We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pine trees”
Review of Pine Trees Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pine Trees Hotel
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Very nice hotel plenty of original fixtures nice clean and comfortable. Serious hazard is the driveway at night if you go into town for night out the street lights are switched off up the driveway pitch dark thankfully had my light on my mobile would have taken for ever to get along the driveway.

Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathview, Owner at Pine Trees Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and for the benefit of other guests reading your review, we keep the drive lights on until 1.00am- they are not kept on all night for obvious reasons! We are happy to provide a torch to any one who will be staying out late and coming back on-foot provided we are informed..

Valerie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (799)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

626 - 632 of 799 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2012

Lovely area, fantastic food, great staff would recommend to anyone. We went for one night stay while visiting the festival theater. The staff were first class and the evening meal was lovely. good value for money would go again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We visited Pine Trees Hotel, Pitlochry in August 2012. This is a really lovely hotel to visit, lots of character, set in lovely grounds/gardens. Restaurant overlooking gardens, one night while having evening meal, there were two deer in the gardens which was lovely to see.
We last visited Pine Trees about 4 years ago, we enjoyed it then which is why we came back again, the hotel, food and staff are still wonderful.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hazel_denbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathview, Owner at Pine Trees Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments which is much appreciated.
Our grounds are home to roe deer and to red squirrels so it it always a joy when guests have had the pleasure of seeing them.
We look forward to your return visit sometime in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Booked for two nights with friends. Found we were in an annex. No comment from reception, or forewarning of this. Felt like second class guests despite high tariff.
Very disappointing. Returned second evening shortly after 10.30 to find front door locked. Eventually other guests let us in. Bar was closed! No staff evident at all.
Service? Hopeless. We won't be back.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikebiggar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathview, Owner at Pine Trees Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

We are sorry to learn that you thought you were treated as second class citizens. You were given the newest and best accommodation with 2 rooms together, in our new "Heatherbank Wing". This was not a run down annexe to the main building!
The evening you returned to the hotel was a windy one and unfortunately the front door had blown closed, the duty manager was in the hotel at the time and available to guests but whilst the bar was empty she was in the process of preparing the restaurant for breakfast.
Our staff work long and hard to please our guests and we can only apologise if you felt our service was not what you required.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Pleasant hotel but very average accommodation- we were only staying one night on way back from holidays in the highlands - so that might be why we got a funny little room on the top floor as we weren't staying long. But even so we paid £ 126 for the room and it was v small with a v dated bathroom. Worst part was the sloping floor and bed- hard to not roll out and There was so much the noise from the other rooms on the landing- not sure if some rooms shared a communal bathroom (?) as there was lots of door noise all evening. That said, the public areas are comfortable and nice to spend time there and the bar/ lounge service was good for drinks. Some people had dogs with them and they were allowed into the lounge area which added to the laid back country feel. Didn't have dinner but breakfast was nice and relaxed.

Room Tip: Ask for a non top floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DHL789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathview, Owner at Pine Trees Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Thank you for talking the time to comment on your stay with us.
Being converted from an original Victorian House, all the rooms are different and all have their own character and size, subsequently some rooms are smaller than others, however, all rooms and bathrooms have been updated in the last few years but in keeping with Country House feel!
We are not aware of any sloping floors and we have no beds smaller than kingsize all of which have luxury mattress toppers on them to make for a comfy night's sleep.
Hopefully, next time you visit we will be able to offer a larger room.
all the best
Valerie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

if you are looking for a hotel that offers good food and service in a very quiet setting there is no better around . it is very relaxing and if the weather does not suit take a book for the lovely lounge and indulge in a not expensive lunch

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank james m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Having stayed a couple of nights this week at the Pine Trees Hotel, I would commend it as a proper country house hotel. The lounge, a long room the width of the house, was furnished with ample sofas and chairs which guests could sink into and enjoy their quiet time. There were plenty of books to peruse and games to dip into should the weather be inclement. We stayed in the Molyneaux Suite, a huge room with a vast four poster bed and two window alcoves with armchairs set there so we could thoroughly enjoy the views over the breathtaking surrounding countryside. Breakfast was a delight, our selections always piping hot and beautifully cooked and presented. The staff at the hotel were attentive without being intrusive and offered helpful advice regarding excursions. Generally, the atmosphere was calm and inviting, a place we will look forward to returning to. Thank you.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.9 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,871 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
2,035 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
0.5 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#11 of 18 in Pitlochry
910 reviews
2.1 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#5 of 18 in Pitlochry
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Trees Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Trees Hotel

Address: Strathview Terrace, Pitlochry PH16 5QR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
#5 Luxury Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range: $146 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pine Trees Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pine Trees Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Trees Pitlochry
Hotel Pine Trees
Pine Trees Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing