We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second chance - definitely not going to be a third!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I can't believe that some of the comments are very negative and still give 4/5.
We've stayed twice. The first time was amazingly bad, but thought it may have been a one-off. Stayed again with two friends, what a mistake.
Several things were wrong, but the main reason for joining the queue to complain was that I was treated as a fool and, worse, lied to by a receptionist and night porter!
We were relaxing with a drink in the bar and decided to have another at 11:05. The bar was closed, therefore I asked the receptionist(?) if we could have another drink. The reply was: "The bar is closed and can't serve residents as it is a public bar." This, with a document in our room that states that ".....we are more than happy to serve residents when the bar is closed."
I complained to the General Manager, but unfortunately, whilst he made the 'right' noises it was obvious most (if not every) day starts with complaints he has no intention of logging or following up.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank Rob503850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonaldMacleod, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review hour stay with us,my apologies that you weren't, able to get a late drink in our public bar however our residents bar was available and that's what my staff explained to you, I did listen to you the next morning and did investigate your comments, thanks again for your review

Regards
Donald Macleod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,634)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

806 - 812 of 1,634 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2013

Stayed for 1 night with 2 kids, comfortable room, all you need, 1 double bed, 1 single and a put up bed for the 7 year old. Nice pool area, ideal for adults and children. Staff friendly and helpfull, had meal at McKays in the hight street which was great value for kids and good food. Good location, however can be a bit noisy when the pubs fall out.

Room Tip: rooms at front and side can be a bit noisy at the weekend
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonaldMacleod, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, glad you enjoyed your stay and my staff looked after you all, thanks again for your review

Regards
Donald Macleod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Arrived at 3.00pm Wednesday 16th October for an overnight break. Given a double room although we had asked for a twin.
At 3.30pm reported no hot water facilities in room----Reception promised to have it sorted.
At 5.00pm still no hot water---- Reception assured us problem had been rectified boiler had "tripped out".
At 5.45pm no hot water---- Reception said that they would check it again.
At 6.30pm no hot water---- Reception said plumber has been sent for and suggested that we could use the SPA to freshen up. ( Approximately 200metres across open ground from our room).
At 7.45pm still no hot water----- Reception said elements in both supply boilers had burned out parts are en route.
At 9.30pm still no hot water----- Reception said plumber is on site and the job is being completed as we speak.
AT 10.15pm no hot water------- Reception said we cannot locate the plumber and offered a change of room. This would have meant packing up and moving to another building in moderately heavy rain in the dark.
At 8.00am we secured a temporary room for shower facilities there was still no hot water in our room.
At 11.00am as we are checking out the plumber arrived.
Reception -----We apologise for the lack of hot water during your stay but the plumber is here now. We hope that you enjoyed staying with us.
At 11.10am we met another guest who on arrival on the 14th had been located a room in our building and had had no hot water since then.
It would appear that staff were aware of the problem the day before they allocated the room to us.
At no time did any member of Reception express anything more than perfunctory concern for our situation and no offer of compensation our even a complimentary drink was offered.
Crerar hotels who run Scotland's Hotel ask guests to make use of Tripadvisor and I have been happy to do so.
In my opinion this was a shocking way to treat guests and an extremely poor example of what might be termed Highland hospitality.

Room Tip: Check the water supply
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martybare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonaldMacleod, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, again my apologies about the no hot water in the Bank House, we did contact the plumber as soon as we were told their was no hot water he did come out replaced the thermostats as thats what we thought was wrong with the water tank and left about 7.30pm, the tank would have taken at least another hour to heat up and thats when you told us again the water was still cold,he did come back the next day and change the elements also, I do apologise that we had no other rooms available as we were 100% full, I have written to you but had no reply, Thanks again for your review

Regards
Donald Macleod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Pitlochry is a great location and the Hotel is located very close to the centre of the village. I chose the Hotel based on a short break offer and the location. Value for money the Hotel only gets a 3/5. However the reception staff were excellent and quickly re-located us to a room which had WiFi. The Spa is excellent - though it did lack staff! Food on the whole was good. So where did does it go wrong? Staff. The hotel is staffed by Polish. This would normally not be a problem, but the majority do not speak or understand English to a level where they can be helpful to paying guests. Additionally the Bar Staff (Polish) was untrained and completely out of his depth.
Not a hotel I will return to this year. But maybe next . . .

Room Tip: If you need WiFi - ASK for a room that has it. There are rooms outside of the main building which do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonaldMacleod, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Scotland's. Glad you had a good stay with us, some of my Polish speaking do struggle but their getting their, Thanks again for your kind review

Regards
Donald Macleod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Wonderful friendly staff, beautifully renovated rooms, cracking wee pool and free wifi. Not to mention delicious food.

We had a Groupon deal for dinner bed and breakfast, but we had to go out and have a cinese after the set meal as the portions were miniscule. I don't like that - I think if you're trying to promote your business, then the dinners should be the same size as the normal portions.

The breakfast selection was fantastic, really, really good. Although, the breakfast menu states that Crerar, who own the hotel, enter the World Porridge Championships, yet there is no mention of porridge on the menu. Rookie error folks!

Our room (121) was fantastic, but it was right above the public bar, so it was exceptionally noisy about 12/1am. And I had forgotten my ear plugs, but that's par for the course.

Staff are wonderfully wecloming and friendly.

The bar is well stocked with a lot of generic lagers. I would liked to have seen some real ales/local craft beer and, of course, some Edradour behind the bar!

All in all, a wonderful bolthole for a couple of nights!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nony88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonaldMacleod, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time and review your recent stay with us,I,m glad you had an enjoyable stay with us, sorry to read you found our portions on the small side, porridge is on our menu up with the cereals and we serve it with maple syrup and cream, thanks again for your review

Regards
Donald Macleod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

The service and the facility is excellent - very convenient . The rooms and in house facilites are great and reasonable priced - good place tom stay if you are on a business trip. The location could be not very suitable for some who have places to go for tourist

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
Thank Lalit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonaldMacleod, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, lad you enjoyed your couple of days here, thanks again for your review

Regards
Donald Macleod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

First stay at this hotel and was impressed with the quality of the food and the friendly staff. Room was very clean and comfortable. Shower was a bit dated and although not dirty, some of the seal had gone black which did not look good.
We stayed on a dinner, bed and breakfast basis with a set evening menu included in the cost. You could choose from the regular menu and pay a supplement which we did on our second evening and were not disappointed. Steak best I have had in a long time and the lobster was also very good. Great selection for breakfast with the only down side being the short wait we had for a table.
Overall the service was good and I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ginny1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonaldMacleod, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review and glad you enjoyed your stay with us, I will certainly pass your comments onto my kitchen team glad you enjoyed your meals with us, thanks again for your review

Regards
Donald Macleod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.2 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#11 of 18 in Pitlochry
912 reviews
0.5 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,877 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#12 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
2,045 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
395 reviews
0.2 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scotland's Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scotland's Hotel & Spa

Address: 40 Bonnethill Road, Pitlochry PH16 5BT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range: $70 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Scotland's Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Scottish family hotel .5 mile from train/bus stations; in city centre; splendid views over Perthshire Hills & Lochs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Scotland's Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scotland`s Hotel And Leisure Club
Scotlands Hotel Leisure
Scotlands Hotel Pitlochry
Scotland's Hotel & Spa Pitlochry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing