We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”
Review of The Acarsaid

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Acarsaid
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Stayed at Acarsaid for three nights. Welcoming, lovely room which was nicely decorated, brilliant food especially the cheesecake and good wifi reception. All staff very pleasant and accommodating from booking to checkout. Hope to return.

Room Tip: Room 10 nice away from noise of traffic and lovely view of back garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, General Manager at The Acarsaid, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you very much for the short review on The Acarsaid - we really appreciate feed back from all our clients & it really makes a difference to our small team to read such nice comments.

Kind regards
RICHARD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    99
    19
    7
    1
See reviews for
59
238
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sugar Land, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Easy walking from Hotel to downtown. Street behind hotel is great for walking as there are many beautiful home gardens to see.

Rooms are clean but small and dated. Bathroom is very small and could be more efficient. Free WiFi does not work in the room. Towel warmer never worked. There is no AC if that is important to you. Windows are large and do open for a breeze. Parking is at the hotel and very convenient. We had a room with twin beds and they were comfy. Rooms at the back are quiet and the rooms at the front have a view of town and the beautiful scenery.

Staff was friendly enough but not outstanding. Breakfast with the hotel stay is very good. Great choices on the menu. Dinner at the hotel was overpriced and the steak was disappointing. I would check out other hotels before making a reservation here.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debbie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, General Manager at The Acarsaid, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a short review of your visit, just a couple of points to pick up on though,
All our bedrooms were completely refurbished in January of this year and the rooms you & your party occupied were both 14.21msq (153 ftsq) so could hardly be described as either dated or small !
I'm not too sure what you mean by the bathroom could be more efficient, again these are all new this year with all new walk-in showers, fixtures & fittings (confused !)
We have at no time claimed to have AC, (if it was not important not sure why it would be mentioned) also we offer WIFI (free of charge) in our public areas again we have never claimed otherwise (confused !)
I was disappointed to read your comments regarding dinner (and your review on the restaurant) There is always a Manager on duty that could have dealt with any problems you may have had at the time - in-fact she remembers asking if all was okay with your table on the evening in question so I am also surprised that you then choose to air your views in this manner rather than dealing with them at the time when something could have been resolved - strange that you would do this.
However all being said - I do hope that you enjoyed the rest of your visit to Scotland.
Kind regards
Richard D Main
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights while touring Scotland,did enjoy our visit a lot.hotel has been re-furbished recently to a very good level,new carpets, decorating,lounge furniture etc.the dining room is a really updated and pleasant place to eat and the food a really good quality,we had breakfast and dinner...all really good.All the staff were really friendly and nice and the whole atmosphere was really good.,we would stay again if we were in the area. Would just like to suggest that wi fi access should be extended to the bedrooms,that would be more convenient.also a drop off place and a bit of "blue badge" parking near the hotel front as the main car park is at the back.also what about a small tv in one of the lounge areas(there are several)not just for general watching but for the news etc,a way to catch up on things and have a drink from the bar.




























0






0

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bearandbun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, General Manager at The Acarsaid, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you for your very kind review and your comments regarding the car park, we certainly have no problem with drop-off at the entrance to the Hotel but unfortunately the Emergency Services insist that the driveway area to the Hotel is kept clear for Emergency Service Vehicle access.

Thanks again & Kind regards

Richard D Main
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Borders
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014

We stayed here for four nights after getting a late booking via Booking.Com. We visit Pitlochry regularly but it was our first stay in the Acarsaid. Although externally the hotel looks a mish-mash of styles with various additions over the years, internally it is stylishly well-appointed with a lot of thought having gone into the décor. The staff are friendly, efficient and helpful.I have no hesitation about recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: WiFi varies because the core of the building is old with thick stone walls. Couldn't get WiFi in...
See more room tips
Green Features: Definite evidence of being efficient in the use of resources without any sense of mean-ness.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HomingPigeon49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, General Manager at The Acarsaid, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the trouble to write about The Acarsaid - I and all of the small team here really appreciate your kind comments.

Kind regards

Richard D Main
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Just back from two night stay when we arrived we were greeted by a friendly lady in reception area we had room 1 it was small but clean and tidy but very hot asked for a fan but there wasn't any had a problem getting to sleep due to heat both days we sated it was very warm outside.
All the staff were very good and helpful nothing to much trouble good choice at breakfast evening meals were good but on the second night we had the pre theatre menu which we found not to our taste but the food was nice drink reasonably priced all in all an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, General Manager at The Acarsaid, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Thanks for your comments - as you say there is very little we can do when it is as hot outside as it has been, air conditioning is just not needed in Scotland & a fan would only have circulated already hot air !
We can but try

Kind regards
RICHARD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

I cannot understand why they do not all rate this as an excellent hotel though I note that all those that don't say it is very good; it is unusual for any hotel, or restaurant for that matter, not to attract an adverse comment and this in itself speaks for itself. Spent 3 days here. Its a gem. Immaculate throughout with friendly and professional staff led by Richard the admirable 'boss'. Breakfast was all that you could ask for and more; had a meal in the restaurant (open to the public) and found that it was 'better' than the two other very highly rated restaurants, and deservedly so, we visited during our stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joenorthumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, General Manager at The Acarsaid, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Thank you so much for your very kind comments & for taking the time to write your review.
I've said so many times, it really does make a difference to us all here.
Thank you again & we hope to see you back again with us soon.
Kind regards

Richard D Main
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2014

A one night stay at the Acarsaid with my elderly and not very mobile mother. No fuss telephone booking got us a growing floor ro with walk in shower. The manager Alan was so courteous and efficient, as were the dining staff. A courtesy bus took us to the festival theatre and back and the driver could not have been more helpful to my mother. Although not the most attractive building from the outside this was more than made up for by everything else being excellent!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ermyngarde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, General Manager at The Acarsaid, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments - we hope you will have the opportunity to visit us again sometime soon.

Kind regards
Richard D Main
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.3 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,812 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
880 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#5 of 18 in Pitlochry
662 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
#17 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,600 reviews
0.2 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Acarsaid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Acarsaid

Property: The Acarsaid
Address: 8 Atholl Road | Pitlochry, Pitlochry PH16 5BX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Acarsaid 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Family owned Acarsaid is THE small hotel destination in Pitlochry. Our renowned highland hospitality, great service, delicious food, cosy lounges, well stocked bar, free off street parking & free WIFI all contribute to make your stay with us special. The hotel is in an enviable position only a short level walk from the centre of Pitlochry & its variety of shops & cafes. See a play at "The Theatre in the Hills" visit a castle or malt whisky distillery or simply enjoy the beautiful Perthshire scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your The Acarsaid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Acarsaid Pitlochry
The Acarsaid Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing