We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Green Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Just home after a 2 day break. Nothing too much trouble for the management and staff of this hotel. By far the best service we have experienced.
Your comfort is their speciality in a relaxing environment. Thank you Alistair and staff. We will be back!

Room Tip: When booking the receptionist asks if there are special needs and accommodates you in the most suita...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPRForfar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PitlochryAlistair, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Dear JPRForfar,

Many thanks for your stay and terrific review, and apologies for the delay in replying - I am slowing down in my old age. I can offer no other excuse!

I hope Forfar and the Vale of Strathmore is enjoying the same weather as ourselves - it really has been a very gentle start to the year. Tonight on the other hand is a very stressful occasion as Diane is at work, and I have to get Megan to highland dancing, and make dinner for us, plus feed and walk the dogs - anybody out there available to help at very reasonable rates?

Many thanks again for your visit, and we look forward to welcoming you both again when the mood takes you.

Best regards,

Alistair ( McMenemie )
For the McMenemie Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (527)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

284 - 290 of 527 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2014

This was our second visit and we will return.
Its not only the food - fantastic dinners and the greatest breakfast selection ever. It isn't just the staff who are all unfailingly pleasant and friendly without being 'chummy'. It isn't even the tranquil location beside the loch with a gentle stroll into the town of Pitlochry.
Its all the little things - hospitality tray with a teapot[I hate teabag dipping],choice of blankets or duvet, numerous hangers - including satin covered padded ones for that special dress or top. The binoculars beside every window and the complimentary tea, coffee and cakes.
Through it all, Alistair is whizzing around ensuring everything is perfect. And it is.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PitlochryAlistair, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Dear Karen G,

Many thanks for your second stay with us at the Green Park, and for your very kind review. The fact that I got a mention has been shared with as many people I could reach within a 24 hour period!

Mum and Dad are heading your way today, as they are on a jaunt to Inverness by train. A nicer morning to go on you could hardly hope for, with the sun shinning brightly. They are like a couple of teenagers.

Many thanks again for the review, and we look forward to welcoming the two of you when you venture south again.

Best regards,

Alistair ( McMenemie )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Nice two day break. Arrived on Sunday night just in time for a complimentary glass of sherry. Had dinner that was quiet pleasant. The hotel and bedroom was very clean and very comfortable. We had a room with a balcony that looked to the front of the hotel and to the loch. A little noisy with the traffic from the A9. Staff was very friendly and the choice from the cold buffet at breakfast was fantastic.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank eastcoldale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PitlochryAlistair, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear eastcoldale,

Many thanks for posting your generous review, and for choosing to join us the Green Park for a two night stay.

Today has changed for the better, moving from blustery / dreich to blustery / sunny. The BBC has promised that a high pressure front is moving in, and at the hotel we always choose to believe "Auntie' when she forecasts nice weather. The winter so far has been an almost perfect one - with the ski resorts being knee deep in snow, while the rest of us have escaped the white stuff.

Thanks once again for the review, and we hope that you had a safe and pleasant journey home.

Best regards,

Alistair ( McMenemie )
For the McMenemie Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Stayed here 7 years ago to celebrate grandma's 70th birthday & was so good decided to return for Gramps 80th Birthday!!! Would definitely recommend as we had a wonderful weekend & can't praise the staff highly enough for being so welcoming & assuring every aspect of our stay was enjoyable. Everything about our stay was superb...such a relaxed, friendly atmosphere. Grandma & Gramps were appointed a room with a wonderful view overlooking the hotel grounds & the beautiful Loch Faskally & surrounding countryside. An added touch was the bottle of champagne, choccies & birthday card in Gramps room...much appreciated. Lunch, Evening Meal & Breakfast (the best breakfast buffet I've ever had) were all delicious!!! Also appreciated the complimentary coffee, sherry & glayva...all these special touches really make a huge difference & again were much appreciated. Every member of staff we met were extremely courteous, welcoming & appeared to be a happy "team". Grandma & Gramps already wanting us to book well in advice for future celebrations!!! Thank you all for a wonderful weekend!!!

Room Tip: Room 25 was great size for family members meeting up & had fabulous view overlooking hotel groun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Reid279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PitlochryAlistair, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear Reid279,

What a very kind review, and great to read that Gramps had a super 80th birthday.

While you complement the hotel and staff, it should be mentioned in dispatches that the group of you went out of your way to make sure that he had a memorable time. We can confirm that the putting competition played out on the lawn by you all, was definitely the first of the year!

Thank you again for the review, and we look forward to welcoming Grandma, Gramps, and the rest of you again.

Best regards,

Alistair ( McMenemie )
For the McMenemie Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We stayed along with two friends recently on my wife's birthday. From the moment we arrived it was clear that we had made a good choice. Our room was one of those looking out on the loch, very comfortable,spacious and very well appointed A surprise was a bottle of bubbly awaiting us to celebrate my wife's birthday. The staff were young , courteous, efficient and very friendly. Food was well presented, with a good choice and delicious. The high standard of food continued with an excellent breakfast the following morning. My only regret about staying at the Greenpark is that we had only booked for one night. .

Room Tip: End rooms on first floor have a good outlook over Loch Fallasky
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PitlochryAlistair, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear William M,

Many thanks for the very generous review, and delighted to read that your wife enjoyed her birthday stay with us. We are honoured to be the first review that you have posted.

The hotel continues on its way as normal, with all of the women that we employ telling me how I could do a better job / could make them more coffee / could be more understanding etc. It seems that today is International Womans Day, and I have let it slip my mind. I must make a note in my diary for next year, so that I don't forget again!

Thanks again for the review, and we look forward to welcoming the two of you again.

Best regards,

Alistair ( McMenemie )
For the McMenemie Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

This hotel is a credit to the people who run it, and to Scotland. The attention to detail is second to none. The smartly uniformed staff are always pleasant and helpful, the decor of public areas and bedrooms is fresh and clean, the whole place looks as though it had just been done up last week! Our room had 2 comfy seats, as well as the other furniture. The bathroom was spotless. We had a balcony, (room 21) which must be wonderful in the better weather. The view over Loch Faskally and surrounding trees and snow capped hilltops was stunning. Breakfast and dinner were always delicious, with good choices. On my last night I had the best sirlion steak ( small extra cost) I have eaten, just fantastic. The best things for me were the complimentary all day availability of tea/coffee/cakes/biscuits laid out in one of the lounges. A big jug of cream was there too for that indulgent coffee. Then, from 6, you were served a complimentary soft drink/ sherry in the lounge while you looked over the menu for dinner. Service was slick and smooth with 4 courses of tasty food, then back to the lounge for after dinner coffee. The final delight was on reaching the train station on the way home, when we asked the taxi driver how much we owed him, he replied " No need, the hotel has paid" ! We shall be back.

Room Tip: Overlooking the loch is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 312wync
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PitlochryAlistair, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear marycampbell,

Delighted to read that your stay at the Green Park was a success, and many thanks for the positive review.

Today is a bit on the blustery side, though the BBC has assured us that a warm front is on its way, and should be with us for most of the week. I was going to substitute 'summer' as the last word of the previous sentence, but that would probably be tempting fate a bit too much.

We look forward to welcoming you both again, perhaps to enjoy the summer sun on your balcony!

Best regards,

Alistair ( McMenemie )
For the McMenemie Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Despite staying at the Green Park in August we just had to return to see the shows we had missed at the Festival Theatre. Obviously we would not stay anywhere else and stay two this year was every bit as good as stay one. We were also remembered by many of the staff. Is this a good thing or are WE really that bad? We must consider this question before our stay next June (already booked).

We cannot speak highly enough of the way in which the whole hotel is run. If you have read of an older generation who also stay at the hotel remember that experience counts for a great deal in life. If you do stay at the hotel take time to have a chat with some of the other guests. It may be that they come from where you do, or did, and some drive vast distances just to stay at the Green Park.

One thing visitors can be sure of is a warm welcome and nothing seems to be too much trouble for the staff who are very caring and considerate.

Well done!


Graham and Elaine.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PitlochryAlistair, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Dear Graham and Elaine,

Many thanks for your continued support of the Green Park, and for posting a second generous review - a gold medal is on it's way to Blairgowrie for the two of you for going well beyond the call of duty.

Are we going to avoid any snow this winter ? wouldn't that be just the thing. I am at a difficult age ( and have been for some time according to Diane ), and I shouldn't really be involved in moving the white stuff. I am hoping that it falls in a more deserving area, the winter Olympics springs to mind as a better home.

Either way I hope that Pitlochry and Blairgowrie remain as snow free areas!

Best regards,

Alistair ( McMenemie )
For the McMenemie Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.6 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
2,089 reviews
0.8 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
1.1 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
921 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
808 reviews
2.2 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#5 of 18 in Pitlochry
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Park Hotel

Address: Clunie Bridge Road, Pitlochry PH16 5JY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pitlochry
#2 Family Hotel in Pitlochry
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range: $92 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Green Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Park hotel is to be found on the western outskirts of Pitlochry, enjoying unrivaled views over Loch Faskally from its lochside position. Set in three acres, the Green Park is within strolling distance of the shops and a pleasant walk from the Pitlochry Festival Theater. The Green Park hotel is run by two generations of the McMenemie family, in a manner suitable to the character of the house and its setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The Green Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Park Hotel
Green Park Pitlochry
The Green Park Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing