We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous weekend”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pitlochry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Green Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Just back from another stay at this fabulous hotel. Food, comfort and attention from staff were all first class. We had a lovely room overlooking the loch. Can't wait to go back. Thanks for a great weekend.

Room Tip: A room with a view of Loch Faskally is a bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnnie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PitlochryAlistair, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Dear Johnnie01,

Many thanks for joining us again at the Green Park, and for going the extra mile and posting a review. Your kind comments are much appreciated by us all.

Pitlochry was a hive of activity this weekend, with a show on at the theatre on both Friday and Saturday. I was too busy to go as I was hard at work at the hotel, but the current Mrs McMenemie - Diane - was able to go with other girls from the Green Park. I am clearly missing a trick a two, and still have a lot to learn!

Many thnaks again for your visist and review.

Best regards,

Alistair ( McMenemie )
For the McMenemie Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (522)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

276 - 282 of 522 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed at this hotel for 4 nights at the beginning of March and can honestly say it is the best hotel i have ever stayed in.

On arrival we were very warmly welcomed by Diane and Alistair, the hotel owners who made us feel right at home. We made our way to the room and were pleasently greated by every member of staff we passed. The room was stunning, warm, cosy and had everything you could ask for! We had a room with a balcony and although it was cold outside this didn't stop us from stepping outside to admire the gorgeous view of the Loch Faskally, it is amazing!

The room is decorated to a homely feel, with plenty of clothes space, storage and room, we never felt cramped, it was always comforting to know to not worry if you have forgot anything, the hotel will endevour to help you with anything you may have forgotten to pack.

For breakfast there was a wide selection if choices, from a full scottish breakfast, to pancakes, to fruit! The dining room is very well presented and every table was made up perfectly, all staff are smartly dressed and happy to greet you.
There is a lovely sun room just off the 'Lounge' where a lot of people like to sit as it has the stunning views which we had the pleasure of having from our room. There are puzzles and books to keep you occupied along with pitch and putt outside which was very fun!

The hotel is in walking distance of the picturesque village of pitlochry with some lovely shops, restaurants and warm welcoming pubs, it is a lovely lovely place.
Walking around pitlochry is an enjoyment with plenty of trails and things to see which the hotel kindly advise of.

I was very sad to be leaving The Green Park, i really had the most amazing time, the staff are lovely and Diane and Alistair the owners are the most nicest people you could meet. Overall i would recommend the hotel to anyone who is after a nice, peaceful, enjoyful quiet time away, its like a little slice of paradise and i would not hesitate to return!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank JoJo1630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PitlochryAlistair, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Dear JoJo1630,

Many thanks for your recent stay with us at the Green Park, and for your very kind review. It was very nice to welcome the four of you from Bristol, and we hope that your journey home was a safe and steady one.

You certainly made the most of your time with us, and it was great that you made it as far as the ski slopes at Aviemore. By the sound of it, taking an extra layer of clothes turned out to be a very wise precaution!

We look forward to welcoming you all again, and thank you once more for going to the trouble of posting such a long and generous review.

Best regards,

Alistair ( McMenemie )
For the McMenemie Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Had an absolutely wonderful 2day break last week .Had a superb room overlooking the loch .Food was fantastic and service was 1st class. The afternoon tea was was amazing such a lovely treat. This was our first visit to the Greenpark Hotel but it will not be our last.
W,D Edinburgh

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WDD2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PitlochryAlistair, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Dear WDD2014,

Many thanks for making the trip north from Edinburgh, and for posting such a generous review. As my mother says, you will get your reward in heaven.

All is well at the hotel, with a busy lunch having just finished. Over the years I have perfected a way of looking busy e.g. carrying a pair of step ladders, which usually buys me enough time to plot my escape from anything which threatens to be really hard work. I offer classes in this form of disguise, but be warned, the rates are prohibitive!

Your kind comments about your stay are very much appreciated, and we hope to welcome you both again in the future.

Best regards,

Alistair ( McMenemie )
For the McMenemie Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Just home after a 2 day break. Nothing too much trouble for the management and staff of this hotel. By far the best service we have experienced.
Your comfort is their speciality in a relaxing environment. Thank you Alistair and staff. We will be back!

Room Tip: When booking the receptionist asks if there are special needs and accommodates you in the most suita...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPRForfar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PitlochryAlistair, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Dear JPRForfar,

Many thanks for your stay and terrific review, and apologies for the delay in replying - I am slowing down in my old age. I can offer no other excuse!

I hope Forfar and the Vale of Strathmore is enjoying the same weather as ourselves - it really has been a very gentle start to the year. Tonight on the other hand is a very stressful occasion as Diane is at work, and I have to get Megan to highland dancing, and make dinner for us, plus feed and walk the dogs - anybody out there available to help at very reasonable rates?

Many thanks again for your visit, and we look forward to welcoming you both again when the mood takes you.

Best regards,

Alistair ( McMenemie )
For the McMenemie Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

This was our second visit and we will return.
Its not only the food - fantastic dinners and the greatest breakfast selection ever. It isn't just the staff who are all unfailingly pleasant and friendly without being 'chummy'. It isn't even the tranquil location beside the loch with a gentle stroll into the town of Pitlochry.
Its all the little things - hospitality tray with a teapot[I hate teabag dipping],choice of blankets or duvet, numerous hangers - including satin covered padded ones for that special dress or top. The binoculars beside every window and the complimentary tea, coffee and cakes.
Through it all, Alistair is whizzing around ensuring everything is perfect. And it is.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PitlochryAlistair, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Dear Karen G,

Many thanks for your second stay with us at the Green Park, and for your very kind review. The fact that I got a mention has been shared with as many people I could reach within a 24 hour period!

Mum and Dad are heading your way today, as they are on a jaunt to Inverness by train. A nicer morning to go on you could hardly hope for, with the sun shinning brightly. They are like a couple of teenagers.

Many thanks again for the review, and we look forward to welcoming the two of you when you venture south again.

Best regards,

Alistair ( McMenemie )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Nice two day break. Arrived on Sunday night just in time for a complimentary glass of sherry. Had dinner that was quiet pleasant. The hotel and bedroom was very clean and very comfortable. We had a room with a balcony that looked to the front of the hotel and to the loch. A little noisy with the traffic from the A9. Staff was very friendly and the choice from the cold buffet at breakfast was fantastic.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank eastcoldale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PitlochryAlistair, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear eastcoldale,

Many thanks for posting your generous review, and for choosing to join us the Green Park for a two night stay.

Today has changed for the better, moving from blustery / dreich to blustery / sunny. The BBC has promised that a high pressure front is moving in, and at the hotel we always choose to believe "Auntie' when she forecasts nice weather. The winter so far has been an almost perfect one - with the ski resorts being knee deep in snow, while the rest of us have escaped the white stuff.

Thanks once again for the review, and we hope that you had a safe and pleasant journey home.

Best regards,

Alistair ( McMenemie )
For the McMenemie Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Stayed here 7 years ago to celebrate grandma's 70th birthday & was so good decided to return for Gramps 80th Birthday!!! Would definitely recommend as we had a wonderful weekend & can't praise the staff highly enough for being so welcoming & assuring every aspect of our stay was enjoyable. Everything about our stay was superb...such a relaxed, friendly atmosphere. Grandma & Gramps were appointed a room with a wonderful view overlooking the hotel grounds & the beautiful Loch Faskally & surrounding countryside. An added touch was the bottle of champagne, choccies & birthday card in Gramps room...much appreciated. Lunch, Evening Meal & Breakfast (the best breakfast buffet I've ever had) were all delicious!!! Also appreciated the complimentary coffee, sherry & glayva...all these special touches really make a huge difference & again were much appreciated. Every member of staff we met were extremely courteous, welcoming & appeared to be a happy "team". Grandma & Gramps already wanting us to book well in advice for future celebrations!!! Thank you all for a wonderful weekend!!!

Room Tip: Room 25 was great size for family members meeting up & had fabulous view overlooking hotel groun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Reid279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PitlochryAlistair, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear Reid279,

What a very kind review, and great to read that Gramps had a super 80th birthday.

While you complement the hotel and staff, it should be mentioned in dispatches that the group of you went out of your way to make sure that he had a memorable time. We can confirm that the putting competition played out on the lawn by you all, was definitely the first of the year!

Thank you again for the review, and we look forward to welcoming Grandma, Gramps, and the rest of you again.

Best regards,

Alistair ( McMenemie )
For the McMenemie Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
1.1 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,874 reviews
0.8 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
0.6 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
2,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#11 of 18 in Pitlochry
910 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
800 reviews
2.2 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#5 of 18 in Pitlochry
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Park Hotel

Address: Clunie Bridge Road, Pitlochry PH16 5JY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pitlochry
#2 Family Hotel in Pitlochry
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range: $93 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Green Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Park hotel is to be found on the western outskirts of Pitlochry, enjoying unrivaled views over Loch Faskally from its lochside position. Set in three acres, the Green Park is within strolling distance of the shops and a pleasant walk from the Pitlochry Festival Theater. The Green Park hotel is run by two generations of the McMenemie family, in a manner suitable to the character of the house and its setting. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Green Park Hotel
Green Park Pitlochry
The Green Park Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing