We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Harmony”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Wemyss Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Harmony”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Great location, superb hotel, management & staff on the same wavelength, attentive, informative, but not intrusive. Fantastic place to call home for a couple of days, and if not for the fact that it was the last day the hotel was open in 2012 we would have stayed for a few days more. Hopefully be back in Pitlochry soon, will definitely stay here ( if available). We can't control the Scottish weather, but we can control the quality of where we stay. Would I recomend ? YES, will we be back? YES. Enjoy your break guys, you have achieved a lot.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tspark156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear tspark156, We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and managed to get out and about despite the weather! Thank you for your kind wishes. We would love to see you again.
Best wishes
Liz and the Knockendarroch Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    717
    70
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
65
640
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

What a lovely hotel this is. Fantastic staff and a lovely cosy feel - more like a house party than a hotel. Drinks brought to you in the lovely sitting room, breakfast and dinner expertly cooked, transport to and from the theatre, just great. A wee gem.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deecow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear deecow, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm glad you thought we were a "wee gem". We run the complimentary theatre transport thoughout the main season, so please come back and see us again.
Best wishes
Liz and the rest of the Knockendarroch Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Just back from a fantastic time at Knockendarroch House Hotel. Everything was perfect and the staff amazing. The food was out of this world and it was very nice to not have to walk about the town trying to find dinner.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shoegal339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear shoegal339, Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted that your stay was perfect and very much hope to see you again.
Best wishes
Liz and the Knockendarroch Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

My wife and I stayed overnight at the Knockendarroch and found the staff to be friendly and attentive.The room was small but comfortable with a stunning view. The dinner menu was extremely limited and the food a bit over fussy for our liking,however well presented.We though some background music would add to the atmosphere of this beautiful historic building.Nice experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bobrob120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear bobrob120, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us, including the views and attentive staff. Our menu changes daily and we make every effort to cater for all requirements by having sample menus online, asking at time of booking and check in, and printing our menu by 2pm each day. Nevertheless, I am glad we were able to cater for you at time of taking your order. We have background music in the dining room at all times but find that not all of our guests want music throughout the hotel. It would be lovely to see you again, and we would be happy to accommodate any special requests.
Best wishes, Liz and the Knockendarroch Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
178 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night but wished we had time to stay for another few nights. It is a small hotel with very friendly and attentive staff. The food was excellent. As part of the booking they even arranged a visit to the Pitlochry Theatre, together with transport to and from the theatre. It is within easy walking distance of the village. Altogether a thumbs - up for this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LinSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear LinSouthAfrica, We are delighted that you enjoyed your one night at the Knockendarroch and thought the food to be excellent. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for giving us the thumbs up!
Best wishes, Liz and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrey Hills NSW
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We spent three nights here and enjoyed every moment! The staff were very welcoming and attentive. The lounge was very atmospheric with two open fires, lovely furniture and beautiful views - a great place for afternoon tea or a whiskey after dinner! The room was a good size, very clean and nicely appointed. We had a little balcony with views over Pitlochry which was an unexpected bonus! Credit where credit is due - this place is truly lovely!

Room Tip: We were in room 10 on the top floor. It is quite a climb up 2 flights of stars but you are rewarded...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayneandBarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear JayneandBarry, Thank you for such a positive review of your stay at the Knockendarroch, and thank you for taking the time to write it after your trip home. We're glad you enjoyed the whisky and cream scone in front of the log fire - it's always a hit with our guests!
Best wishes from all the Team at the Knockendarroch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

The Knockendarroch House Hotel is ideally located off the main street of Pitlochry, yet so walkable to everything. It's a great location to experience the Highlands, it's villages and forrests, castles and history. Wonderful restaurants, best spot to shop for cashmere and gifts.

The Knockendarrach House is quiet, steeping with history and style. I loved our corner room,
yet I found 3 or 4 that were equally to my taste. Full of light, very clean and full of lovely antiques. Linens and pillows were great, very comfortable beds and good storage.

Best Breakfast on the trip, you have to do the full Scottish Breakfast it's delicious. The staff
were great and helpful, the owner's lovely and gracious.

I would highly refer this resting spot if your wanting the Highland experience, this is the village and this is the spot.

Room Tip: I loved the corner room, front. Great light, lots of windows that opened for air and beautiful dra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hawaiiportland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear hawaiiportland, Thank you for your positive comments on your stay in Pitlochry at the Knockendarroch - it is a great location with so many things to do. We very much enjoyed you and your friends and would love to see you again on any future trips!
Best wishes, Liz and the Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pitlochry
0.7 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,826 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,729 reviews
1.6 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
19.8 mi away
Lands of Loyal Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Higher Oakfield, Pitlochry PH16 5HT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pitlochry
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
#4 Family Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant 14 bedroom 4 star gold hotel set in 1.5 Acres of elevated private grounds with glorious views over Pitlochry and the Tummel Valley. Only a short stroll from Pitlochry town centre. Our style is contemporary country house with all rooms individually styled. Choose one of our new Suites added in 2017 for an extra touch of luxury. Enjoy a 2 AA rosette dinner in our restaurant and relax by the log fires in our wonderful lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing