We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Here!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is a lovely hotel/manor house. We were greeted warmly and brought to our room. Ours looked recently renovated with a large king sized bed, sitting room and bathroom. All were clean, fresh and comfortable. Maria, who works non stop, is a treasure. I had twisted my foot on a hike the day we arrived. She brought ice up to our room and never failed to ask how I felt. In fact, on her night off, her replacement asked me when to bring the ice up without my even asking. Attention to detail, wonderful service is what stands this hotel apart. Now onto the food. Spectacular. All four of us had only wonderful words to describe the breakfast and dinners served. Truly gourmet standards and in a beautiful dining room. We couldn't help notice the trim and decor, outstanding. Located above town, we drove to park and walk (my foot...) and enjoyed all the town had to offer. Went to the Salmon ladder which was interesting if you haven't seen one but no fish to be seen. You will not regret your stay and count it as one of the nicer ones you have stayed at.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank winelvr83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear winelvr83, Thank you so much for your very kind review. We are glad you all enjoyed your stay at the Knockendarroch and hope your foot has fully recovered! Maria is thrilled with your comments.
Best wishes
Liz, Maria and the rest of the Team at the Knockendarroch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (874)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

599 - 605 of 874 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

How homely ( in the nicest possible way ) & comfortable is this great little hotel. I booked it after reading positive comments from different sources & was delighted to find that the hotel, the location, the views, the town & the area were delightful.
Only a short drive(one & one half to two hours) from Edinburgh, Knockendarroch is located a short walk up the hill from the village of Pitlochry & enjoys sweeping views over the valleys & is surrounded by a quiet garden.
The lovely staff ladies were so welcoming & keen to help that it was embarrassing. I mean ladies helping me with the luggage? How old must I look?
Rooms are very comfortably furnished & have modern stylish bathrooms.
Two light filled,adjoining sitting rooms provide a space to read or catch up with emails (free), talk with friends, enjoy drinks (over twenty single malt scotch varieties) or coffee after dining.
And what dining they have! Don't consider dining elsewhere. A varied menu which changes regularly is obviously administered by someone who knows their way around a saucepan. So good. So light & deft or so comforting & satisfying depending on choice of dish. I would go back just for the food.
A word of warning. There is only one room on the ground floor & it is next to the kitchen. The premier rooms are on the first floor & there is no lift (elevator). Balcony rooms are in the second floor loft & the stairs are pretty steep but the views are lovely. Split your luggage if not staying long to reduce the struggle with the stairs.
A great base to explore the lower highlands. I am sure that you will love it.

Room Tip: There are stairs so not for people with mobility issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miserygutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear miserygutz, Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We offer help to all of our guests, regardless of age!
Best wishes
Liz and the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stay in Pitlochry annually whilst attending a local event and had been using a local B&B. When it changed hands we thought it was time for change. Knockendarroch sounded good, but all too frequently I find that hotels do not live up to the descriptions on their websites. This one does; it is excellent.
Set just far enough away from the tourist shops and proliferation of very mediocre restaurants on the main street, it is in a quiet location with plenty of room to park.
The hotel has retained its classic feel but does not lack the modern touches, and this sets it apart from many other Scottish country house hotels which can be a bit old fashioned. Our room was comfortable, clean, well equipped and a reasonable size, with wonderful views of the surrounding hills.
A highlight for us was a restaurant that lived up to its billing. Breakfast and dinner were excellent, with good choices that were beautifully presented and tasted wonderful.
The service was exceptional. Friendly people who seemed to enjoy what they do and do it well. Unfortunately that seems to be unusual in so many hotels.
Like I said, it is hard to fault. If I were to be really picky, just a couple of things come to mind, both in the restaurant. It would be nice to be able to buy pudding wine by the glass - I doubt that many couples will want a bottle after having wine with their meal. The petits fours seem to include the ubiquitous fudge every night - just like most restaurants in Scotland. You are better than that - be adventurous!
We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: No lifts, so if you have trouble with stairs ask for a room on the lower floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sakertec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Dear sakertec, Thank you for your kind review and comments, which we greatly appreciate. We are delighted that you found the Knockendarroch and very much look forward to welcoming you back!
Best wishes from Liz and the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This was our first trip to Pitlochry and we were pleasantly surprised by this great wee town. We picked the Knockendarroch hotel because of the high standard of reviews on tripadvisor and the reviews were justified. However Tripadvisor billed this hotel as one of the most romantic in Scotland but I don't think this was the case. I'm not saying don't go there for a romantic weekend because it could be as romantic as you want to make it, i'm simply stating the service, food and location are the main strengths of this lovely hotel. The staff were very friendly, helpful and genuine and the hotel was very clean. The décor was fresh, traditional, well thought out and the grounds well maintained. You are five or so mins walk to the town centre and you can drive to lots of beautiful historic locations from Pitlochry and there is loads of outdoor activities on your doorstep also. The best thing I liked about this hotel was the amazing standard of food on the menu, good variety, cooked perfectly and the service was very well timed. Atmosphere in the hotel the weekend I visited was a bit stuffy and formal but that may not always be the case, will depend on the other guests who are staying there. Well worth a visit !

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are a little small but are still very nice, all the rooms I seen were lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Dear Martin B, I am glad you enjoyed your recent stay at the Knockendarroch and thank you for sharing your positive comments. Also glad you enjoyed your first visit to Pitlochry. Hope you come back and see us again.
Best wishes
Liz and the Knockendarroch Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Agree with most of the comments below, rooms furnished to high standard, very clean,all the staff were great and work very hard to make sure each guest is looked after, food was five star both breakfast and dinner, there were four of us in two rooms and both were comfortable rooms. A lot of effort is being put in by the owners to make this a top class hotel, well done.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BFJ2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear BFJ2010, Thank you for your lovely comments on your recent stay. It was a pleasure to have you all in the hotel. We do want all of our guests to enjoy their stay and it is very kind of you to acknowledge our efforts. We hope to see you all again soon!
Best wishes
Liz and the rest of the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We booked a lastminute deal and selected the Knockendarroch based on the reviews on Tripadvisor. I must sy that we were not disappointed.

The Knockendarroch is an old building but the bedroom we were allocated was fine. Decor was fresh and neutral (no tartan anywhere !), bed was nice and comfy, batchroom was ok but no bath, just a shower so if you really want a bath then tell them in advance.

Loaction is great 5 mins walk from Pitlochry main st with a good selection of eating places and pubs.

We used the hotel as a base for walking and it is ideal for that.

Food was really good, well cooked and tasty, portions were perhaps a bit on the small side, I blame the nouvelle cuisine habit of big plates with a small amount of food stacked up in the centre ! Cheesboard selection was good and helped to fill me up. Wine was fine and on a par with 'up market' hotels, ie £25 for a bottle of nice Sauvignon Blanc. Breakfast selection was great and all waitress served.

After dinner drinks / coffee in the Lounge area is nice and relaxing, only issue is that there is no background music, consequently everyone whispers to each other to avoid being overheard, there was music in the dining room so I'm sure it would not be took much of a job to pipe it into the Lounge as well. Something to look at I would suggest !

All in all, a very enjoyable stay and we would consider returning in the future.

Room Tip: If you prefer a batch then ask as you check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackGlagow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear JackGlasgow, Glad you were not disappointed with your stay and thank you for your comments, which we really appreciate. All of our rooms have a bath and shower, except the room you stayed in - we keep one room with a shower only as it is requested by some of our guests. We always have appropriate music in our dining room, the lounge, however, is tricky to judge as we have found that not all guests like background music, but thank you for stating your preference.
We very much hope to see you again!
Best wishes
Liz and the Knockendarroch Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We visited for 2 nights for our 35th wedding anniversary and had a wonderful time. We were a bit late in booking and could only be accommodated by moving rooms on the second night. We were assured that the moving would be seamless and it was. This gave us the opportunity to sample 2 premier rooms. Both were beautifully decorated and spotless. All staff are so genuinely friendly and nothing is a bother. The food.......amazing. Every dish could be served at any 5 star restaurant, good wine selection and very reasonable price Moët. As part of our anniversary treat the Sunday night was spent in a well known 5 star luxury hotel, 3 time the price of the Knockendarroch and this hotel wins hands down. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allencap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear 491doll, We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay for your special Anniversary, and thank you for taking the time to share such positive comments. We hope to see you again for your next special Anniversary!
Best wishes from all of us at the Knockendarroch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.7 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 17 in Pitlochry
2,181 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 17 in Pitlochry
1,942 reviews
1.6 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#5 of 17 in Pitlochry
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Green Park Hotel
The Green Park Hotel
#2 of 17 in Pitlochry
534 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#10 of 17 in Pitlochry
934 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#7 of 17 in Pitlochry
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Higher Oakfield, Pitlochry PH16 5HT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pitlochry
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range: $215 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant 14 bedroom 4 star gold hotel set in 1.5 Acres of elevated private grounds with glorious views over Pitlochry and the Tummel Valley. Only a short stroll from Pitlochry town centre. Our style is contemporary country house with all rooms individually styled. Choose one of our new Suites added in 2017 for an extra touch of luxury. Enjoy a 2 AA rosette dinner in our restaurant and relax by the log fires in our wonderful lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing