We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter Wonderland”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Winter Wonderland”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

My family & I have just returned from another great stay at Scotlands Hotel.
The staff and managment care about their Guests, the food is good and well presented.
The leisure facitilties and pool are really nice and very clean, the rooms are clean, warm and comfy.
We all enjoyed our few days and cant wait to go back.
WELL DONE Scotlands keep up the good work,

Room Tip: I have stayed in different rooms within the hotel and each have been of a high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonaldMacleod, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, thank you for all your lovely comments and glad you enjoyed your stay with us again, thanks again for your lovely review

Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    539
    319
    223
    149
See reviews for
256
831
28
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crieff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We came along last night to join our 12 friends for a meal who were spending the weekend on a D,B&B basis in your hotel. My husband ordered a sirloin steak which was completely rotten and stale, it had an awful cheesy rotten strong smell and was obviously not fit to be eatten. The chef should have caught this on while cooking it and was totally unacceptable that this was allowed to be served to us. We were offered a replacement but because of the disgusting smell it put my husband completely off. He did however decide to have chicken instead which arrived without any chips so by the time the chips eventually arrived my husband already had the chicken ate. We both had ordered a dessert at the time when ordering the meal which all of a sudden wasn't available after we had our meal and we had to choose something else which we didn't really want. (We felt this was the chef getting back at us at this point!) as this came across as being very odd.
The waitress collected the plates from our table before everyone was finished eatting which I thought would be a complete no no, especially as they didn't ask if we minded or not.
The dining room was freezing cold, we all sat with our coats on, I know it was snowing outside but this is no excuse.
The manager did not deal with our problem regarding the rotten steak well. We said we didn't think we should have to pay for the steak, the manager told us 'we can't give away free meals' We disagreed with him and said that it wasn't fair making us pay for something that was rotten. After a unsympathic discussion the manager eventually decided to waver the cost before storming off in an abrupt manner. A strange way of dealing with a problem especially from a 'manager'. His customer service skills definately need to be upgraded and fast. This manager then proceeded to ignore and avoid our friends over breakfast - not the proper attitude of a manager.
After this horrible experience our friends and ourselves have said they will never be back to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dawniou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonaldMacleod, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent dining experience with us, firstly my apologies that the steak you received was of a poor standard I have spoken with my chef about this as we get our steaks in packs of 5 and all the other steaks were good we have taken this up with our butcher to try understand why this could happen, my apologies if the restaurant manager was slightly off with you when complaining.I myself did contact you the day after I had received your email and apologised for the way this had been handled. I do hope you'll return again as for the sweets not being available that was geniue the kitchen did run short again my apologies. Thanks again for your review

Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pitlochry hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

After reading some of the reviews of this hotel, we were not sure what to expect. However we couldn't have asked for any thing better.
We were on a 2 night bed, breakfast and evening meal deal bought through groupon. We had to pay an extra £30 for a Saturday night stay which was well worth the money.
When we booked in the receptionist was first class and obviously knew her job. She was friendly and helpful.
The room was good but a wee bit dated. It was a good size and had everything we needed. The bed was comfy. The room was spotless.
Dinner was excellent both nights as were the breakfasts.
All the staff were eager to please and all were friendly.
The spa was great for a hotel of this size.
We would not hesitate in recommending this hotel. All in all a great weekend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 186525JohnM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonaldMacleod, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Scotland's, glad you came and decided for yourselves to find out how we are. Thanks for all your lovely comments and I'm glad you enjoyed yourstay with us, thanksagain for yout lovely review

Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Through an online deal I purchased a 2 night DBB deal for half price. At half price it was acceptable, I think at full price I would have walked out and gone elsewhere.

I have real mixed feelings about this and really want to rate it higher, because the staff were lovely and the location was excellent, in fact the food although not modern was tasty. I'm trying.... the truth is the hotel is so dated and so very tired it's just not what today's travelers expect. On arrival, it's a lovely building, there's free parking and it's right off the main street, so very handy for a walkabout. The receptionist was lovely...after that it went downhill. The lift is a badly carpeted thing...when I say carpeted, I mean the walls too and not even very well, there are bulges in the wall and it's not even cut straight or edged. I think I could have done a better job after a bottle of wine... Ok, it works and we got used to it. The corridors are milky brown, and I mean everything, the doors, the woodwork and the woodchip walls. Its like that scene out of Mr Bean where he lets a paint bomb off in the room and everything is the same.

The room was a good size, but so drab and depressing. The bathroom had a shower curtain which didn't really stop the water spraying everywhere as it wasn't quite long enough to stay inside the bath. The old sash windows, although beautiful had no secondary glazing and the traffic started at around 7am every morning (the gritter at 6), that coupled with the creaky floorboards outside the door was just too much to sleep through, so no lie ins. The mattress would really have benefited from a mattress pad on the top as I could feel the springs pressing into my hips, 3 days after returning they were still bruised.

Dining lacked a few finishing touches. the inclusive wine we had with our online deal wasn't offered and one of the nights we weren't asked about drinks until the starters were on their way. We were presented with burnt toast at breakfast and were never asked if we wanted brown or white bread, Ok, little things, but when we both prefer wholemeal and a mixed tray only offers 2 small pieces and the rest is white, it's noticeable. Also the breakfast portions were a little on the small side, one sausage, one rasher of bacon etc seemed a little stingy for the £17.95 price tag and although we had our daughter with us, we never offered any children's menus or smaller portions at any of the meals. What I would say however, is the menus changed each evening, which was good and the food, although old fashioned, was well seasoned and tasty.

Finishing on positives, the pool was enjoyable and we loved the lounge off the bar, which was like an old hunting lodge with lots of comfy chairs and couches. There's a great range of whiskies to try at very reasonable prices and we had a lovely time chatting to other guests. The hotel really attracts a laid back client and everyone was so friendly. Times are hard and money is tight, but when things pick up this hotel should invest and it'll be a real treasure.

Room Tip: The 1st floor is actually ground level at some parts and the noise from the road is loud due to sing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mumx5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonaldMacleod, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, sorry you feel the hotel is dated we get the hotel re-painted twice yearly by outside contractors and my maintenance man keeps up with all the other issues on a daily basis, the hotel is an old building and I'm sure you understand it takes a lot to maintain. Thank you for the lovely comments about my staff I'm glad they looked after you during your time with us. We do have some new staff and we do need to fine tune them its all the little things they need to remember. Thanks again for your review always helpful.

Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Don't look for much in life. This was a great place to stay. Everything about it was grand. Stayed over an extra night and they also gave us the same rate as the previous nights . So if you don't ask you don't get. FANTASTIC 10/10

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harkie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonaldMacleod, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Scotland's Hotel, glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that everything went well thanks again for your review

Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed here last minute as we were passing through Pitlochry. Reception staff were friendly and gave us a decent room rate (though still over £100 for one night) so we decided to give it a go. Room was excellent with comfy furnishings in loads of space; I think it was a junior suite. Bathroom was very dated and not really in keeping with the rest of the room.
Tried out the pool facilities, which were OK, though one route to get there takes you through the dining room and function suite! I thought charging for a towel at the pool was unnecessary.
Breakfast was a disaster. We had to wait for about 25 minutes or so to get a table for two, even though there were lots of empty tables in the dining room. Staff were rushed off their feet, leading to a very average service that bordered on being rude. One of the waitresses found it all a bit much and very publicly broke down into tears. When the cooked breakfast arrived, I was very unsure about the black pudding, which appeared to be frothing as it sat on my plate. The rest of the food was edible but not great.
I found the whole experience pretty average to be honest and won't be returning for another stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bands33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonaldMacleod, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, sorry to read that everything never went as well as it should have, depending on what room your in their are two ways to get to the pool without going through the restaurant when open. My apologies if my waiting staff were rude to you normally they are the very opposite polite and helpful. Thanks again for your review and again my apoligies that you never enjoyed your stay with us

Reagrds
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eyemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This was our second stay at New year at the Scotland Hotel and I could not fault the very friendly
staff who all worked so well. Food was excellent and the chef buffet on new year night was out of this world.Well done to Donald and his staff for a great new year and hopfully be will return again this new year..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bordersgirl406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonaldMacleod, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your New Year break with us, thank you for your kind comments will certainly pass onto all my hard working staff and let chef know how much you enjoyed his New Year buffet. Thanks again for your lovely review and hope you'll be here again soon

Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.5 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,759 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
847 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#11 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
356 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,862 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scotland's Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scotland's Hotel & Spa

Property: Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Address: 40 Bonnethill Road, Pitlochry PH16 5BT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Scotland's Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Scottish family hotel .5 mile from train/bus stations; in city centre; splendid views over Perthshire Hills & Lochs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scotland's Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scotland`s Hotel And Leisure Club
Scotlands Hotel Leisure
Scotlands Hotel Pitlochry
Scotland's Hotel & Spa Pitlochry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing