We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“groupon getaway- what a bargain!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Scotland's Hotel & Leisure Club
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Pitlochry
Reviewed January 5, 2012

My friend and I stayed using the groupon offer- dinner, wine, bed and breakfast. Considering the price we paid this was a fantastic stay. The staff are very friendly and efficient. The pool area although not as nice/modern as other hotels we have stayed in, had everything we hoped for and impressive views. The hotel is rather dated and would benefit from a facelift. The exterior of the hotel is charming and the surrounding area is beautiful. The room was spotlessly clean and furnished well. Unfortunately our room had no hairdryer and the TV only received about 6 channels. Dinner was better than expected, perhaps a tad cold and seemed like it had been sitting prepared for a while. Other minor complaints would be that there was no working hairdryer in the pool changing room and nowhere to plug in straighteners there either. The free wi-fi signal was non existent. I would also suggest that information about the spa treatments should be given in the rooms and also at the reception as this is something we would have been interested in.

All in all a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lgardn11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonaldMacleod, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2012

Thank you for taking the time and posting your review, thank you for your lovely comments. Glad you enjoyed your meals and will let the chef know about the meals not being hot enough my apologies. Will check with housekeeping all rooms should have hairdryers and will also make sure we get one for the leisre club too. Thanks again for your review

Regards
Donald Macleod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,671)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,232 - 1,238 of 1,671 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2012

We are just back from a New Year break at this hotel. We stayed here lasy year on the same deal and I woud like to say that there has been a vast improvement since then. The food was excellent, there were several choices for all meals and the quality of the food can only be described as excellent and I wouldlike to take the opportunity to thank the chef and the kitchen staff.
The Manager Donald and his staff provided an excellent service and could not to enough to make everyone's stay as as pleasent and comfortable as possible. Many thanks for this.
The entertainment on hogmanay was a Ceilliah and this let the stay down, the band were not annimated, they did not even announce when it was midnight, they were terrible at explaining the dances as he had to read of a sheet of paper how to do the dance. Last year the Ceililah band was excellent and had everyone up dancing and there was a piper at midnight.Maybe this could be revewed for next year. However on New Year night we once again had a one man band playing scottish music for a celliah and there was a piper and a scottish dancer. They were all excellent and this appeared to be much more successful than the previous night. The dances were explained and most people were on the floor most of the evening. The piper and the dancer were absolutely excellent and this was a wonderful night.
All in all an excellent break would definitely return, however hopefully the entertainment on Hogmanay will be better next year.

Room Tip: We were in the annex and the room was large, well decorated and furnished. The heating was good and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HappyTravellers011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonaldMacleod, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2012

Thank you for taking the time and posting such a lovely review of your recent New Year stay with us, thank you for such wonderful comments about staff, regarding the entertainment I have re-booked the entertainment with the exception of the hogmanay band and replaced with the New Years night band, that was my feeling also. Glad you enjoyed your stay in our Bank House across the road good and spacious rooms. Thank you again for such a lovely review and " haste ye back"

Regards
Donald Macleod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

staying here for newyear would have thought for the amount they are charging nearly 800 for a couple they would have put some effort into celebrating newyear,as regular newyear travellers would class this as the the one with the least effort,just seems like a normal weekend,(Cant fault the hotel if was just a normal wekend) not what you expect over new year

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonaldMacleod, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2012

Thank you for taking the time and reviewing your recent stay with us at Scotlands,sorry to read that you thought our New Year was just like any other weekend we did try our hardest to make the best for everyone but will certainly try harder for this coming New Year then, thanks again for your review

Regards
Donald Macleod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

We stayed here are part of a post xmas 3 night break and enjoyed everything about it. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and the food was good although not always piping hot. This was acceptable as they were catering for a full house. Dinner was a choice of around 5 starters and main courses and there was something for everyone. Breakfast was a choice of juices, cereal, fruit salad, prunes etc, tea, coffeee, toast and a varied choice of hot breakfast dishes including full cooked breakfast, haddock and poached egg, eggs benedict, eggs florentine , or scrambled egg and smoked salmon. The staff were all very friendly and efficient and worked very hard. If visiting this hotel and you wish for anything, just ask and within reason the staff will do everything they can to help. They are a small team who worked from breakfast time, and again in the evenings. The Manager Donald was very customer focussed and was always on hand working with his staff and they made a great team . The only improvement I would suggest is to add double glazing to the bedrooms. Although I am a heavy sleeper, I woke every night at some point with the noise outside which one night was a car alarm going off, and other nights the local town clock which chimed every hour. Because it was old windows, they also got steamed up inside with the cold outside and the heat inside. This did not spoil our break, and we also enjoyed using the pool and jacuzzi free of charge. Overall a fantastic 3 night Dinner, B & B break which was value for money and most enjoyable.We stayed in an executive suite, and paid extra for this, but it was worth the money as more spacious with fresh fruit, bottled water , slippers, dressing gowns and toiletries provided.

Room Tip: Ask for one within the hotel and not the annex, and upgrade to a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chanelbabe8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonaldMacleod, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2012

Thank you for taking the time and posting such a lovely review of your recent stay with us, I'm glad you had such a wonderful stay with us, upgrading to a suite makes more sense when your here for a few days just adds that extra comfort . Double glazing will certainly speak with my boss regarding this and hope this doesn't put you off returning. Thank you for all your lovely comments will pass onto my staff and glad you had such a wonderful stay with us and hope you'll be returning again soon.

Regards
Donald Macleod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

First trip to Scotland's Hotel, for their twixmas package, which was good value for money. The staff were very welcoming and hardworking! Breakfasts were excellent with a selection of cereals, fruit salad, grapefriut, fresh juices, yoghurt and a choice off the cooked menu. The cinnimon french toast with bacon was very good (although the portion a bit small!). Tea and coffee with mince pies and scones/ shortbread was provided in the lounge late afternoon, great to come back to after a wet and cold walk (I thought a really nice touch).
Dinner was well organised, you booked for a specific time. The food was nice and there was a sufficient selection. Evening entertainment was provided, again a nice touch, even if it wasn't quite my thing! The quiz night was good to take part in - could be improved for next year with music and picture rounds, rather than just questions.
The spa is OK, with a small pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. I've stayed at other crearer hotels in Mull and Loch Fyne and the spas in these locations are far superior.
The hotel is located in the centre of Pitlochry so good for shops and pubs but it does not have a pretty outlook like other Crearers hotels.
I enjoyed my stay at Scotland's hotel but probably will try somewhere else for next years twixmas break.

Room Tip: Request a room in the main hotel as they have an annex across the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovethesun34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonaldMacleod, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2012

Thank you for taking the time and posting a review of your recent Twixmas break with us. thank you for all your lovely comments, comparing my leisure club to Loch Fyne and Mull yes we then look like the poor cousins but what we have is for guests to relax and enjoy the surroundings. Thanks again for taking the time and reviewing your stay with us

Regards
Donald Macleod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

We spent Christmas here and were certainly impressed at the friendly service throughout the hotel - flawless, in fact. The food was fine, especially breakfasts. The comment that somebody made on Tripadvisor about lack of entertainment certainly wasn't the case with our trip. The ceilidh bad on Boxing Day were excellent, but let down by the lack of participation by guests.

My only complaint, which did impact on the holiday, was the fact that we were put in a room in one of their annexes. It would have been nice to have known about this in advance, as it would probably have encouraged us to look elsewhere. Although the weather was mild but drizzly, we had to put on coats/jackets to cross the road to get to the hotel - takes away from the atmosphere quite a bit, arriving with wet and windswept hair, for instance. In addition, it meant that we missed out on wifi access which we were told was available in most rooms, although we were able to log on in the reception area. I know it's a small point, but these things can be important.

I would definitely go back, but only if I was given assurances that we wouldn't be in an annexe.

Room Tip: Avoid the annexe. If the hotel wants to discount the annexe rooms, fair enough but it needs to be ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank algal15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonaldMacleod, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2011

Thank you for taking the time and reviewing your recent festive stay with us. Glad you enjoyed your Christmas break and my staff looked after your so well, my apologies that you weren't told prior to arrival that you were in our Bank House. Glad you enjoyed the entertainment throughout the break with us and hope you'kk return again soon, again thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

Regards
Donald Macleod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

Just enjoyed a 4 night Christmas break here. Room was comfortable, warm, clean and modern with clean bathroom with bath and excellent shower. Restaurant was well run with staggered eating times, friendly and efficient hard working staff and good food. Coffee and tea seemed to be always available in the lounge with 2 separate seating areas. (Could have done without the usual Xmas songs on a loop in the background).The free wi-fi worked in the lounge areas and in our room. Entertainment in the form of Scottish music was laid on 3 nights with a quiz on the other.
Pitlochry is a great place for a short break.
Felt the whole deal was very good value and would do something similar every year at Christmas or for New Year.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the back ( kitchens and bin stores)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alistair b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonaldMacleod, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2011

Thank you taking the time and posting your review after your Christmas stay with us. Glad you enjoyed the festive break and thank you for such fantastic comments about my staff and meals will pass onto all it's been a very busy period so far.Thank you again for taking the time and reviewing your stay with us.

Regards
Donald Macleod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.2 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#10 of 17 in Pitlochry
936 reviews
0.5 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 17 in Pitlochry
1,943 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#12 of 17 in Pitlochry
1,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 17 in Pitlochry
2,183 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#7 of 17 in Pitlochry
416 reviews
1.7 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#5 of 17 in Pitlochry
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scotland's Hotel & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scotland's Hotel & Leisure Club

Address: 40 Bonnethill Road, Pitlochry PH16 5BT, Scotland (Formerly Scotland's Hotel & Spa)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range: $75 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Scotland's Hotel & Leisure Club 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Scottish family hotel .5 mile from train/bus stations; in city centre; splendid views over Perthshire Hills & Lochs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Orbitz so you can book your Scotland's Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scotland`s Hotel And Leisure Club
Scotlands Hotel Leisure
Scotlands Hotel Pitlochry
Scotland's Hotel & Leisure Club Pitlochry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing