We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful family weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Green Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful family weekend”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We were looking for a venue in Scotland to celebrate a memorable birthday for Mrs Somersetmartin. What an inspired choice. We were really spoilt and pampered for our four night stay. The indefatigable Alastair made sure we were welcomed and looked after (even presenting us with a can of Thatchers Somerset cider to make us feel at home). Comfortable, well furnished rooms, great food and enthusiastic service by friendly staff made for a great weekend. The wine list is great value and there is a good selection of gins in the bar (as well as the excellent Scotch whisky selection).
Sometimes the restaurant service was a little too quick when we wanted to linger over a meal - we soon learned the trick. Just turn the table number on its end and you won't be disturbed until you are ready to order!
A perfect venue for our weekend. And can the hotel really be as good as the reviews? A resounding yes!

Room Tip: Book early and bag a loch view room on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PitlochryAlistair, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear SomersetMartin,

Many thanks for your charming review, and for choosing the Green Park to host your celebration. It was lovely to welcome you and your family.

Talking of family, Mum and Dad now join us at the hotel for breakfast every morning - though I'm not sure if we are keeping an eye on them, or it's a case of the other way round. Either way, it is nice to see the two of them in the morning.

We hope that you all had a safe and comfortable journey back to the home comforts of Somerset, and delighted to read that the cider was a success!

Best regards,

Alistair
For the McMenemie Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    43
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
92
312
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dundee
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Just returned from a few days chilling out at this hotel and as on previous occasions everything faultless. Just want to thank Alistair, Diane and every member of the staff who make a break here so enjoyable. Looking forward to our next visit in the summer when I do hope we see as little more sunshine!

Room Tip: All rooms are very well furnished and of a good size but one overlooking the loch is extra special
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brodgarDundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PitlochryAlistair, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear brodgarDundee,

Delighted to read that your most recent stay was a success, and thank you for placing another kind review with TripAdvisor.

All is well at the hotel, with all of the normal hustle and bustle. Christine ( from reception ) goes on pregnancy leave tomorrow; it's just as well that men don't have the babies, as I would have packed in work about two months ago. She has been a real trooper, and we look forward to welcoming her back in a years time.

Many thanks again for the very generous review, and we look forward to welcoming you both again!

Best regards,

Alistair
For the McMenemie Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

pitlochry is a lovely small town worth a visit, also go see the salmon ladder! hotel is at edge of town, within walking distance of shops. beautifully decorated, friendly, welcoming. lovely rooms and shower. beautiful views over a loch. staff cant do enough to help. free wifi. perfect location as a base to travel from and return. food is totally amazing, 'real' food, presented well. good for elderly and young families. games books and even a jigsaw to pass a few quiet moments. highly recommend.

Room Tip: top (3rd) floor facing the loch with balcony, great view. dogs accepted but not in public rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blue1870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PitlochryAlistair, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear 1870,

Many thanks for joining us at the Green Park and for the super review, and we hope that you had a comfortable journey back to Nottingham.

We are blessed with another nice start to the morning, and you are met with a chorus of birdsong ( or are they arguing ? ) as you walk past the beech hedge on the way to work. Living within the grounds of the hotel, I am hardly in a position to complain about the daily commute to work, and I count my blessings every day.

We were delighted to read that your stay at Pitlochry was such a success, and we look forward to welcoming you all again in the future.

Best regards,

Alistair ( McMenemie )
For the McMenemie Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Just back from another stay at this fabulous hotel. Food, comfort and attention from staff were all first class. We had a lovely room overlooking the loch. Can't wait to go back. Thanks for a great weekend.

Room Tip: A room with a view of Loch Faskally is a bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnnie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PitlochryAlistair, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Johnnie01,

Many thanks for joining us again at the Green Park, and for going the extra mile and posting a review. Your kind comments are much appreciated by us all.

Pitlochry was a hive of activity this weekend, with a show on at the theatre on both Friday and Saturday. I was too busy to go as I was hard at work at the hotel, but the current Mrs McMenemie - Diane - was able to go with other girls from the Green Park. I am clearly missing a trick a two, and still have a lot to learn!

Many thnaks again for your visist and review.

Best regards,

Alistair ( McMenemie )
For the McMenemie Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed at this hotel for 4 nights at the beginning of March and can honestly say it is the best hotel i have ever stayed in.

On arrival we were very warmly welcomed by Diane and Alistair, the hotel owners who made us feel right at home. We made our way to the room and were pleasently greated by every member of staff we passed. The room was stunning, warm, cosy and had everything you could ask for! We had a room with a balcony and although it was cold outside this didn't stop us from stepping outside to admire the gorgeous view of the Loch Faskally, it is amazing!

The room is decorated to a homely feel, with plenty of clothes space, storage and room, we never felt cramped, it was always comforting to know to not worry if you have forgot anything, the hotel will endevour to help you with anything you may have forgotten to pack.

For breakfast there was a wide selection if choices, from a full scottish breakfast, to pancakes, to fruit! The dining room is very well presented and every table was made up perfectly, all staff are smartly dressed and happy to greet you.
There is a lovely sun room just off the 'Lounge' where a lot of people like to sit as it has the stunning views which we had the pleasure of having from our room. There are puzzles and books to keep you occupied along with pitch and putt outside which was very fun!

The hotel is in walking distance of the picturesque village of pitlochry with some lovely shops, restaurants and warm welcoming pubs, it is a lovely lovely place.
Walking around pitlochry is an enjoyment with plenty of trails and things to see which the hotel kindly advise of.

I was very sad to be leaving The Green Park, i really had the most amazing time, the staff are lovely and Diane and Alistair the owners are the most nicest people you could meet. Overall i would recommend the hotel to anyone who is after a nice, peaceful, enjoyful quiet time away, its like a little slice of paradise and i would not hesitate to return!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JoJo1630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PitlochryAlistair, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear JoJo1630,

Many thanks for your recent stay with us at the Green Park, and for your very kind review. It was very nice to welcome the four of you from Bristol, and we hope that your journey home was a safe and steady one.

You certainly made the most of your time with us, and it was great that you made it as far as the ski slopes at Aviemore. By the sound of it, taking an extra layer of clothes turned out to be a very wise precaution!

We look forward to welcoming you all again, and thank you once more for going to the trouble of posting such a long and generous review.

Best regards,

Alistair ( McMenemie )
For the McMenemie Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Had an absolutely wonderful 2day break last week .Had a superb room overlooking the loch .Food was fantastic and service was 1st class. The afternoon tea was was amazing such a lovely treat. This was our first visit to the Greenpark Hotel but it will not be our last.
W,D Edinburgh

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WDD2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PitlochryAlistair, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear WDD2014,

Many thanks for making the trip north from Edinburgh, and for posting such a generous review. As my mother says, you will get your reward in heaven.

All is well at the hotel, with a busy lunch having just finished. Over the years I have perfected a way of looking busy e.g. carrying a pair of step ladders, which usually buys me enough time to plot my escape from anything which threatens to be really hard work. I offer classes in this form of disguise, but be warned, the rates are prohibitive!

Your kind comments about your stay are very much appreciated, and we hope to welcome you both again in the future.

Best regards,

Alistair ( McMenemie )
For the McMenemie Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forfar
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Just home after a 2 day break. Nothing too much trouble for the management and staff of this hotel. By far the best service we have experienced.
Your comfort is their speciality in a relaxing environment. Thank you Alistair and staff. We will be back!

Room Tip: When booking the receptionist asks if there are special needs and accommodates you in the most suita...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPRForfar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PitlochryAlistair, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear JPRForfar,

Many thanks for your stay and terrific review, and apologies for the delay in replying - I am slowing down in my old age. I can offer no other excuse!

I hope Forfar and the Vale of Strathmore is enjoying the same weather as ourselves - it really has been a very gentle start to the year. Tonight on the other hand is a very stressful occasion as Diane is at work, and I have to get Megan to highland dancing, and make dinner for us, plus feed and walk the dogs - anybody out there available to help at very reasonable rates?

Many thanks again for your visit, and we look forward to welcoming you both again when the mood takes you.

Best regards,

Alistair ( McMenemie )
For the McMenemie Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.8 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
0.6 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,943 reviews
1.1 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
878 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
778 reviews
2.2 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#5 of 18 in Pitlochry
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Park Hotel

Property: The Green Park Hotel
Address: Clunie Bridge Road, Pitlochry PH16 5JY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pitlochry
#2 Family Hotel in Pitlochry
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pitlochry
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Green Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Park hotel is to be found on the western outskirts of Pitlochry, enjoying unrivaled views over Loch Faskally from its lochside position. Set in three acres, the Green Park is within strolling distance of the shops and a pleasant walk from the Pitlochry Festival Theater. The Green Park hotel is run by two generations of the McMenemie family, in a manner suitable to the character of the house and its setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The Green Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Park Hotel
Green Park Pitlochry
The Green Park Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing