We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 days in pitlochry at scotland hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Scotland's Hotel & Leisure Club
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Pitlochry
Reviewed March 18, 2013

arrived room was very cold reported this to reception was told to come back if it wasnt better by 5pm this was an hour and a half away. phoned down at 5pm and was told duty manager was out but would be informed when she returned. by 6pm went to reception where under manager moved us to a new room which was warm. dinner was very limited choice and very rich and heavy we were unable to finish this and put us off. we were going to eat out the next night but duty manager sorted out a meal for us which was excellent. we were never offered the distillery tickets we were supposed to.

plus side nice hotel very clean and well kept. very central, good facilities

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ann c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonaldMacleod, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, my apologies that you had to wait to be offered another room my receptionist should have moved you straight away nothing more uncomfortable than a cold room. I see you never enjoyed your meal on the 1st night we do try and cater for everyones taste and I'm glad Angie made sure you were looked after on your 2nd night. Thanks again for your review

Regards
Donald Macleod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,670)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

982 - 988 of 1,671 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013

Arrived on the saturday afternoon got our room on the first floor , (136) the room is small but good enough for purpose , the carpet could be doing with refiiting a bit bumpy. we went to the pool , its small but good and fab steam and sauna facillties, we had tea at 6pm it was different but good quality , warning baked apple is actually a baked green apple . went to our beds reasonably early 10.30 as it had been a long day to not get much sleep atall! a comedian was in the hall below our room untill 11.35 and it felt like he was in our room, after wards all we heard was drunk people and squeeking chairs :( the bed was comfy but the mattress was hard. had a back massage the next day was fab and breakfast 10/10 ! would visit again but in a room well away from the hall .

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonaldMacleod, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, glad you enjoyed your stay with us sorry if the comedians were on the loud side should have just called down and we would have got them to turn the volume lower. Glad you enjoyed your breakfast and massage good way to end your stay. Thanks again for your review

Regards
Donald Macleod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed there many years previously,( when the bar was next to the pool). Our original room was unsuitable as my wife is disabled and the bed was up against the wall on one side. This was promptly changed without any fuss.
The staff were very friendly and efficient

Room Tip: Ask for Rooms 305/306. They are up in the eaves but give great views over the hills. A bit quirky wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rorymcguire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonaldMacleod, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, another returning guest welcome back and glad you enjoyed your stay with us and my staff were able to accomodate your request, thank you for your lovely comments and thanks again for your review

Regards
Donald Macleod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

My husband booked this for my birthday, was very dissapointed. Was happy to be going but once we were given our cold room with ceiling paper coming off and fruit bowl filled with overripe fruit, I just wanted to get home and be warm. Pitlochry itself was lovely, and surrounding area. It was warmer outside. We were given a room in another building adjacent to hotel, the Old Bank, there were only 2 rooms, but with 3 doors to go through, and them being banged each time the couple next door went our for a cigarette, awful. The room was heated by a radiator by the bed, it felt hot but gave out not much heat, there was another heater provided when I complained, but again not that much better. Bathroom was freezing. On first inspection room looked immaculate, but on further inspection the flaws showed up. The bed settee cushions would sink when sat on, meaning you sat on the hard wood at front. There was no soundproofing, so when the local drunks went home fighting at night it seemed like they were in our room with us. When I complained about this and asked for another room, they said they only had 1 other room available in the hotel but it was at front and noise would be same. So we stayed where we were. We were on a 2 night stay with 3 course meal on second night, wish we had went out to eat. There was not much choice that appealed to us, we could have ordered from their other menu but paid, less £1 due to paying for the meal included in price of booking. We had the tomato & basil soup to start with, the soup came with floating oil globules, I sent it back. Then we had the Pheasant in bean & sausage casserole with herb doughballs, it looked like someone had thrown up on the plate (beans and cut up sausage) with partially cooked pheasant and two blobs that looked like Sheeps Gonads yuck. We cut into the pheasant it was raw... so sent back. Desert came, I had ordered Cheesecake with blackberry compot, it did not look like cheesecake, it was square and browned, it did not taste like any cheesecake I have tasted. It was not unpleasant but not what I had expected. So all in all we had a little bit of dessert. We went out and missed the show to get some food, we headed back later but the show was too loud and did not sound in tune so stayed in bar drinking expensive 25ml drinks. My first drink was drowned with coke, could not taste the spirit, the coke was flat. I ordered bottle coke after that at £2.10 a go. There was a good part of the stay, the breakfast was lovely, really well done and had no complaints about that. 10 out of 10 for breakfast service. Would not stay here again, or eat there. Sorry, I wanted to like it but too many problems.

Room Tip: They have a spa but we did not use it, we were there to visit surrounding towns for historic value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonaldMacleod, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, I'm sorry you found your room on the cold side and that the extra heating made no difference to the room temprature, will certainly make sure we get this checked out before we use that room again, my apologies that the room was not too your liking.Our dinner menu's have now been in place for about 2 months now and we are trying to cater for everyones taste either you like the menu's or you don't were using local and seasonal as you stated we do offer A La Carte and this is an extra charge it's another option personally I've tried all items on all the menu's and I like the balance we have, the phesant is lovely dish surprised you never enjoyed this if it was not cooked enough you should have asked to get this cooked more, the cheesecake is oven baked thats why its browned on top but should have been cut as a wedge still very enjoyable. Sorry you never enjoyed the show we had on not sure who was on. Our bar prices are similar to most bars around us. Thanks again for your review

Regards
Donald Macleod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

My wife and I booked through Groupon though my wife had stayed there before, it had been a few years ago. We found it to be a first class Hotel with excellent and friendly staff. The pool and sauna were well looked after and everywhere was very clean. The food was great and the waiters and waitresses very efficient and cheery. The room was warm and had everything you would need if a little on the small side. We will certainly be going back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonaldMacleod, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, nice to read your a returning guests always nice to welcome back, thank you for your lovely comments don't be strangers. Thanks again for your review

Regards
Donald Macleod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Stayed here Saturday and Sunday evening using groupon voucher for dinner, bed and breakfast. Had relaxing time in pool. The sauna and steam room were a bit on the small side however everything was kept clean and tidy by the pool attendant. Didnt get a chance to get spa treatment as it was fully booked but on speaking to others they were very impressed with their treatments.

The room was clean and tidy. On the Saturday night there was a bit of a delay between the courses during the evening meal as staff seemed to bit overwhelmed with the amount of people in the dining room as seemed bit short staffed. However having said that they were all very helpful and professional. The Sunday evening it was less busy in the dining room and staff seemed less harrassed and everything was perfect.

The receptionist, the restaurant manager and the bar man deserve a special mention. They were enthuisastic and helpful.

Good hotel for break in lovely setting of Pitlochry.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fedge2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonaldMacleod, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, glad you enjoyed your stay with us and yes sometimes our restuarant gets very busy but the staff we have cope this very well and I'm glad nomal service resumed for the Sunday, will certainly pass your thanks onto the staff you mentioned thanks again afor your review

Regards
Donald Macleod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

With Pitlochrys beautiful surroundings this is really something! Amazing Scottish hotell with exellent service. Try some whiskey at the bar and enjoy the delicate breakfast with fantastic service! Romms were small but nice and clean.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDofSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonaldMacleod, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, glad you enjoyed your break at Scotland's hotel and thanks again for your review

Regards
Donald Macleod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.2 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#10 of 17 in Pitlochry
936 reviews
0.5 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 17 in Pitlochry
1,943 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#12 of 17 in Pitlochry
1,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 17 in Pitlochry
2,183 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#7 of 17 in Pitlochry
416 reviews
6.2 mi away
Atholl Arms Hotel
Atholl Arms Hotel
#11 of 17 in Pitlochry
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scotland's Hotel & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scotland's Hotel & Leisure Club

Address: 40 Bonnethill Road, Pitlochry PH16 5BT, Scotland (Formerly Scotland's Hotel & Spa)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range: $78 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Scotland's Hotel & Leisure Club 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Scottish family hotel .5 mile from train/bus stations; in city centre; splendid views over Perthshire Hills & Lochs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Scotland's Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scotland`s Hotel And Leisure Club
Scotlands Hotel Leisure
Scotlands Hotel Pitlochry
Scotland's Hotel & Leisure Club Pitlochry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing