We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Agree with most of the comments below, rooms furnished to high standard, very clean,all the staff were great and work very hard to make sure each guest is looked after, food was five star both breakfast and dinner, there were four of us in two rooms and both were comfortable rooms. A lot of effort is being put in by the owners to make this a top class hotel, well done.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BFJ2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear BFJ2010, Thank you for your lovely comments on your recent stay. It was a pleasure to have you all in the hotel. We do want all of our guests to enjoy their stay and it is very kind of you to acknowledge our efforts. We hope to see you all again soon!
Best wishes
Liz and the rest of the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    718
    70
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
65
641
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We booked a lastminute deal and selected the Knockendarroch based on the reviews on Tripadvisor. I must sy that we were not disappointed.

The Knockendarroch is an old building but the bedroom we were allocated was fine. Decor was fresh and neutral (no tartan anywhere !), bed was nice and comfy, batchroom was ok but no bath, just a shower so if you really want a bath then tell them in advance.

Loaction is great 5 mins walk from Pitlochry main st with a good selection of eating places and pubs.

We used the hotel as a base for walking and it is ideal for that.

Food was really good, well cooked and tasty, portions were perhaps a bit on the small side, I blame the nouvelle cuisine habit of big plates with a small amount of food stacked up in the centre ! Cheesboard selection was good and helped to fill me up. Wine was fine and on a par with 'up market' hotels, ie £25 for a bottle of nice Sauvignon Blanc. Breakfast selection was great and all waitress served.

After dinner drinks / coffee in the Lounge area is nice and relaxing, only issue is that there is no background music, consequently everyone whispers to each other to avoid being overheard, there was music in the dining room so I'm sure it would not be took much of a job to pipe it into the Lounge as well. Something to look at I would suggest !

All in all, a very enjoyable stay and we would consider returning in the future.

Room Tip: If you prefer a batch then ask as you check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackGlagow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear JackGlasgow, Glad you were not disappointed with your stay and thank you for your comments, which we really appreciate. All of our rooms have a bath and shower, except the room you stayed in - we keep one room with a shower only as it is requested by some of our guests. We always have appropriate music in our dining room, the lounge, however, is tricky to judge as we have found that not all guests like background music, but thank you for stating your preference.
We very much hope to see you again!
Best wishes
Liz and the Knockendarroch Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We visited for 2 nights for our 35th wedding anniversary and had a wonderful time. We were a bit late in booking and could only be accommodated by moving rooms on the second night. We were assured that the moving would be seamless and it was. This gave us the opportunity to sample 2 premier rooms. Both were beautifully decorated and spotless. All staff are so genuinely friendly and nothing is a bother. The food.......amazing. Every dish could be served at any 5 star restaurant, good wine selection and very reasonable price Moët. As part of our anniversary treat the Sunday night was spent in a well known 5 star luxury hotel, 3 time the price of the Knockendarroch and this hotel wins hands down. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allencap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear 491doll, We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay for your special Anniversary, and thank you for taking the time to share such positive comments. We hope to see you again for your next special Anniversary!
Best wishes from all of us at the Knockendarroch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This is just a superb hotel. A great location and lovely building and very friendly staff. The food is really excellent - even the breakfast is great. We will certainly be going back to the Knockendarroch whenever we can.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Gordon T, Thank you so much for your kind review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and that you would come back to see us again.
Best wishes
Liz and the Knockendarroch Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S Yorkshire
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Visited on a week long tour of the highlands. This was the most expensive hotel we stayed at but probably the best. The hotel is a lovely old building with lots of character and the public rooms are like stepping into a more genteel and relaxing time. We had a room right at the top of the hotel (2 flights of stairs so some may have struggled) but it was very well equipped with a high standard of decoration and a lovely king sized bed. The hotel is only a 5 min walk from the main high street in Pitlochry although coming back it is uphill and probably stretches to 10 mins. The service from the staff was excellent throughout and they had even gone to the trouble of putting a happy anniversary message in chocolate on our dessert plates. I didn't get the impression that thoughtful touches like this are an unusual exception and the staff seemed genuinely interested in making the stay as enjoyable as possible. Our dinner in the hotel was the best we had in any of the hotels we stayed at. Very tasty, well presented and purchased for a very reasonable upgrade from b&b rates. All in all a very memorable and enjoyable stay and we will definitely look to visit again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wensday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear wensday, Thank you for your kind review of your recent stay for your Anniversary. We are glad that you enjoyed the room, decor and service, and delighted that you upgraded to dinner! Please come and see us again.
Best wishes
Liz and the Knockendarroch Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

What a heavenly hotel this is - so charming and quaint and it is nice to see comfortable armchairs and sofas in the main lounge intead of the ultra modern furniture seen in hotels these days. Our room was fantastic - so large and airy and with tea and coffee making facilities with ample of "goodies" on the tray. We dined at the hotel as we were tired to locate a local restaurants and we are so glad we did as the food was fantastic - the service quick but guests were allowed a leisurely break in between. The breakfast menu was really good - such a choice and variety and served at your table. The one Duty Manager who was Spanish was very good and certainly knew her job - we met the owner the next day before our departure and congratulated her on a first class hotel. This hotel has an ideal setting with fantastic view of the gardens and ample parking place We will definitely go there again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely and well decorated with plush bedding linen - but if it is difficult to cli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hamida k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear hamida k, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. It was a pleasure having you and your family in the hotel and so nice to see how much you were enjoying your stay. It would be lovely to see you all again.
Best wishes
Liz, Mar and the rest of the Team at Knockendarroch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We both really appreciated the warm welcome and the friendliness of the staff. Our room was very large, with a lovely bathroom - I loved the decor which felt quite luxurious and the bed was very large. The atmosphere in the hotel felt at once grand but also comfortable - it sort of felt like I was living in a grand old house. The lounge area is also gorgeous, with loads of space to spread out, and a great collection of magazines and board games - a lot of the guests took the chance to sit in here. Again, it's really tastefully decorated. Oh, the food, the food - don't miss the dinners - absolutely divine.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManagementAssistant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear ManagementAssistant, So glad to hear that you would love to come back as we would love to have you back! Thank you for your kind comments about the dinner, the relaxing lounge and the friendly staff.
Best wishes from all of us at the Knockendarroch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pitlochry
0.7 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,827 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,729 reviews
1.6 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
19.8 mi away
Lands of Loyal Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Higher Oakfield, Pitlochry PH16 5HT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pitlochry
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
#4 Family Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant 14 bedroom 4 star gold hotel set in 1.5 Acres of elevated private grounds with glorious views over Pitlochry and the Tummel Valley. Only a short stroll from Pitlochry town centre. Our style is contemporary country house with all rooms individually styled. Choose one of our new Suites added in 2017 for an extra touch of luxury. Enjoy a 2 AA rosette dinner in our restaurant and relax by the log fires in our wonderful lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing