We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Hotel”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pitlochry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Green Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous Hotel”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Everything about a stay at Green Park is first class. The relaxed and happy staff make everyone feel so welcome. Nothing is too much trouble. One of the lovely things about staying at The Green Park is being surrounded by other guests who feel as happy with the hotel as we do. The location is outstanding and the views are breathtaking. We have been going to Pitlochry for theatre mini breaks for many years, so we had tried almost every hotel in the town; but from the first moment we went to the Green Park we fell in love with it. Now we would never go anywhere else; because you can't beat perfection!
Our mini breaks get longer, more frequent and are a much anticipated part of our year.

Room Tip: Nearly all rooms have a view of the loch; but even if you can't get a room with a view of the lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PitlochryAlistair, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Julie C and Hasan,

Delighted to read that the two of you enjoyed your most recent stay with us, and we are very appreciative of your continued support. I can also report that the mystery of the bath panel has been solved - thank you again for your patience!

'Hello Dolly' and 'Present Laughter' are the two most popular theatre show so far this year, with "Lady Windermere's Fan' due to begin on Thursday the 18th of next month. Like the two of you, we hope to get to see all of the plays this season.

Thanks again for the lovely review, and we look forward to welcoming the two of you Hasan again.

Best regards,

Alistair ( McMenemie )
For the McMenemie Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    43
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
90
299
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We spent two nights here to celebrate my husband's birthday in June, and had a great time. From our first online equiry,which was answered with a phone call, to let us know what accommodation was available,we found the service the highest standard. That continued from our arrival to departure,super views from our room,very friendly staff, and wonderful food.Even the weather was hot and sunny! We'll be back.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the loch is superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorothy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PitlochryAlistair, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Dorothy F,

Many thanks for taking the time to post such a nice review - especially as it's your first ever review.

The good weather continues to bless us at the Green Park, and anyone suggesting that it is too hot for them will be automatically black-balled from Pitlochry!

We are delighted that your husband had a nice birthday, and we look forward to welcoming the two of you again.

Best regards,

Alistair ( McMenemie )
For the McMenemie Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We had been invited by family to celebrate a very special birthday. The hotel more than lived up to everything we had heard. Even before we arrived, we were very impressed by the service and efficiency by way of communications with The Green Park Hotel to plan for the birthday celebrations. Everything was as it should be. We were impressed that we could get a good view of rooms online and see the day's menu.

On arrival, we found the hotel easily from the description given. There are two car parks, both with a good choice of spaces. All the grounds are beautifully kept. Even the base of a tree that had to be felled has been made into a sculpture in the form of two otters chasing salmon. The lawn in front of the sun lounge has been made into a 9 hole pitch and put course. The Green Park also runs breaks to suit those interested in bridge, scrabble, photography and art. For us, it was a very luxurious base for a two night stay.

Decor is to a high standard and the hotel is very clean and well serviced. Guests are made to feel at home in easy chairs and sofas in the public areas in surroundings of a large manor house. Numerous pictures depict local and Scottish scenes. There are several books, games and jigsaws for guests to use.

The international staff are friendly, courteous and helpful. The atmosphere encouraged by its witty owner is very easy and welcoming. There is a good measure of generosity towards guests. For example, pre-dinner drinks are served by staff. If staff are otherwise engaged, guests are invited to serve themselves with no questions asked. Tea and coffee is available throughout the day with cakes at tea time and shortbread after dinner.

The bedrooms are very comfortable and spacious with quality contemporary fittings, firm, but comfy bed, coffee, tea, biscuits, mineral water, TV, access to wifi - I found the wifi reception where we were a little hit or miss but generally good. Our room had a lovely view over Loch Faskally. The only minor negative point was that it was very warm on our first night so we had both windows open and there was some noise from traffic on the bridge over the loch early in the morning.

The bathrooms were clean, functional and extremely well serviced with Argyll liquid soap, bath/shower gel, shampoo, hand/body lotion.... everything you could wish for. Watch out for very hot water from tap on sink though!

The evening menu, changed daily, consists of 4 courses, all freshly prepared and locally sourced where possible. They were all perfectly cooked, nicely presented, delicious and of good-sized portions. The dishes we enjoyed included goats cheese brulee, seafood salad, sorbets, trio of seafish with samphire, braised beef with caramelised onion. A good selection of fresh vegetables was provided to accompany mains. Desserts included rhubarb and almond tart, lemon mousse and an extensive cheese and biscuit selection.

Breakfast - a joyful free for all selection of fruits, cereals, yoghurt, several types of bread including what looked like home made croissants, jams, honey comb and a daily selection of main breakfast dishes. As well as the usual full monty with Stornoway Black Pudding and potato scones (have what elements you like), other dishes included smoked salmon and scrambled egg. This is certainly recommended.

Overall, we would need to save a lot to stay at the hotel ourselves but when you get there, it is a great luxurious place to stay, to get away from it all in some of the best surroundings in Scotland. You are near to many great attractions and scenic walks. Enjoy. Chill out. A come again visit for sure.

Room Tip: Good courteous communication with the hotel staff at all times will go a long way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RangerRo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PitlochryAlistair, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear RangerRo,

A very big thank you from us all for going to such lengths with your review! We are delighted that your two night stay went well, and for your very candid and kind comments.

You are absolutely right about the free wi-fi coverage throughout the hotel. What was top notch technology three years ago is now struggling to keep up with the demand, and we are in the process of spending £7,000.00 on upgrading our system. All should be in place by ( hopefully ) by the end of July.

Our thanks to your family for choosing the Green Park as a present, and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Best regards,

Alistair ( McMenemie )
For the McMenemie Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

What an excellent location to call in for dinner. Silver service restaurant dining. Sherry upon arrival or fruit juice. Daily choice of local fresh produce reflected on the menu. Crisp white linen on the table, and service which was second to none. Definitely well worth a recommendation and as regular visitors, no doubt we will return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Forcheli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PitlochryAlistair, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Forcheli,

Thank you for popping into the Green Park for dinner, and delighted to read that you enjoyed the evening. Your comments are much appreciated.

Here at the hotel, we have just heard the good news that Saturdays Pitlochry In Bloom Coffee Morning that we hosted raised just under £2,000.00. This entirely voluntary body do a tremendous amount of work around the town, and often their work goes unsung. Look out for the recently repainted foot bridge and Victorian water fountain at the railway station. We are glad to have done our little bit to help them along.

Best regards,

Alistair ( McMenemie )
For the McMenemie Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I traveled with a small group of walkers and was delighted with everything about The Green Park Hotel. Every staff person was helpful, from our welcome from the owner/managers, to reception, to the very friendly restaurant staff. This is a place full of guests who come back year after year, and for good reason. The welcoming sun room with your tea, coffee, or sherry with the peaceful view of the river and bridge can't be beat to relax every bone in your body, even on a cold rainy day. The four-course evening meals in the dining room were delicious, with wonderful choices each day.

We really appreciated the personalized attention our group received with morning weather reports and choices for our box lunches.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelsFromUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PitlochryAlistair, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear TravelsFromUs,

Many thanks for your stay with us at the Green Park, and we hope that you all had a nice lunch at Scone Palace on your way to Glasgow. The weather certainly came good for your group, and even the girl with the broken ankle was able to enjoy a bit of sun.

We hope that you all had a safe trip back to the States, and don't be afraid to spread the word about the scenery in Scotland.

Best regards,

Alistair ( McMenemie )
For the McMenemie Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Level Contributor
66 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This is the most professionally run hotel we have ever stayed in. We took my mother-in-law and her sister there last weekend for dinner, bed and breakfast as a 90th birthday treat and they absolutely loved it. The champagne and chocolates in my mother-in-law's room were much appreciated and unexpected. The lady at reception was very welcoming and humorous and set the tone for our entire visit. We were delighted with our comfortable rooms overlooking Loch Faskally. Staff were without exception pleasant and efficient and dinner and breakfast were excellent. It was very obvious that the staff had all received proper training. Water jugs on the tables without having to ask, binoculars for bird-watching, generous afternoon tea, complimentary sherry or fruit juice before dinner, jigsaws and games, wifi, attention to detail, modern, tasteful decor throughout, idyllic location on outskirts of Pitlochry etc etc in other words all we could have wished for!

Room Tip: Tower block on 1st floor overlooking loch
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayHarriet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PitlochryAlistair, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear HolidayHarriet,

Many thanks for the review, and delighted to read that the birthday party was a success. You were spared my rendition of happy birthday, but I am sure that the staff on duty did a fine singing job. In the past I have been offered money to stop singing.

We look forward to the 91st celebrations!

Best regards,

Alistair ( McMenemie )
For the McMenemie Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
142 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Arrived here as a chance booking after 21.00 on a Monday evening.
Even although the kitchen had closed they managed to serve up a very acceptable roast beef salad. Views from the restaurant are impressive as was the service.
The room was comfortable and quiet with very generous quantities of amenities.
Had to leave early the next day before breakfast but again exceptional service came to the fore and they rustled up a couple of excellent bacon rolls for me to take with me. I was sorry to miss breakfast as seldom have I seen such a choice in a breakfast buffet. It looked amazing.
What makes this hotel stand out is the service. You are made feel like a welcome guest from arrival to departure and fot this reason I highly recommend the Green Park

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellerecosse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PitlochryAlistair, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear travellerecosse,

Many thanks for taking a chance on us, and delighted to read that you lived to tell the tale! We hope that the bacon rolls were enough to keep you going till your next stop, and thanks for the very kind comments about the service you received during your short time with us.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,

Alistair
For the McMenemie Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.8 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
0.6 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,823 reviews
1.1 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
2.2 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Park Hotel

Property: The Green Park Hotel
Address: Clunie Bridge Road, Pitlochry PH16 5JY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pitlochry
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
#2 Family Hotel in Pitlochry
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Green Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Park hotel is to be found on the western outskirts of Pitlochry, enjoying unrivaled views over Loch Faskally from its lochside position. Set in three acres, the Green Park is within strolling distance of the shops and a pleasant walk from the Pitlochry Festival Theater. The Green Park hotel is run by two generations of the McMenemie family, in a manner suitable to the character of the house and its setting. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Green Park Hotel
Green Park Pitlochry
The Green Park Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing