We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Green Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a long weekend with my elderly parents. Impossible to find fault with any aspect if our stay. Exceptionally friendly and amazingly good service. Breakfast menu extremely good and nice dinner menus. Lovely place to stay and no surprise that most people seem to come back!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stewart162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PitlochryAlistair, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear stewart162,

Glad to read that you and your parents were able to join us here, at Pitlochry and the Green Park Hotel.

Did you all manage to catch the last few performances of Arsenic and Old Lace? We managed to squeeze in for the last Saturday performance, and all three generations of my family enjoyed the show - though Megan was initially bribed with two tubs of Orkney's finest vanilla.

Tickets seem to be selling well for "White Christmas", so I might need to up the anti to three tubs for the next family outing.

Thanks for posting such a nice review and we look forward to welcoming you all again to the Green Park.

Best regards,

Alistair ( McMenemie )
For the McMenemie Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (531)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

387 - 393 of 531 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

Arrived home today after spending a fantastic two night break here. We were a party of 5 who had 3 rooms booked.
Rooms
All rooms allocated to us were well appointed. The rooms were beautifully furnished and had everything that you could want or need. A Tea and Coffee Tray was provided in each room along with Strathmore Mineral Water. The Bathroom had a selection of complimentary toiletries available for use.
Public Areas/Restaurant
The public areas were always warm and comfortable. Tea/Coffee and biscuits were provided free of charge each morning after breakfast. Lunch was available at an extra charge. Afternoon tea/cakes were provided free of charge each afternoon. Prior to dinner you were offered either a sherry or soft drink again free of charge. Dinner had a lovely choice each evening.
Management/Staff
The management and staff were pleasant and couldn't do enough to help you.

All in all a very well run hotel and we wouldn't hesitate to return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Loch Fascally.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tenerifegirlatheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PitlochryAlistair, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear Tenerifegirlatheart,

Many thanks for your recent stay with us at the Green Park, and glad to read that all five of you had an enjoyable two night break. Your kind comments are much appreciated, and give a real boost to us all.

Here at Pitlochry the Festival Theatre have just finished their very popular run of "Arsenic and Old Lace", and they are now gearing up for their first go at "White Christmas". Our mole across the water at the theatre tells us that ticket sales are very encouraging, and that such a winter performance could become a regular feature if 2012 is successful. Fingers crossed.

Thank you once again for the review, and best best regards to you.

Alistair ( McMenemie )
For the McMenemie Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

I've stayed in Pitlochry several times and was beginning to see a pattern in the local hotels - a combination of "nice...but" and "must have been stunning in their day". Green Park has blown away that pattern. Clean, comfortable, homely and nothing too much problem. And the things you don't get in most hotels - free coffee and cakes running most of the day, a free sherry before dinner, personal attention from the owners in a very personable and unobtrusive manner. And add to that one of the most spectacular views in Scotland - Loch Faskally, the heavily wooded hillside and the road bridges framing a view no photograph could every do justice to - and we saw it in its stunning autumnal glory which even New England in the Fall couldn't match.

Room Tip: Ask for a loch view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drixford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PitlochryAlistair, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear Drixford,

Thank you for the very generous review, and glad to read that you are a regular visitor to the Pitlochry area.

As you say in your review, it is not being silly to mention Highland Perthshire and New England in the same breathe, when it comes to putting on a display of autumn colours. The fall colours seem, if anything, to start later and last longer each following year. Dan our dog certainly appreciates the opportunity to chase falling leaves, as well as bring them into the house.

Thanks again for the review, and we hope to welcome the two of you again to the Green Park.

Best regards,

Alistair ( McMenemie )
For the McMenemie Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We have thoroughly enjoyed another short break at this wonderful hotel. Everything about the hotel and grounds is faultless. Immaculately clean throughout, comfortable spacious bedrooms, with all the little touches that are so welcome. A magnifying mirror on the dressing table, a shoe horn, a trouser press, lovely toiletries, to name a few. The meals are excellent and always beautifully presented and served by attentive and friendly staff. Combine all of this with a stunning location overlooking Loch Faskally and you will find this to be a very special hotel indeed. We cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MACFifeScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PitlochryAlistair, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear MACFifeScotland,

That you have gone to the trouble of writing a second review, is surely above and beyond the call of duty!

We are delighted that you continue to holiday with us at the Green Park, and we hope that you were able to take advantage of the surprisingly good spell of weather this October and November. As I write, the hill and loch sides are still putting on a very respectable show of Autumn colours. No big winds have been through, so many trees are hanging onto the leaves, while those leaves that have fallen make for a lovely carpet bed as you walk.

Thank you once again for your support, and we look forward to welcoming the two of you again.

Best regards,

Alistair ( McMenemie )
For the McMenemie Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We took my parents here for a dual birthday present. As soon as we arrived th eattention to detail was noticeable and a bottle of sparkling wine - in their bedroom with a personalised card set an excellent standard from the word go.
Food was great - the menu changes every night and is unstinting in it's quality - catering for the individual at all times too.
Breakfasts were fab - honey on the comb! with excellent cooked breakfast and a wide variety of breads / gluten free if needed with fruits of all sorts.
Coffee was served in the afternoon till 5 - and the pre-dinner sherry or fruit juice was another good touch that went the extra mile.
Lovely walks locally around the loch too - and proved to be the ideal location for the break - especially when complemented with the trip to the Pitlochry theatre.
Can't fault the hotel -if only all were like this!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crustythefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PitlochryAlistair, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear crustythefish,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your lovely review, and glad to read that your parents birthday break was a success.

Whenever we get wind of the fact that it is someones birthday or anniversary, we are always sure to put something into their bedroom to mark the occasion - so don't be afraid to drop some very large hints in advance. The larger the hints the better!

Thanks once again for the review and for choosing the Green Park.

Best regards,

Alistair ( McMenemie )
For the McMenemie Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We were travelling around Scotland for several weeks and booked for three nights at the Green Park Hotel Pitlochry, based on Trip Advisor reviews and photos and video clips on the hotel’s web site. Although we expected a high standard the reality definitely exceeded our expectations.

The view from our room of manicured lawns and gardens leading down to the shores of peaceful Loch Faskally and then to the tree cover hills beyond was absolutely stunning. After Edinburgh during festival time, the tranquillity of Green Park and surrounding area certainly rejuvenated us for the remainder of our trip.

Dinner, included in our tariff, was excellent and the menu changed every day. Staff were very attentive and although you couldn’t book a particular table, we managed to have the same table, overlooking the garden, each night. Breakfast was also excellent and cooked to order. The complimentary morning coffee and delicious cakes and biscuits for afternoon tea in the lounge, which overlooked the gardens and loch, added to the general ambience.

Unlike many other hotels, the atmosphere at Green Park generated a special friendliness among guests and after only one night we felt that we had made many new acquaintances.

The rooms and hotel were spotless and any requests carried out instantly by friendly and smiling staff.

Although on the outskirts of Pitlochry, it is only a short and very pleasant walk to the High Street and the Heathergems factory is certainly worth a visit.

We were not travelling by car and the complimentary pick up and drop off at Fishers Hotel and organising the local bus to Blair Atholl and House of Bruar to stop just outside the hotel are other touches that make this hotel a very special place.

Room Tip: Paying the rate that includes dinner is definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoveTravel063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PitlochryAlistair, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

LoveTravel063

Many thanks for choosing to join us for three nights, and for your very generous review. We hope that you had a safe and enjoyable journey home.

Here in Pitlochry the Autumn colours are really giving us a fabulous show. I was chatting to Willie Witton this morning - Willie was born and bred in the town - and he says that he has never seen the trees and hillsides looking better. Willie is a stalwart of "Pitlochry In Bloom" so he should know what he is talking about. That said Willie also thinks that Saint Johnstone could win the premier league, so his judgement could be called into question.

Thank you once again for such a fabulous review.

Best regards,

Alistair ( McMenemie )
For the McMenemie Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We spent a weekend in the hotel in October for the fifth successive year on a dinner bed and breakfast basis. The hotel is immaculate and all rooms of a very high decorative standard. The view over Loch Faskally isbreathtaking. The staff are friendly and the food plentiful. Morning coffee, afternoon tea, pre dinner sherry are all included. The "home baking" is to die for and the menu at dinner varied. Breakfast is a feast in itself and the porridge and kippers well worth a try on one day at least!

I cannot reccommnd the hotel enough

Room Tip: Ask for aroom overlooking the loch
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mallard58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PitlochryAlistair, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Dear Mallard58,

Delighted to read that the two of you enjoyed your most recent visit to the Green Park, and thank you from us all for your continued support and kind review.

Here the trees are really starting to turn, and the "Enchanted Forest" event is in full flow out at Faskally Woods. This community run event goes from strength to strength each year, and this years number of guests should top thirty thousand for the first time. This really is a truelly remarkable achievement for such a small town, and everyone connected with the event can be very proud of a job well done.

Thank you once again for writing, and we look forward to welcoming the two of you again.

Best regards,

Alistair ( McMenemie )
For the McMenemie Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.6 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
2,119 reviews
0.8 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
1.1 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
925 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
813 reviews
2.2 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#5 of 18 in Pitlochry
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Park Hotel

Address: Clunie Bridge Road, Pitlochry PH16 5JY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pitlochry
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range: $93 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Green Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Park hotel is to be found on the western outskirts of Pitlochry, enjoying unrivaled views over Loch Faskally from its lochside position. Set in three acres, the Green Park is within strolling distance of the shops and a pleasant walk from the Pitlochry Festival Theater. The Green Park hotel is run by two generations of the McMenemie family, in a manner suitable to the character of the house and its setting. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Green Park Hotel
Green Park Pitlochry
The Green Park Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing