We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay and the food is sublime!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay and the food is sublime!”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The Knockendarroch hardly needs another 5 star review..but you know what, it is totally deserved. Just back from a trip with family and our two night stay was fabulous. Staff are truly great, so helpful and friendly, and the rooms immaculate. There is a nip in the air the last few days so those log fires every night were great! We stayed in the two balcony rooms which offered beautiful views. The food was the highlight. Breakfasts were great and dinner exceptional. What we loved was that the chef takes a quality main ingredient, be it lamb, pork or whatever and puts things with it which complement the meat or fish rather than over-complicate the plate (I hate the myriad of clashing flavours which you so often find in many places when chefs try to be too clever). The portion sizes here are also perfect so you can enjoy the full three courses without feeling like you have swallowed a whale! We also loved Smudge..the owner's very vocal cat who..although not allowed inside the main hotel..takes pleasure in greeting any feline loving guests every time you venture out the door. We will be back.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms were lovely if you don't mind a wee climb and narrower stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank macelven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear macelven, We are delighted with your review (including Smudge!). So glad we hit the mark on the food and that you enjoyed your family holiday. It would be lovely to see you again.
Best wishes
Liz and the rest of the Knockendarroch Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    731
    71
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
67
649
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed in this lovely hotel on the night of my husband's 60th birthday, and had birthday dinner in the elegant Dining Room. The meal was delicious and beautiful - the best of our trip to Scotland - including meals in a couple of pretty pricey restaurants in big cities. Our room was lovely, and the staff couldn't have been more attentive and helpful. Pitlochry is a lovely town and the hike to Eldradour - the "smallest distillery in Scotland" was gorgeous and fun,

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SadiehNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear SadieNyc, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your husband's birthday stay and dinner. Maybe we will see you again for a future special birthday!
Best wishes
Liz and the rest of the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcs
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

How lucky to have 'discovered' Knockendarroch. We couldn't have picked a better place to stay. Everything about it is first class. Our room was so comfortable and spacious and beautifully decorated - as was the rest of the hotel. The staff were warm and welcoming with no request being too much trouble (from booking theatre tickets to baking rye bread especially for us). The attention to detail is spot on, the service impeccable and the food.... just superb. What a team! You deserve the highest awards. Looking forward to returning

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Maureen T, We are also glad you discovered us! Thank you so much for your kind review. We would love to see you again!
Best wishes
Liz and the Knockendarroch team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

My wife and I decided to go away for a long weekend to celebrate my birthday and after looking at reviews for dozens of hotels across Perthshire we booked the Four Poster premium room at the Knockendarroch for three nights dinner, bed and breakfast.

We made an excellent choice; from the moment you arrive the staff cannot do enough for you, nothing is too much trouble for them. I cannot remember any hotel we have stayed at in the UK where all the staff seemed so genuinely friendly, cheerful and willing to assist.The staff seem to be a mix of Scottish and European and every one of them helped make this a very special weekend for my wife and I.

As it was a birthday treat we had booked the hotel's four poster room and the room was beautifully decorated although a little smaller than we expected (based on the photos we had seen).The four poster was very comfortable and the traditionally decorated room contrasted well with the lovely modern en-suite bathroom (with huge bath). The room, like everyrhere else in the hotel, was spotlessly clean. One thing about this room is that it faces away from Pitlochry itself, so there are not the fantastic views that you get from the west facing side of the hotel (e.g. the two balcony rooms).

The food at the Knockendarroch is very good (as many reviews have stated) and the star of the show for us was the full cooked breakfast - it was by far the freshest, tastiest cooked breakfast I have tasted. We both ordered it the first morning and assumed that we would have other, healthier options during our stay - no chance! A special mention for the poached eggs - I think the chef must have a degree in poached egg perfection - every one properly cooked but still with a gloriously runny yoke.

I found the dinner menu a lttle restrictive, especially the starters. The menu changes every evening but on all three nights there was a soup, melon, a fish dish and one other. I found it difficult to find a starter that really excited me but those I did choose were all very enjoyable. During our stay I found that the main courses were consistently under seasoned for my taste, but that is just my taste (I must watch too much Masterchef!) and all the food was well cooked and nicely presented. No complaints at all about desserts - they were fantastic!

As long as you are fully mobile then the Knockendarroch is a perfect base for exploring pitlochry as it is only a 5 minute walk from the centre of the town (although down a steep hill).
I cannot praise the hotel enough, we had a fabulous brealk there and would return in a heartbeat. This hotel really is a gem; full of character, spotlessly clean and with the best staff I have come across in the UK (from B&B to 5 star luxury).

We don't get the chance to have as many breaks as we would like in Scotland but we would ceratianly like to make a return visit to the Knockendarroch.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river (west) so you get great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Golfmuppet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Golfmuppet, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay. We very much appreciate all of your comments and feedback, and are delighted that enjoyed your Birthday treat!
Best wishes
Liz and the rest of the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights with dinner. The hotel is a lovely old house, very nicely decorated & in a lovely location in the town. Our bedroom was superb ,both spacious & comfortable.Also the lounge relaxing & nicely furnished, as was the Dinning Room. The food was really excellent in quality & presentation. Finally, ALL the staff were most obliging & friendly.
A very enjoyable stay & we would definately return whenever in this area!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSM785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear JSM785, We are so glad you enjoyed all aspects of your recent stay with us. We derive great pleasure from happy guests so thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in the area!
Best wishes
Liz and the Knockendarroch Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
134 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I stayed for two nights with dinner. The food was very good, the service was excellent. My room was very large and extremely comfortable. The parlor was very comfortable , like an old manor house! I felt like I was at a version of Downton Abbey for a brief visit!
Pitlochry is a quaint village, lots to do and see in the surrounding area. A true Highlands experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank World_Traveler_DR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Travel_a_lotDallas, Thank you so much for likening us to Downtown Abbey - a very, very small version! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and your Highland's experience.
Best wishes
Liz and the rest of the Knockendarroch Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

The Knockendarroch is a bit of an experience of itself. Ordering dinner in the parlour with drinks and then proceeding to the dining room when the chef is ready was quaint and very relaxing actually. We had time to "reset", enjoy our cocktails, fiddle with e-mails and build our appetite. The menu seemed a bit fussy, but the meal turned out to be lovely, tasty and ample. Service was cheerful and helpful both at meals and for the hotel portion. Despite the more formal nature of the hotel than we might be used to, we were made to feel very welcome and wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to friends and family. What a great base from which to explore central Scotland...wish we'd had another night!

Room Tip: Top floor is a hike with big bags, but our little balcony with table and chairs afforded us a beauti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pil0tsdaughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear pil0tsdaughter, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We like our guests to relax and unwind in the lounge before dinner, so glad this worked for you! We also wish you had stayed another night.
Best wishes from all of us.
Liz and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.7 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,862 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,759 reviews
1.6 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#5 of 18 in Pitlochry
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
753 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
357 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Higher Oakfield, Pitlochry PH16 5HT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pitlochry
#4 Family Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant 14 bedroom 4 star gold hotel set in 1.5 Acres of elevated private grounds with glorious views over Pitlochry and the Tummel Valley. Only a short stroll from Pitlochry town centre. Our style is contemporary country house with all rooms individually styled. Choose one of our new Suites added in 2017 for an extra touch of luxury. Enjoy a 2 AA rosette dinner in our restaurant and relax by the log fires in our wonderful lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing