We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs a refurb”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Scotland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Needs a refurb”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

This has the potential to be a fabulous hotel but the building and fittings felt tired and some of the staff didn't seem to know the hotel very well. The receptionist at check-in sent us a very long way round to our room, we soon found a much quicker way by a staircase the recptionist didn't know about. And none of the restaurant staff on the first night knew anything about the "this month's wine promotion" despite the huge poster right outside the door. We ordered a Suavignon Blanc and the waiteress asked "red or white?"! Our room was big, and despite overlooking the street there was very little noise at night. The lighting made it impossible to read in bed (and no, it's not just an age thing) and the wardrobe door was so badly fitted it often juddered open of its own accord. Our package included dinner on the first night. This was OK but nothing to get excited about and probably wouldn't have been worth the asking price. Breakfast is a self service cold buffet with table service for cooked breakfasts. Service here was inconsistent - prompt some mornings, very slow on others. There's a tiny gym whose machines are overdue for replacement. I'd imagine that all the leisure facilities could get impossibly busy when the hotel is anywhere near full. Having said all that, some of their inclusive and semi inclusive packages offer great value as long as you don't expect perfection.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craigellachie60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonaldMacleod, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, I do have a few new staff that are still settling in and finding their way around but they'll get their soon were always training our staff and the next course is wine this month. The hotel its self is an old building which does need a lot of TLC I do agree with you their but it is as I said an old building we do our best. The gym is due a refurb but don't know when we again do our best to keep all the equipment in working order. Thanks again for your review

Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    536
    316
    221
    144
See reviews for
254
825
28
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Having read some reviews prior to our arrival, we were sort of fearing the worst. But we were well impressed with much of what the Scotland hotel had to offer. The positives include terrific location, right in the centre of Pitlochry, but off the high street and a bit way from the railway line. The room was compact, clean and functional. The staff were friendly and attentive, with the evening meals tasty and traditional. The Crerar autumn offer was EXCEPTIONAL value for money and we were delighted with our two-night stay - we will definitely return to Pitlochry and will consider this hotel again. Yes, it is a bit tired in places and is certainly not 5-star, but with the Spa and gym onsite, and wine and meals included in the deal, there really is nothing to complain about! Thank you Crerar for this wonderful deal - I hope we can do it again next year

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AFS1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonaldMacleod, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us on our Autumn Gold deal, thank you for all your kind comments and glad you had an enjoyable stay with us, thanks again for your review

Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

When 4 of us arrived to check in we waited ages for the receptionist to appear (although the sign states reception is manned from 8am-8pm!) She then took us to our room outside the hotel and up the road!!! On returning to reception to ask if we could have rooms in the hotel she checked who we had booked through and said Expedia should have told us we would not be in the hotel but 'thats one of the companies that does not bother to tell people!' She couldn't have care less - really bad attitude! This hotel really needs a lot of TLC - we wont be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gillian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonaldMacleod, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, sorry about the delay in getting you checked in my receptionist would have been taking other guests across to their rom also, the reason my receptionist would have checked your booking is to see what type of room you were after i.e. double or twin bedded, thanks again for your review

Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pitlochry hotels

killie
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Just returned from a2day break.Check in quick and informative.First impression of the room was spacious and very nice,on further inspection carpet needs to be stretched as it was very uneven and not very safe to walk on.One of the drawers had rubbish left by the previous guest.Bathroom was very dusty down the front of bath panel .Toilet seat was very stained and needs replacing.One of the Windows had mildew all along bottom .Sheet had a hole in it.Run out of toilet roll.Housekeeper needs to check these things all get done properly.
THIS was the 5th time we have stayed here so was a bit disappointed This year .Set menu 19.95 a bit limited in choice of main,sweets were lovely.Breakfast very good .To finish on a positive the pool area was lovely and the Michael Buble tribute night was excellent.Staff very pleasant

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mazaKillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonaldMacleod, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, thank you for your mixed review my apologies that your room wasn't,t to our normal standard will certainly speak with my housekeeper about this, the menu,s in place have been since February and are changing very shortly sorry you never enjoyed them, thanks again for your review

Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 16, 2013

arrived at hotel and waited 15 minutes for someone to come to reception to give us our keys , staff very friendly , pool very good , corridors very dated , room very dated , room was not clean .on entering room there was dirty marks on covers and the bathroom which was very dated was not clean . there is no excuse for the covers to be dirty and for bathroom to be dirty
I would not stay here again

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonaldMacleod, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, my apologies that you found your room not up to our normal standard, my apologies that you were kept waiting to check in my receptionist would have been showing guests across to our other accommodations, thanks again for your review

Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lothian
Level Contributor
75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Just returned from a 2 night break with friends to this hotel. Close to the centre of Pitllochry on arrival good parking area. The staff were all so friendly including Savannah at check in who explained times for dinner and breakfast and also where everything was. The restaurant staff were very good especially our Scottish friend who gave us the empty jam jars for my husbands jam making.The food was excellent cooked very well and presented like a 5* restaurant. Breakfast was good, not buffet style which was good as food was fresh and just enough. The rooms were nice, not spectacular but nice with great view. Pool looked lovely. We wanted to go but did not have enough time. Close to House of Bruar {take your cheque book}, Salmon ladder,and wonderful countryside. Can't wait till we go back.

Room Tip: 307 and 308 had brill views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidayfanatic103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonaldMacleod, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, thank you for your lovely comments and glad you enjoyed your stay with us, glad you enjoyed all your meals with us and you managed to get some small jam jars for your homemade jams, thanks again for your review

Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
115 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Stayed here last summer with my extended family. The nice thing about the hotel is the close proximity to the town centre. Nice to walk down around the town. There is also free parking. The hallways and rooms are a bit worn down. The staff is positive and serviceminded. One in the group got the room above one of the entrances to the hotel and was affected by the poeple standing outside smoking. Unfortunately the room could not be changed. The hotel had a small inside pool that we got to use.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms above the Hotel entrances.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonaldMacleod, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, thank you for your lovely comments and glad you enjoyed your stay with us, thanks again for your review

Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.5 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,729 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
0.2 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scotland's Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scotland's Hotel & Spa

Property: Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Address: 40 Bonnethill Road, Pitlochry PH16 5BT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Scotland's Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Scottish family hotel .5 mile from train/bus stations; in city centre; splendid views over Perthshire Hills & Lochs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Scotland's Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scotland`s Hotel And Leisure Club
Scotlands Hotel Leisure
Scotlands Hotel Pitlochry
Scotland's Hotel & Spa Pitlochry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing