We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Scotland's Hotel & Leisure Club
Nearby Hotels
Fisher's Hotel(Pitlochry)
$219
$174
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$167
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$252
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pine Trees Hotel(Pitlochry)
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Moulin Hotel(Pitlochry)
$368
$296
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
East Haugh House(Pitlochry)
$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Acarsaid(Pitlochry)(Great Value!)
$121
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Atholl Arms Hotel(Pitlochry)(Great Value!)
$156
$142
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel(Pitlochry)(Great Value!)
$100
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$230
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,711)
Filter reviews
1,711 results
Traveler rating
361
581
346
251
172
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
361
581
346
251
172
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscrerar hotelspa treatmentstaster menusauna and steam roomleisure centrefamily rooma bit tiredboth nightsrestaurant staffnight breakbed and breakfastfood was lovelyshort breakmy mumboth morningsgreat weekendthe main street
Filter
Updating list...
1,111 - 1,116 of 1,711 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Booked a last minute break here. We had heard various reports about the place from relatives and friends who visit Pitlochry on a regular basis. We arrived and were greeted by the manager who was very pleasant and informative. We used the lift to get upstairs but it was a bit dated. Our room was to say the least a very pleasant surprise, modern decor, the whole hotel is done out in a Scottish country house style with subtle tartan themes throughout. The dininng room was very pleasant and the food very good. Staff are very attentive. The central location in the town makes it a good base, unfortunately we picked the 2 worst days in September to stay so couldn't do any walking.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonaldMacleod, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Thank you for taking the time and reviewing your recent stay with us at Scotland's Hotel, glad you had such a wonderful time while staying with us sorry about the weather i did pray hard for it to get better, thanks again for your review

Regards
Donald Macleod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

From the outside this hotel is grand but the rooms can vary greatly and we ended up with a small room in the back with a view of the garbage. We came during a busy highland games weekend so we could hear until the wee hours of the night the folks celebrating - that was with a closed window. The beds and linens were new and comfortable. Wifi worked fine.
The real concern was the security. Your room keys have your room number on it so if the key was misplaced or lost in the hotel - someone could come into your room! This is an outdated hotel practice that should be reviewed. We found doors ajar for more than 12 hours - other hotels offer security walks down the guests hall looking for just this issue.
It's a thumbs down for this hotel and it's lack of proper security.
We do NOT recommend this hotel, there are plenty of other hotels in this quaint charming town of Pitlochry.

Room Tip: Ask for a large room, in the front of the hotel.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank advcardio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonaldMacleod, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Thank you for taking the time and reviewing your recent stay with us, thanks for your comments regarding our security, we do have security walk rounds plus we have our reception manned through the night and they do doors checks every 2hrs we have never had a problem theft, not sure what doors you found ajar but housekeeping clean one bedroom at a time as to prevent such things happening. Thanks again for your comments

Regards
Donald Macleod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We arrived on Saturday the 4th of Feb. We had been out doing stuff in the morning, so we were looking for some lunch to be told you don't serve lunch! I find this incredible being a so called 3 star hotel!

My girlfriend was then given the room key, she went to the room in a seperate building to find the TV didn't work, then returned to reception to be given a key for a room that was stinking of smoke!!! At this point she was told that the TV was fixed in the orignal room, so she went back and settled in. Then house keeping just decided to let themselves into the room without even knocking the door!!

She then went to the spa area to find that the jaccuzia was not working!

I then returned with friends to watch the rugby and have a beer, we waited 15 mins at the bar and eventually left when we couldn't find a memeber of staff.

That evening when we returned to the hotel, the TV still didn't work and then we discovered the toilet was broken! Honestly do the house keepers actually check these simply things? There was also red lipstick marks on the net curtains!

Breakfast in the moring was good until the kitchen staff decided to have a full arguement for the dinninig room to hear screaming at the top of there voices! Also you might want to remove have eaten jam pots from tables, and not expect the next person sitting there to use them!

On check out we were offered no discount or any sort of explaination. At this point I went to use the toilet by reception as the room toilet didn't work! I shut the door in the toilet to find used toilet papaer on the floor!! This is a complete disgrace and can't understand how your cleaning staff did not see this, or any staff members who do toilet checks!

Such a shame this hotel could be very nice.

(I did write a letter of complaint which took the hotel weeks to respond to, it pretty much summed up our experiance!)

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank youngg05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonaldMacleod, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Thank you for your review of your stay with us earlier this year my apologies were given in my delay in getting back to you as i had been away on holiday. I'm sorry your stay with us was not as it should have been and i did go through all the points that you had mentioned. Since your stay we have improved in all areas, thanks again for your review

Regards
Donald Macleod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Stayed on a two night B&B with dinner on the first night deal.
Breakfast was a buffet style and dinner was from a set menu, although there was the option to purchase from the main menu for an extra cost for dinner. Only negative for both breakfast and dinner was the strong smell of fish.
Sauna and steam room were good as was the small pool and Jacuzzi – not too busy just after breakfast and late afternoon. Gym was a little tired looking with some of the machines (spin bike handle) needing replaced due to wear and tear. You also have to sign a disclaimer before you use the gym The downside of the gym was that there was no disinfectant and/or wipes to clean the machines after use, so not vey hygienic.
Hotel was well located, but in need of a lick of paint and general upgrading as it was looking quite old – woodchip, need I say more!
There was a constant creaking coming from the corner of our room (202) which was annoying?? and there could have been a place to hang coats in the small corridor outside the bathroom.
Drinks no more expensive than the main pubs and plenty of free parking available

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alanrphillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonaldMacleod, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Thank you for taking the time and reviewing your recent stay with us at Scotland's Hotel, thank you for all your comments not sure where you were getting the smell of fish unless guests around your were all eating fish. Good to read you made time to use our leisure club and will get the handle seen too my apologies that we had no wipes to sanatise the machies after use. We do have a rolling maintenance program in place and with such a large building this all takes time but we are working on this 24/7. Thanks again for your review

Regards
Donald Macleod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We have just returned from a most enjoyable short stay at Scotland's Hotel which was very comfortable. The staff were very welcoming. The food was very good as was the service. We even managed to fit in a swim in the pool which was not too big and only about four and a half feet deep which suited us as we are pensioners and not very strong swimmers. The jucuzzi was lovely and warm. All-in-all a very nice hotel and good value for money.

JeanieScotland

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeanieScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonaldMacleod, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

Thank you for taking the time and reviewing your recent stay with us, glad you had such an enjoyable stay with us and that my staff looked after you so well during your time with us, thanks again for your review

Regards
Donald Macleod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews