We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My first destillery visit”

Blair Athol Distillery
Ranked #5 of 40 things to do in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Blair Athol Distillery is one of the oldest working Distilleries in Scotland established in 1798. We are open to the public 362 days a year and are the spiritual home of Bell's. We have a range of tours and tastings available and the full list can be found by our website.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
73 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“My first destillery visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We arrived by car from the flight to Edinburgh, so this is the first time in Scotland for several of us. The guide was waiting for our booked visit. We were a little delyed because of problems with the car rental at the airport. But we had a contact by phone so they were prepared. I had never visited a dstillery before, but familiar with how Whisky is produced an names as peat, barley, malt, crist, fermentation, still, etc. After the tour we tasting of some different whiskises. The guide had made a selection, but one of them was replaced, because it was familiar to most of us. They had also a cask in the room, there we had a dram from the 1993 year cask (duty paid). Very cheerful staff at the tour and in the visitors center.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank heikki r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    293
    159
    40
    9
    6
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First Distillery Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Since watching the film angels share i've fancied going to a distillery so me and my boyfriend took a trip to blair athol, it was really intresting and a decent price, neither of us drink whiskey but had a little try at the end, still don't think i will drink whiskey but i really enjoyed the visit, its such a beautiful place aswell

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jjlilstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosyth, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“distillery tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Absolutely fantastic experience - as a non-whiskey drinker i was a bit dubious but it was really interesting and well worth the hour that it took to complete

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Zumba K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Knowledgeable Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

How can you come to Scotland and not go on a tour of a distillery. My husband and I enjoyed this distillery we walked away with more knowledge than we arrived with. Our group consisted of German and English speaking individuals, our guide was able to speak German and I feel this helped the Germans enjoy the tour that much more since he was able to converse with them in their native language.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank ruizrts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northampton
Level Contributor
87 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good blend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

You must vist the Blair Athol distillery.Its easy to get to.We came from Perth on the bus,and went back on the Train to Perth two stops.If you come by car theres plenty of parking.We didn't need to book,just waited 10mins for the group to be made up for the tour.The tour was given with detail and humour.For £6.00,which includes a £3.oo discount voucher,we found it £3 well worth spending.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mckpostie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blair Athol Distillery also viewed

Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
 
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Blair Athol Distillery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing