we welcome all feedback, good and bad. We pride ourselves on our high level of customer service and on this occasion we have failed. Welcome drinks are usually offered to guests checking in, or in fact passing by, so I am very sorry you did not get to sample the liqueur. With regard to the temperature of the restaurant, we can only apologise - we try our very best to ensure our guests are more than comfortable and we will certainly do our best to rectify this going forward!
Again, thank you ever so much for taking the time to review the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Atholl Palace Hotel in the near future - and we will make sure you have a delicious welcome drink when you arrive!
With Best Regards
Dougal Spaven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

This hotel looks like a real castle. Behind the scenes it is not that romantic. Average breakfast, average diner, average rooms, personel not friendly, great surroundings.
The building itself and the gardens are very inviting. Nearby you can raft, golf, shoot, walk and tast whisky. You can walk to Pitlochry to visit a pub and meet some locals. To expect to much from the hotel and you will see that you are in a great place.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athollpalace, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Thank you sincerely for your comments regarding your stay during September 2012.
At the Atholl Palace Hotel we welcome all feedback, good and bad. We pride ourselves on our high level of customer service and on this occasion we have failed. For this we can only apologise and will certainly do our best to rectify the points you have mentioned. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the surrounding area, as Perthshire really does have so much to offer and we hope to welcome you back to the Atholl Palace Hotel in the near future.
With Best Regards
Dougal Spaven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Hotel was very busy when we arrived as there was a Burns Evening but we got our welcome whisky and sat beside one of their many coal fires on the settee which was lovely as it was a cold snowy day. Our room was big and called the Garden rooms. Not much to see but the room looked a bit tired and worn. Nice big bathroom and the room had a double bed and a single bed also. We were a DBB rate and I have to say the meal we had in the Restaurant that evening was nice and the service was very good. Having our coffee after in the lounge area was nice as we once again sat near one of their open fires.
Even though the Hotel was busy with the Burns night, it didn't feel crowded as there is so many nice places to sit, with real fire places. My husband and I were with another couple and we had a really enjoyable stay. The only thing I thought could of been a bit better was having to queue and do your own toast when it is really busy, as there was at least 8 people waiting for toast and there wasn't the space for the other guests to get to the cereal area.

Room Tip: The turret rooms are beautiful for the views and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAFINDLAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athollpalace, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Thank you sincerely for your comments regarding your stay over our Burns weekend celebrations. It is most kind of you to take the time out to review the hotel and I will pass this onto the rest of the team. We have taken on board your points about the queues at breakfast time and will do our best to rectify this. Refurbishment of the hotel rooms and public areas is always ongoing, we do this on a rolling basis to ensure we keep our standards high. We are sorry you feel that we have failed this on this occasion.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay, we find the whisky liqueurs and the log fires always do the trick in warming you up on a cold day!! We hope to welcome you back to the Atholl Palace Hotel again soon!
With Best Regards
Dougal Spaven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.9 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
2,122 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
925 reviews
0.3 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#13 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,272 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
813 reviews
0.5 mi away
Scotland's Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atholl Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atholl Palace Hotel

Address: Perth Road, Pitlochry PH16 5LY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Pitlochry
#6 Luxury Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range: $179 - $493 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Atholl Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scottish Highlands, wild and rugged, have a timeless romantic quality. At their very heart, where the River Tummel flows to the Tay, sits the historic small town of Pitlochry. The Atholl Palace Hotel, the epitome of Scottish Baronial splendour, stands overlooking wooded parkland grounds and the town to the surrounding hills. Originally opened as the Athole Hydropathic in Victorian times, the hotel retains many features of the traditional large country house, with bedroom facilities and standards which often exceed expectations and complement spacious, relaxing public areas.With 107 bedrooms, self-catering lodges, apartments and 10 function suites we can cater for your needs whether it is leisure or business purposes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Atholl Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atholl Palace Pitlochry
Hotel Atholl Palace
Atholl Palace Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing