We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is how chips should be cooked!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Plaice to Be

The Plaice to Be
Ranked #9 of 54 Restaurants in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fast Food, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
1 review
“This is how chips should be cooked!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Currently working in Pitlochry. Late travelling home one evening I decided to give this place a go. Waiting a little while for freshly cooked food isn't a problem to me. I was so pleasantly surprised that I had found a chip shop that knows how to cook chips properly and the batter was great. Restored my faith after being served soggy, sad chippy food for so long, I thought no one knew how any more. Definitely The Plaice to Go. Delicious.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iBruNel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    58
    9
    12
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Tasty..gluten free battered fish. A must visit.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

We arrived in the town. Hungry. We walked around and fell upon this chop shop..advertising gluten free fish an chips. As im gluten free we had to try it. So glad we did. The portion size is fab value for money an so so tasty. Very helpful chatty and friendly. Please visit. You will not be dissapointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lisa m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Although a small wait - everything was cooked to order and tasted fantastic! We also noticed the provision of gluten and wheat free products along with many charity involvement certificates. Very impressive wee business made all the better with their lovely fresh food!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank lroy406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“chippy tea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

one of the best place for a chippy chips were excellant the kingrib was excellant the battered sausage was a bit greasy batter was falling off as i picked it up thumps too the packer when i asked for salt&vineger on mine he kept the salt away from my wifes food as she doesn't like it

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian_lorraine_1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalgety Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“By far the best Fish and Chips in Pitlochry”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Having previously tried the other Fish and Chip establishment and been very disheartened by the quality, this was a pleasant surprise. The fish was well cooked and tasty and the chips were also well cooked and quite light.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David F B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Plaice to Be also viewed

Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
 
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to The Plaice to Be? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing