We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A mixed bag”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A mixed bag”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2008

This hotel really is a mixed bag.

Good things: -

1. Excellent breakfast - all very hot, nicely cooked and tasty (although for some reason I got twice as much food the first day as the second - two sausages, slices of haggis etc rather than just the one).

2. Pool area is very nice and new and was always very quiet when we were there. There is a hot tub, steam room and sauna as well.

3. Bar area is nice and fresh.

4. Plenty of parking.

Bad things: -

1. Bar service - when I order a bottle of wine with my dinner I expect to get it before the food arrives. Both nights we stayed we did no get our drinks until after we had had our starters. The couple in the table beside us chased their wine twice and it arrived halfway through there main course. They have one barman who is dealing with drinks in the bar and also preparing and bringing through all drinks ordered in the restaurant. It doesn't work and just puts pressure on all the waiting staff (adding to the rather surly deamanor of a few of them - not the estern european waitresses who were all very pleasant and efficient).

2. Bedroom - our room had clearly been recently decorated and although on the small side was adequate. However, for some reason when the decorated the room they didn't bother to replace the awful shower. It took about 10 minutes to warm up (even after we worked out that the hot and cold controls were mixed so that you turned it to red to cool it down and blue to heat it up). You then had to move around to get wet the pressure was so bad and the temperature fluctuated constantly.

3. Communal areas - the bits that have not been done up yet are very tired.

  • Liked — Pool area; breakfast
  • Disliked — Rubbish shower, poor bar service
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank GC1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    532
    314
    219
    143
See reviews for
254
821
27
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
AYR
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2008

Spent a very comfortable three days at this hotel. Bedroom recently refurbished and clean, as was the pool. The food was well presented, but most importantly the staff were obviously well trained and always pleasant. Our only complaint ,re the shower, was dealt with immediately, and I would be happy to return to this hotel. H. Douglas

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Hamilton2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2008

Wine & Dine deal unbeatable. We stayed in the older part of the hotel which is currently being refurbished. But there was no intrusion into our stay. Rooms big and high, bathroom has all teh usual facilities. Wardrobe a wee bit small, but we had only a few togs for our short break. No view from the window, but -hey- just go outside!

Breakfast - as much as you needed and well presented. Dinner from Table D'hote menu as we were on a package. Plenty of choice, 4 course plus coffee. Staff were excellent. Our deal got us a bottle of house wine too, and it was perfectly suitable. Unfortunately, I had to drink most of it as my wife only takes a glass . . .

Didn't sample the leasure facilties, but they looked OK.

Location is right in the centre of town. Car park with plenty of space. You can walk everywhere in Pitlochry, including the theatre, dam & fish ladder.

Of course we will be back!

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dbaygg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcGardner, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 25, 2008
Thank you for taking the time to write your recent review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Kind regards
Marc Gardner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2008

We are just home today from a lovely stay at Scotland's Hotel.
Our room was clean, cosy and very tastefully decorated. A nice size with a good sized bathroom too. We loved the swimming pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi and made good use of them. Most times we were there it was really quiet which was perfect.
The staff in the hotel and the spa were very friendly and helpful and the staff in the dining room were unbelievably efficient! The food was also brilliant, hot and tasty and of quite a high standard (apart from the puddings, they were ok, just not nearly as good quality as the starters and mains). And the breakfast was fantastic and filled you up for the day!
The only down sides (and they hardly seem worth mentioning when everything else was so good) were that parts of the hotel were quite tired looking and good do with a lick of paint and new carpet (although they were in the middle of upgrading the 1st floor while we were there, which caused no disturbance to the guests) and there were only 4 channels on the TV.
All in all it was a lovely, relaxing break for a really good price (£124 total for 2 nights DBB for 2) and we would definately come back.

  • Liked — The spa, the food and the efficient staff.
  • Disliked — Only 4 tv channels!!!
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jack2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
currie
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2008

My wife and myself booked the wine and dine package and found it fantastic value. The rooms were comfortable, the food was delicious and the staff pleasant and efficient. Highly recommend it.

  • Liked — The standard of food and staff friendliness
  • Disliked — Hotel could do with an upgrade
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank homerzCurrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcGardner, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 12, 2008
Thank you for your very kind words, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us & I look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Kind regards
Marc Gardner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLASGOW
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2008

Took my husband to this hotel for a birthday treat earlier this year. Got a great deal for 2 nights bed and breakfast and dinner - £69 each.

The room was huge and well furnished with an extremely comfortable double bed and a modern flat screen t.v. The bathroom was immaculate with lovely fluffy towels and basic toiletries provided.

Got a great sleep - no noise what so ever and had a fabulous view over the town.

Breakfast was basically anything you wanted with a full range of cooked and uncooked food and at dinner time there was a set menu to choose from offering a 3 course meal.

A lot of the staff were from abroad but their English was very good and the service was 1st class.

We really enjoyed the free entrance to the sauna and swimming pool and had the place to ourselves on the 2 mornings we were there. There was a pool attendant who very kindly brought us drinks of chilled water when we were in the sauna.

We throughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would definitely recommend it. We will certainly be going back for another stay.

  • Liked — The sauna and pool.
  • Disliked — The music in the dining room.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HAMSTER160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcGardner, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 10, 2008
Thank you for your recent review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and for your kind words about the staff and the facilities at Scotlands I thank you again. I do hope that you will visit us again very soon as we have some great deals available over the winter.
Kind regards
Marc Gardner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ayr
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2008

My husband and i stayed over the easter weekend. we found the staff friendly and helpful. The hotel was pleasant clean and well kept. Easter sunday an egg hunt had been arranged for after breakfast for the children which we felt was a nice touch. Have stayed at the hotel periodically through out the year and have always found it a pleasant experience.

  • Liked — comfort
  • Disliked — not enough channels on tv
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dottiedee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcGardner, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 10, 2008
Thank you for taking the time to write your recent review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back to Scotlands in the near future
Kind regards
Marc Gardner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.5 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,709 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
0.2 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scotland's Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scotland's Hotel & Spa

Property: Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Address: 40 Bonnethill Road, Pitlochry PH16 5BT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Scotland's Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Scottish family hotel .5 mile from train/bus stations; in city centre; splendid views over Perthshire Hills & Lochs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Scotland's Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scotland`s Hotel And Leisure Club
Scotlands Hotel Leisure
Scotlands Hotel Pitlochry
Scotland's Hotel & Spa Pitlochry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing