We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the wait- we wil be back!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pitlochry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Green Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Having previously stayed in another hotel in Pitlochry which was not worth commenting on, we managed to book a room (for one night only unfortunately) at last after hearing so many good reports about it. We were not disappointed. From the moment we arrived the staff could'nt do enough for us. Our room overlooked Loch Fascally and was very spacious and comfortable. Our dinner was very enjoyable and we were tickled pink at the complimentary sherry offered to all guests beforehand - a lovely gesture. The choice at the breakfast table was extraordinary catering for any and all health conditions you could think of. We hope to return soon and for longer than one night!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carojohn139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PitlochryAlistair, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Dear carojohn139,

Thank you very much for such a generous review, and for your several attempts to stay with us at the Green Park. Please, please, please do not give up trying! While we are extremely fortunate in the number of guests who return on a regular basis, we are always looking for the opportunity to get to work on other potential recruits.

Changing the subject completely, I must tell you about the fabulous day that was yesterday. A good friend - Brian - has arrived at an important birthday, and being a keen hill walker, invited a group of us to share the day with him by climbing Ben Y Vrackie. Speaking as someone who rarely ventures far from his car and the Co-Op car park, the view from the top was astonishing. Ben Nevis was clearly visible in the distance, and there was hardly a breath of wind on top of the Ben. Dan, our dog, came with us and I can vouch for the fact that he was the happiest animal alive that day.

Sorry to digress, but it really was that nice. Thank you once again for taking the time and trouble to post a review, and we hope to welcome you back to the Green Park again.

Best regards,

Alistair McMenemie
For the McMenemie Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (517)
There are newer reviews for The Green Park Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

384 - 390 of 517 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2012

I took my Mum to the Green Park for two nights as a birthday surprise. As well as getting all the basics absolutely right there was so much attention to detail and some additional nice touches such as the complimentary afternoon tea/coffee and baking and pre-dinner sherry. Our ground floor 'Garden' room had a lovely view not only of the garden but of Loch Faskally beyond. The food, both dinner and breakfast, were delightful and could rival many reputable restaurants I have visited. The wine list was very reasonable. I would say the hotel seems to attract a clientele of 60+ and there were no children there during our stay. Definitely not a place for a girlie/lads weekend away as this would spoil the quiet, peaceful, friendly ambiance. All the staff I encountered were extremely friendly and courteous and all worked very hard. A bottle of fizz, chocolates and a personalised birthday card was left for my Mum, which was a lovely touch. Actually there was nothing I could fault. Well done the Green Park!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janemuir51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PitlochryAlistair, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Dear Janemuir51,

Many thanks for choosing the Green Park as a birthday destination for you and your mum - and delighted to read that the two night break was a success.

Birthdays in our household can be something of a trial in that my two children always buy me ties, and my daughter Megan in particular insists that I wear her choice of colour. Last years tie was a yellow creation, that really should have come with a pair of sunglasses to shield the viewer from the glare.
However I am partly to blame in that I never volunteer an answer to their question as to what I want for my birthday. Next year I am asking for a sports car, which should stretch their budget a bit, as Megan is eleven and Liam is sixteen.

You and your mother were a pleasure to serve, thank you for your very generous comments. And if either of you should ever need a tie for whatever reason, ask for Alistair and I am sure that a suitable one can be found.

Best regards,

Alistair ( McMenemie )
For the McMenemie Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I have stayed annually at this hotel for over thirty years, and never been disappointed despite a change of family ownership and hands-on management some sixteen years ago - if anything an improvement. The grounds on the shore of Loch Faskally are delightful, with interesting statuary besides the floral component; the building has been progressively and tastefully extended from the original handsome house. The welcome is always as to an old friend; the room allocated is generally one of those I have previously occupied, clean, comfortable and well-appointed; food always excellent, if a little elaborate for my taste; service friendly, efficient and cheerful - the evident happiness of the staff in their work is a commendation in itself. So is the common practice of guests to book their next visit on or before departing.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PitlochryAlistair, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Dear Peter W,

Many thanks for taking the time and trouble to write, and for your continued patronage over the years. To see such well kent faces returning to the Green Park on a regular basis, is a great fillip and confidence boost to us all.

We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel for many more years to come, and thank you for taking the time to chat with Mum and Dad during your most recent stay.

Best regards,

Alistair ( McMenemie )
For the McMenemie Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We visit once or more each year - mostly in August for Blair Castle Horse Trials. It is always a pleasure to return, in the evening - - nice room -- superb food (from very talented allergy-knowledgeable chefs). Pre-dinner Sherry selection inclusive, - a nice touch, & the excellent wine list is particularly-good value.

The grounds are immaculate, & the buildings beautifully maintained.

Pan-European staff - superbly trained.

Room Tip: Rooms in the later Wing, upstairs, are nicely spacious, with lovely views over Loch Faskally.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LGraingerScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PitlochryAlistair, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Dear LGraingerScotland,

Delighted that the two of you were able to make it to the Horse Trials again, and many thanks for the very generous revue of the Green Park.

The Horse Trials are a tremendous achievement for everyone connected with Blair Castle. From a small beginning it has grown to become an internationally recognised event. 2015 promises to be quite a feather in their cap, when they host the European Tour Event that they have been after.

More power to their elbow!

Best regards,

Alistair ( McMenemie )
For the McMenemie Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

stayed here after a chance recommendation by a virtual stranger on a cruise. A delightful spot. The gardens are fabulous, the views stunning, the food delicious and the service impeccable. Everyone so friendly. I have NEVER seen a breakfast buffet to rival it. Lovely touches like complementary afternoon tea and pre dinner sherry. Had a gorgeous afternoon in the sunshine sipping chilled Cava on a rocking bench. Well done Alistair and team - you run a great place.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vitabelle50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PitlochryAlistair, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Dear vitabelle50,

Full marks to the two of you for choosing to stay on such a pleasant day! There were more than a few envious glances cast in your direction, as you polished off the Cava in the sunshine.

We hope that the weather for the rest of your holiday was up to scratch, and thank you for posting such a kind revue.

Best regards,

Alistair ( McMenemie )
For the McMenemie Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Booked this hotel for after trying our hand at the quad bikes just outside Dunkeld. Would sum it up by saying we have no idea how you could improve this hotel. Welcome, room, food, views and grounds all fantastic. Spoke to the charming Mr John McMenemie before dinner.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank JiminNice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PitlochryAlistair, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Dear JiminNice,

Delighted to read about your last minute decision to join us at the Green Park .

While we cannot compete with the quad bikes down at Dunkeld, we do have two mobility scooters turned out in Green Park racing colours. That said, we don't encourage our guests to drive them at speeds that would bring them to the attention of the local constabulary - and certainly not to go off-road!

I have shown my dad ( John ) your reference to him in your e-mail letter. That you considered him charming has been very well received, and there is talk of extra sherry to be served on your next visit to the Green Park.

Best regards,

Alistair ( McMenemie )
For the McMenemie Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed here on the recommendation of both a family member and our next door neighbour and were certainly not disappointed. Our room, although not large, was beautifully appointed with two of the most comfortable chairs I have ever sat on. The staff were exceptionally pleasant and helpful - a real credit to the hotel management. Dinner was delicious with an excellent choice and a very reasonably priced wine list. Oh and the pre prandial sherry was pretty good too! Unfortunately we could only stay for one night but we will definitely return for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pip-emma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PitlochryAlistair, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Dear Pip-emma,

Many thanks for your very generous revue - and delighted to read that you won't be falling out with your family and neighbour! It was very kind of them to recommend the Green Park to you, and we very much appreciate their gesture. While modern forms of marketing are growing in importance, you still cannot beat old fashioned work of mouth.

As to the hotel's chairs, my dad John has a strict policy that a bedroom chair is no good unless you are able to fall asleep in it. Dedicated professional that he is, he has tested each chair in person.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,

Alistair ( McMenemie )
For the McMenemie Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.8 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
1.1 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,837 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
896 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
788 reviews
2.2 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#5 of 18 in Pitlochry
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Park Hotel

Address: Clunie Bridge Road, Pitlochry PH16 5JY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pitlochry
#2 Family Hotel in Pitlochry
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pitlochry
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range: $95 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Green Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Park hotel is to be found on the western outskirts of Pitlochry, enjoying unrivaled views over Loch Faskally from its lochside position. Set in three acres, the Green Park is within strolling distance of the shops and a pleasant walk from the Pitlochry Festival Theater. The Green Park hotel is run by two generations of the McMenemie family, in a manner suitable to the character of the house and its setting. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Green Park Hotel
Green Park Pitlochry
The Green Park Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing