We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing weekend away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing weekend away”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed here for one night on the dinner, bed and breakfast, full use of spa facilities and 30min treatment deal. We were both excited about getting away for the weekend and relaxing, however, we ended up having more of a laugh at at the hotels little quirks than relaxing! On arrival we were informed that we had not booked a time slot for dinner or for our treatments, however, there was no communication from the hotel since the confirmation email so how were we to know?
Next we proceeded to use the hotels lift up to our room...with carpet lining all four sides of the small, box sized lift we where bemused to see that the lift in fact had no real door and the wall was moving as we went up each floor! Overall, the hotels decor is dated and in need of repair... It was like we had stepped back in time or had checked in to Fawlty towers!

Our room was small, bed comfortable and tv in working order (although it is advertised as satellite when it's actually free view) we soon noticed a hole punched into the wall of the room and water stains on the wall paint. There was also a forgotten sock lying in full view on the carpet!!

The staff and manager, however, were friendly, attentive and happy to answer all questions we had.

The food was quite unspectacular and had only pheasant and fish on the set menu which meant both of us had the risotto. The speed at which the food was served to us could only have meant it was pre prepared or heated up. My apple crumble sounded lovely on the menu, however, when served it was basically stewed apples with a flake or two of crumble on the plate. Breakfast wasn't much better. We has to ask for bowls to eat our cereal from, my boyfriend received one slice of French toast and one rash of bacon and the toast on which my poached eggs were served on was very soggy.

The spa facilities were quite small but in clean working order. However, when we had to walk through the dinning room to gain access to the spa that said it all. Due to the number of families using the pool when we were there I was unable to get a changing room or locker to put my things away so had to improvise! Also, if you needed a towel it was a £1 charge.

After all the novelties of the hotel so far we were doubtful as to what our treatment would be like and we were right to be! The therapist was late and only gave each of us a 20 minute treatment instead of 30min.

We've been fortunate enough to stay in some great five star hotels and this weekend was just a little getaway so by being a 3 star we expected a lot more for our money. I do not feel my hard earned cash was worth what we paid, for £200 we could have done something alot more worthwhile and relaxed!

Room Tip: Chose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 526Jetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonaldMacleod, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, thank you for all your comments regarding your stay with us I'm sorry that you never enjoyed your stay with us I'm not sure what room you were in but we don't have any rooms with holes in the walls. Our dinner menu's are freshly cooked to order it all depends how good the kitchen gets themselves preped up for service, we do have a la carte options available also, sorry you never enjoyed the crumble.

The week you visisted us the hotel was very busy with lots of families using the hotel leisure facilities and sounds like you used this at the busiest time, I was very surprised at you comment that my therapist only gave you a 20 minute massage each normally their spot on with this service but i will investigate this. Thanks again for your review

Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    546
    325
    234
    155
See reviews for
266
844
30
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Very pleasant stay, staff were very friendly. All information was found easily. Great location to nip into town with lots of different walks in surrounding area. Food during breakfast and dinner was faultless each time, small portions but very filling. Room was slightly noisy at night due to outside noise and at some points during the day as we were located opposite cleaners main room. Spa treatments included in our package were fantastic and very relaxing, sauna and steamroom slightly small and pool quite cold but overall a good area coping with the rush of school holidays and valentines weekend. Looking into another Crerar hotel getaway already!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonaldMacleod, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, glad you enjoyed your valentine getaway with us and you enjoyed our meals also. My apologies if housekeeping were noisy during your stay with us as your room was opposite thier office.Glad you made good use of the pool and leisure club they are small but still enjoyable to all whom ue, thanks again for your review

Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Just returned from a weekend break to celebrate my husband's 60th birthday. It was marvelous, the hotel room was a little small but clean and well decorated. The staff were fabulous so helpful and friendly despite the long hours they appear to work. The food and service in the restaurant were excellent. We will definitely recommend to family and friends, and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonaldMacleod, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, thnak you for such a lovely review and will pass onto all my staff, happy belated 60th birthday and many more to come glad you enjoyed your stay with us and my staff looked after you so well, bring the more the merrier on your next visit, thanks again for your review


Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We have stayed in this hotel previously and had high expectations on return. Our short, 3 night theatre break with our daughter was really disappointing.
Our room was very old in terms of décor and noisy as windows were not maintained and we were overlooking the road. It had a very small double bed with a single bed squeezed in the same room. Both were not comfortable!
Food was average.
Would request the annex across the road if staying again as it was more spacious and comfortable.
We will not be rushing back.

Room Tip: request the annex across the road from main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ibif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonaldMacleod, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, sorry to read you found your room on the small side and the traffic from the road was noisy I'm sure if you'd checked with reception and if alternative rooms were available they would have moved you across to Dunevis, sorry to read you never enjoyed our new menu's. Sorry you never enjoyed your stay with us this time and thanks again for your review

Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pitlochry hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
falkirk
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Enjoyed our second short break at the Scotland hotel. Kids with us who loved the pool area. Food great although service in the dining room was a bit slow on the first night. Staff pleasant and room clean and comfortable would definitely go back

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonaldMacleod, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, thanks for your kind comments glad you manged to re-visit us again so soon my apologies if our restaurant service was slow during your visit, thanks again for your review

Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I can't say that the hotel was very good but it was better than average really. The room was clean and modern. Was in a great place for walking into the town as right in the middle just of the main street. The breakfast was nice we both has the french toast. The evening meal choice was disappointing, I would have paid the supplement and had something off the other menu however the supplement was way too much in my opinion....was almost the same as the full price cost. The staff were helpful and friendly however were run off their feet in the restaurant which mean we had been sat waiting a few times for service. However it's not the staffs fault as they were busy!
I was more that happy as i had got a deal on the hotel through groupon. However if i had paid full rate, with regards to the dinner option and service in the restaurant i would have been unhappy!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonaldMacleod, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, thank you for comments our menu's are now seasonal and we do try cater for all our guests dietary needs if not yes we do have our a la carte choices available but if their was nothing on the menu that takes your fancy by all means speak to us and I'm sure we could have organised something. The hotel has been very busy of late and we are employing more staff just takes time but I'm sure my staff looked after you during your stay with us. Thanks again for your review

Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterhead, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Just had a great night at the hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was a little old looking compared to other places we have stayed but was really clean and comfortable. The meal at night was excellent, one of the best places we have eaten out at. Also while we were there the wife had a couple of spa treatments that were top quality. Would definately recommend!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonaldMacleod, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, thank you for all your lovely comments glad you had such a wonderful stay with us and will pass on all your lovely comments to all my staff

Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.2 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
880 reviews
0.5 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,811 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,944 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#13 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,198 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scotland's Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scotland's Hotel & Spa

Property: Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Address: 40 Bonnethill Road, Pitlochry PH16 5BT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Scotland's Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Scottish family hotel .5 mile from train/bus stations; in city centre; splendid views over Perthshire Hills & Lochs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Scotland's Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scotland`s Hotel And Leisure Club
Scotlands Hotel Leisure
Scotlands Hotel Pitlochry
Scotland's Hotel & Spa Pitlochry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing