We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as we hoped it would be.”
Review of Dunmurray Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pitlochry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dunmurray Lodge
Ranked #6 of 65 Pitlochry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2007

Following recommendations on the Trip Advisor website, my wife, daughter and I plus another couple booked a Saturday overnight at Dunmurray while visiting Pitlochry's Enchanted Forest event. The rooms were extremely comfortable and the owners very pleasant and welcoming. Our daughter was particularly pleased to have her own adjoining bedroom with a proper bed, rather than the usual fold down afterthought. An excellent Scottish breakfast saw us on our way on the Sunday morning. Recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Mearnsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (346)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

299 - 305 of 346 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2007

Stayed one night in late June (wished it had been longer) and can’t say enough about the accommodations and the hosts, Tony and Irene! They were the best!

The rooms were lovely, ensuite bathrooms updated and clean, the bed very comfortable, the breakfast room bright and sunny and breakfast outstanding! The food absolutely delicious, bountiful and fresh. Another bonus was the parking space available right behind the B&B and the lovely gardens. We enjoyed the short walks to all the shops, restaurants, the theater, and fish hatchery. Tony and Irene know the area well and give terrific recommendations. Also don't miss a visit to the Edradour Distillary which is a short drive from Dunmurray.

One of our favorite accommodations in our 9 day Scotland trip! Hospitality and friendliness at its best! An A+ B&B!

  • Stayed: June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gemini5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2007

This is an excellent B&B, the room was clean, had an en-suite and an LCD telly (a joy after a day of walking up tall things). Tony and Irene are very welcoming and know the local area well. On my first night they directed me to an ace pub/restaurant where all meals were eaten from there on in. All washed down with the excellent local ale. It's a good location a couple of minutes walk up from the main street which in Pitlochry is fairly busy (for the highlands).

The breakfast was immense and lovely, if you can think of it and would eat it for breakfast chances are it's available in abundance. If I am in the area again I will certainly be staying here.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lord_Nibbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2007

We stayed at the Dunmurray for two nights in September in the Stewart Room. It is a wonderful B&B. Tony and Irene are great hosts and the entire stay was delightful. From the nicely landscaped back yard to the tasteful decorating throughout the B&B, it is adorable.

Our room was spotless and well equipped. The bed was comfortable and there was a flat screen tv. The breakfasts were excellent. The best of any of our six B&B's we stayed in. You select your breakfast items the night before and Tony & Irene work as a team to prepare your selections. In addition to the cooked breakfasts, there is a buffet selection of cereals, fruit, yogurt, and juices. Everything was delicious.

One note, they do not accept credit card, so be sure to have cash available. All around, the Dunmurray was our favorite B&B of our entire trip. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AWMTWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2007

We only stayed one night at Dunmurray Lodge but it was an excellent stopover on our way home from a week of touring, and just as good as accommodation that we had in other places costing almost twice as much.

First impressions were excellent as we approached the house through the beautifully maintained garden, full of late summer colour. The house was equally as attractive, with a very nicely furnished guest lounge. Our room was immaculately clean and very comfortable. The only thing that let it down was the electric show which produced just a trickle of water.

The house is within easy walking distance of all of the shops and restaurants in the town, although it is at the top of a small hill. A point to note is that we struggled to find a good restaurant for dinner in the town. Everywhere was almost empty other than Fern Cottage, which was so full that we could not get a table, but it looked well worth booking ahead. Our meal at the town’s Indian restaurant was pretty poor but breakfast the next morning made up for it, with a very substantial Scottish breakfast on offer.

We would certainly stay at the Dunmurray Lodge again when we are passing though Pitlochry.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Creamegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2007

Perfect hospitality;
Very nice and friendly owner;
All special request's will be accomplished
Perfect located for everything;
private car park;

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sbertl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2007

We agree with the previous comments.

We stayed in the Murray Suite (2 rooms and a bathroom) : nice, comfortable and clean. Wonderful choice (and quality) for breakfast.

Tony and Irene are very welcoming.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Citrouille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.4 mi away
The Claymore Guest House
The Claymore Guest House
#2 of 65 in Pitlochry
635 reviews
0.3 mi away
Derrybeg Bed and Breakfast
Derrybeg Bed and Breakfast
#7 of 65 in Pitlochry
328 reviews
0.3 mi away
Westlands of Pitlochry
Westlands of Pitlochry
#8 of 65 in Pitlochry
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Old Mill Inn
The Old Mill Inn
#3 of 65 in Pitlochry
1,292 reviews
0.2 mi away
Craigroyston House and Lodge
0.5 mi away
Craigatin House & Courtyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunmurray Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunmurray Lodge

Address: 72 Bonnethill Road, Pitlochry PH16 5ED, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Pitlochry
Price Range: $29 - $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lorraine and Mike would like to welcome you to their beautiful home in the highlands... Dunmurray Lodge Guesthouse is perfectly located in the centre of the Victorian Spa town of Pitlochry. The house is situated on a quiet street with views overlooking the hills yet only short stroll from the town centre with its welcoming restaurants, cosy coffee houses and speciality shops. Attractions including Pitlochry Festival Theatre, Pitlochry Dam & Fish Ladder and Pitlochry Golf Club are near at hand and the railway station and A9 motorway with its links to Perth, Edinburgh, Glasgow, Stirling, Aviemore and Inverness are minutes away. This splendid Victorian Bed and Breakfast has been lovingly maintained and retains many of its original features including an open fire in the cosy guest lounge . The accommodation boasts a lovely family suite which consists of two adjoining rooms and further 3 double rooms. Two of the rooms can be made into twin accommodation. Single occupancy rates are available All of the rooms are ensuite and have been tastefully decorated and furnished in keeping with the character of the house. The sumptuous beds guarantee you a great nights sleep. Each room boasts tea and coffee making facilities, TV, I pod docking station, hairdryer and complimentary toiletries. For breakfast we offer a delicious buffet of fresh fruits, cereals, yoghurt, granola & fruit compote. Our cooked to order breakfasts include porridge served with honey, whisky and cream, traditional Scottish breakfast using local produce and Dunkeld smoked salmon & scrambled eggs. We also offer a light continental breakfast and 'Breakfast to go' for those looking for a very early start. A warm welcome, a comfortable bed and a hearty breakfast awaits you at Dunmurray ... we hope to meet you soon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dunmurray Lodge Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing