We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcome with a smile and a gorgeous property”
Review of The Acarsaid

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Acarsaid
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A welcome with a smile and a gorgeous property”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We were welcome by a lovely lady at the reception who after a small chat about our trip made us comfortable with our room whereabouts, gave us recommendations on what we could do to spend the evening and politely explained the hotel policies. The hotel is well located and the property cannot be missed. The next morning breakfast was an elaborate Scottish meal and fantastic it was ! A definite stop if you're visiting the highlands !

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NidhiAnandBatra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, General Manager at The Acarsaid, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of The Acarsaid - I agree Allyson is a "Lovely Lady" & I am proud that she can make people feel so at home while they are here.
Glad that you enjoyed your visit & hope to see you again sometime.

Kind regards
Richard D Main
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    95
    15
    7
    1
See reviews for
55
225
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a wonderful stay at the Acarsaid Hotel. We have stayed two or three times previously as the food is five star!! This time we had a lovely surprise as the hotel has been totally refurbished and is absolutely beautiful. The public rooms and bedrooms have been very tastefully decorated and refurnished with bathrooms completely refurbished also.
This hotel has all the right ingredients for the perfect stay-- comfort, cleanliness, excellent service and delicious food . It is also close to the town centre and less than fifteen minutes walk from the theatre ( although transport can be available).

Room Tip: We had room 8 on the ground floor . We loved it as it was so private we could leave curtains open ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, General Manager at The Acarsaid, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Liz & Norrie
Thank you for the very kind comments you have made about The Acarsaid, earlier this year we embarked on a full refurbishment of guest rooms and I have to say we are all very pleased with the results and I am glad to see that you agree.
Hope we will see you back again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Richard D Main
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 6, 2014

We stayed at the Acarsaid to celebrate our anniversary in March and had a great weekend. The hotel is very tastefully decorated, the rooms are very clean, the bed super comfortable and the bathroom very modern, good shower as well. The breakfast was delicious, one of the best I've had in a hotel. The staff were very welcoming and helpful. I couldn't recommend this place more.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazmata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, General Manager at The Acarsaid, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you indeed for your comments on The Acarsaid - I am glad that you found everything to your liking and we hope to see you back again soon.
I've said this before on some other reviews but it really does make a difference to our small team here to read that people have enjoyed the improvements we have made here.

Kind regards
Richard D Main
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We stayed for one night in May. Booked the hotel as we were looking for somewhere that would allow us to take our dog. The hotel has two rooms that are pet friendly.
We got a warm welcome on arrival and the man we spoke to at reception was happy to give us a map and some information on where to go for a picnic. We found all the staff to be welcoming and friendly and happy to help with any queries we had. The hotel has been recently refurbished and is clean and fresh throughout. Our room (11) was spacious with a big walk in wardrobe and sitting area with small table and two chairs. The bathroom had a shower cubicle and was small but fine for a short stay. We got quite a lot of noise in the morning from the floor above but you expect this in a small hotel and not a major problem.
Perfect location at the start of the Main Street and set back off the road.
I think this hotel was very good for the price we paid and I would be happy to return in future.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louise8322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, General Manager at The Acarsaid, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments - we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
Richard D Main
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Not in the main part of town but not far to walk. Some may say it is to close to railway line but it didn't bother us and we were at the front of hotel. Rooms at the rear would be quieter away from road and station. The outside looks a little strange with the extensions either side of the main house. Inside is very nice, the restaurant is clean and modern so is the lounge area. Upstairs is where the building looks a little dated but it is clean and tidy. The restaurant is a steak house for evening meals, food was good but very expensive for the amount you got. Think we may have been short changed in the meat department. The guy running the restaurant was spot on very good at his job. Good value for money bed and breakfast only. Evening meal good but at a price.

Room Tip: may be quieter at the rear but front room didn't bother us
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, General Manager at The Acarsaid, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a short review of The Acarsaid, whilst we have done as much as possible to make the inside a relaxing haven there is not too much we can do about the outside (much as we would like to) however we are taking steps to try to smarten up the outside appearance and hope that this will help in some way to give a better impression on arrival.
Thank you again and we hope to see you back again soon

Kind regards
Richard D Main
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Just stayed for 2 nights, a really good hotel in a great location near the main street in Pitlochry. The room was very comfortable, the staff very helpful, & the breakfasts great. Definitely recommended.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Suelizj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, General Manager at The Acarsaid, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a short review, these days these are so important to our business and the fact that you would be happy to recommend us means a great deal.

Thank you again and kind regards
Richard D Main
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Borders
Level Contributor
256 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

It is a few years since I had enjoyed a stay at the Acarsaid and I am so glad I made a return visit. They have refurbished much of the hotel and furnishings are beautiful, the colours and comfort.The dining room has been transformed into a more modern interior and the food is superb. Dinner was the freshest fish beautifully prepared and served by very pleasant waiting staff. Breakfast was also delicious. The room I had was extremely comfortable with a seating area overlooking the rear garden.
The Management are very hands on and this attention shows in the smiles of the many guests who were experiencing Acarsaid at the same times as myself. I dined next to an American couple who were not staying at the hotel but their guest house had recommended Acarsaid for dinner. So if the locals from a 5 star guest house say it is good then you know it is good.Enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blackfaceewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, General Manager at The Acarsaid, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Thank you for all your very kind comments, I am really glad that you decided to visit The Acarsaid again & that you liked all the improvements we have made,.
I hope we will be able to welcome you again in the near future.

Again, Many Thanks & Kind Regards

Richard D Main
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.3 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,753 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
753 reviews
1.4 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#5 of 18 in Pitlochry
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
0.4 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
846 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
#17 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Acarsaid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Acarsaid

Property: The Acarsaid
Address: 8 Atholl Road | Pitlochry, Pitlochry PH16 5BX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Acarsaid 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Family owned Acarsaid is THE small hotel destination in Pitlochry. Our renowned highland hospitality, great service, delicious food, cosy lounges, well stocked bar, free off street parking & free WIFI all contribute to make your stay with us special. The hotel is in an enviable position only a short level walk from the centre of Pitlochry & its variety of shops & cafes. See a play at "The Theatre in the Hills" visit a castle or malt whisky distillery or simply enjoy the beautiful Perthshire scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your The Acarsaid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Acarsaid Pitlochry
The Acarsaid Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing