We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect with a capital "P"”
Review of Dunmurray Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pitlochry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dunmurray Lodge
Ranked #8 of 65 Pitlochry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sanctuary Point, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Perfect with a capital "P"”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

I stayed at Dunmurray Lodge for only two nights (1st & 2nd Nov) but I wished it had been longer. The home is elegant in décor and yet has a warm and inviting feel about it, and I felt totally relaxed. I had a room at the back of the property which was well appointed and the bed was very comfortable and dressed in fine linen. The bathroom was immaculate. The added touches of bone china cup & saucer and a good selection on the beverage tray was good to see. Breakfast was delicious and served piping hot, in abundance and with quality produce, and each person selects their choice(s) the previous night on a menu sheet which is left on the information folder upon arrival and after each daily clean. Great idea in my books. Location is good and above all quiet, with a leisurely stroll down a hill (not too steep) into the town if the need be. Tony & Irene are warm, welcoming hosts who take a genuine interest in their guests and they make sure all needs are catered for. I highly recommend Dunmurray Lodge to anyone who is visiting Pitlochry and seeking total relaxation in comfort. I marked "excellent" to all sections of this review because that is what I experienced whilst staying there. Thank you Tony & Irene for welcoming me into your home and all that you did to make my holiday memorable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank faraway_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    14
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
56
187
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We last stayed here over 10 years ago when the previous owners were in charge. It was excellent then and still is under Tony & Irene. The rooms are very comfortable with all amenities, there is a lovely guest lounge and the breakfasts are outstanding. This is a B&B that shows over-priced Edinburgh hotels how British hospitality can and should be! If you are visiting Pitlochry this is the only place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woodtroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We loved Dunmurray Lodge. Tony is an excellent host, and our room was cozy and beautifully decorated. Since there was a local festival that weekend Pitlochry was very crowded, so Tony recommended we eat at the local country club - an excellent idea. We had filled out a breakfast menu request the night before and the result was delicious. We wish we could have stayed longer, and would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tasannie2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 23, 2013

What a delightful place to stay. Irene and Tony could not work any harder to ensure that their guests have a pleasant stay. Our room was beautifully decorated with complimentary tea, coffee and a well stocked en-suite with a selection of lovely toiletries. The attention to detail is wonderful and breakfast was amazing. On the morning of our departure it was rather dreary and cold and to our dismay the car would not start. We would like to thank both Tony and Irene for their extended hospitality as we were invited back into the guest house to keep warm and given tea and biscuits until our breakdown Company arrived and repaired the car. Top class service.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AilsaW44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We have stayed in many B & B's in Pitlochry, but the Dunmurray Lodge is by far the best. The proprietors were exceptionally helpful and pleasant, the room was beautifully decorated, clean and warm with comfortable beds and the shower room was very well stocked with high quality products. The breakfasts were fantastic with a huge variety to suit all tastes and appetites. I would have no hesitation in recommending this B & B to my friends (in fact I already have!!) Many thanks to Tony and Irene for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hootie_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed here more than once and always felt welcome. Feels like a lovely home and the breakfast is superb. Only a couple of minutes walk from the main street yet in a quiet location. Can recommend without hesitation!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allybally111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed here for two nights whilst attending a family wedding in Pitlochry, and by far the best B&B we have ever stayed in.The rooms we're clean and very comfy,the breakfast was fresh and delicious with an extensive choice. The hosts Tony & Irene couldn't have been more friendly and helpful would highly recommend this place and we will definitely return

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HAD1875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.4 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
374 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
879 reviews
0.2 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,810 reviews
0.5 mi away
Moulin Hotel
Moulin Hotel
#14 of 18 in Pitlochry
532 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
#17 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunmurray Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunmurray Lodge

Property: Dunmurray Lodge
Address: 72 Bonnethill Road, Pitlochry PH16 5ED, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lorraine and Mike would like to welcome you to their beautiful home in the highlands... Dunmurray Lodge Guesthouse is perfectly located in the centre of the Victorian Spa town of Pitlochry. The house is situated on a quiet street with views overlooking the hills yet only short stroll from the town centre with its welcoming restaurants, cosy coffee houses and speciality shops. Attractions including Pitlochry Festival Theatre, Pitlochry Dam & Fish Ladder and Pitlochry Golf Club are near at hand and the railway station and A9 motorway with its links to Perth, Edinburgh, Glasgow, Stirling, Aviemore and Inverness are minutes away. This splendid Victorian Bed and Breakfast has been lovingly maintained and retains many of its original features including an open fire in the cosy guest lounge . The accommodation boasts a lovely family suite which consists of two adjoining rooms and further 3 double rooms. Two of the rooms can be made into twin accommodation. Single occupancy rates are available All of the rooms are ensuite and have been tastefully decorated and furnished in keeping with the character of the house. The sumptuous beds guarantee you a great nights sleep. Each room boasts tea and coffee making facilities, TV, I pod docking station, hairdryer and complimentary toiletries. For breakfast we offer a delicious buffet of fresh fruits, cereals, yoghurt, granola & fruit compote. Our cooked to order breakfasts include porridge served with honey, whisky and cream, traditional Scottish breakfast using local produce and Dunkeld smoked salmon & scrambled eggs. We also offer a light continental breakfast and 'Breakfast to go' for those looking for a very early start. A warm welcome, a comfortable bed and a hearty breakfast awaits you at Dunmurray ... we hope to meet you soon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dunmurray Lodge Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing