We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful hotel - Wilma, London”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 18, 2013

This hotel is chic whilst homely with excellent facilities. The staff are very friendly; attentive whilst not overbearing. Everything is considered including phoning to ascertain if you need collection from the railway station. Overall, the experience was exceptional - I was sharing a twin room with my elderly Mother and we both enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilma1922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

Dear Wilma1922, Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your trip home. We really like your description of the hotel, 'chic but homely', and we are very glad you and your mother enjoyed your stay with us. Please come and see us again!
Best wishes
Liz and the Knockendarroch Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (873)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

638 - 644 of 873 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed for two relaxing nights for her birthday. All the staff were genuinely friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble and I phoned a few days before our arrival date to arrange a small birthday cake and a particular bottle of champagne, which was not on their menu, and it was all sorted out.
The menu was well balanced and the food was beautifully cooked and tasty. A couple we talked to before dinner on the first night said they stay there twice a year and the food is to die for. They are not wrong.
The room we had is lovely and you can adjust the temperature ,unlike some hotels we have stayed in, so that you can get a decent nights sleep in a really comfy bed.
The lounge is the perfect place to relax before and after dinner with log fires and plenty of whisky.
The hotel is close enough to the main street to walk there easily but far enough away to be really peaceful. you are not going to be disturbed by traffic noise or pubs.
I am not one for writing reviews but, I really wanted to thank all the staff at the hotel for making our stay so good. they did everything right and we couldn't fault it!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveC240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Dear SteveC240, I am very glad you decided to write a review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay and it is really thoughtful to thank the team. We know how important special occasions can be, so we were only too happy to arrange your requests for your wife's birthday. It would be lovely to see you again sometime.
Best wishes
Liz and the Knockendarroch Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Outstanding stay at Knockendarroch House Hotel. Went for one night and opted for the balcony room with provided wonderful views. Service, cleanliness & food exceptional. They have recently won tripadvisor awards and they deserve this without question. This is a unique small hotel where you will feel relaxed and comfortable throughout your stay. Compliments to the chef - the dinner as well as breakfast was first class. Thank you. (We will be back)

Room Tip: I'm sure all rooms are wonderful - we had a peek in a standard room and this was equally as nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

Dear Jennifer015, Thank you so much for your review which highlights all thing key things we strive to achieve for our guests: relaxation and comfort, good food, friendly service, and cleanliness. We are only a small, private hotel, but we feel very proud when we get it right for our guests, so thank you again.
Best wishes
Liz and the Kockendarroch Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

If your looking for Peace and Tranquillity go no further, I was glad it was snowing for an excuse to stay in. Comfy sofa's next to log fire being served freshly ground coffee with yummy home made shortbread, what more could you ask for.
Rooms were clean, warm and comfortable, staff were pleasant and attentive, Food was Fabulous with just enough to choose from, wine list was good value for money with some excellent choices. We definitely would go back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

Dear karen s, Our log fires are always popular, especially when it's snowing outside! I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, despite the weather, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back.
Best wishes
Liz and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Lovely weekend spent relaxing. The service was warm and welcoming and the whole atmosphere relaxed. The food was excellent. The lounges comfortable and cosy. The room was clean and bright with superb views from the balcony across to the hills.

Room Tip: We booked a balcony room well worth the climb to the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

Dear Anne W, Thank you for writing a review of your stay with us. We try to create an atmosphere and environment for our guests to feel relaxed, so glad it worked for you! It would be lovley to see you again.
Best wishes
Liz and the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We are just home from this lovely hotel. The staff are fantastic, especially Maria, nothing was too much trouble. The roaring fires in the lounges, the decor, atmosphere, outlook, I could go on. The whole place is very tastefully decorated. I really liked the tweed curtains in the bedroom, and real feather down quilt and pillows were a bonus. The food is top notch, really really good. I had venison on the last night, it was cooked to perfection. I asked Maria who the chef was, Angus from Skye. I would recommend this hotel to all my friends. It's very special.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank goosies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

Dear goosies, Thank you for your very kind review. We are glad you liked the food and also the decor of the hotel as we have worked hard to achieve a look that we think our guests would enjoy. Yes, the log fires are great when the weather is not so good.
Best wishes
Liz, Angus, Maria and the rest of the Knockendarroch Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Had a lovely week-end at Knockendarroch. Very cosy during a cold, grey week-end. Spotlessly clean - my daughter never uses hotel baths, but because of the cleanliness here, she did! Cleanliness is very important to us, and I would give you 10/10! well done! As an ex-hotelier I know how hard it is in the tourism business, and congratulate you and your staff(who are not too much 'in your face') Will recommend and would love to come back when the garden is in full bloom.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank comfortlovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

Dear MB158, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We do pay great attention to cleanliness so are delighted your daughter took a bath! It would be lovely to see you again.
Best wishes
Liz and the Knockendarroch Team (including Housekeeping!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.7 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
2,126 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,912 reviews
1.6 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#5 of 18 in Pitlochry
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
813 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
925 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Higher Oakfield, Pitlochry PH16 5HT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pitlochry
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range: $212 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant 14 bedroom 4 star gold hotel set in 1.5 Acres of elevated private grounds with glorious views over Pitlochry and the Tummel Valley. Only a short stroll from Pitlochry town centre. Our style is contemporary country house with all rooms individually styled. Choose one of our new Suites added in 2017 for an extra touch of luxury. Enjoy a 2 AA rosette dinner in our restaurant and relax by the log fires in our wonderful lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing