We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good all round”
Review of Rosemount Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rosemount Hotel
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Just home from a two night break at rosemount.we got a very warm welcome on arrival lovely staff.very nice bathroom nice towels and bedding.graet hair drier!! Very dog friendly as our Bessie boo found out !! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the rosemount and Pitlochry and would definitely return.thanks to you all for making our stay so pleasant.oh and it was very peaceful around the hotel and nice walk into town :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosemountHotel, Owner at Rosemount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

It's gratifying that you took trouble to post this nice review. Yes, we love dogs and so do our guests. There's nothing quite like a cheeky, friendly dog to warm the atmosphere and get people talking to each other. Hasn't just about EVERYONE got a funny, heart-warming dog-story to tell? The world would be a colder place without them. It would be great to see you again. Come soon and please check out our free-upgrade policy for returning guests. If one is available at the time of re-booking, it would be our pleasure to arrange it for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (472)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

321 - 327 of 472 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2013

Very nice friendly staff (but not enough) had to wait 10 mins at reception upon check in , food was very good nice range at breakfast and plenty of it friendly service , room (15) was very spacious nice and clean bathroom was also clean and spacious. The carpet leading to room in corridor could do with being renewed bit grubby and old but this never destroyed our stay had a lovely time will recomend to family/ friends and will return sometime again thank you Rosemount

Room Tip: Room 15 ample room very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kompresso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosemountHotel, Owner at Rosemount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

We're delighted you enjoyed your stay and are very sorry you had to wait at Reception. It is permanently manned after 3pm check-in, but earlier arrivals sometimes experience a wait if our busy staff are out of ear-shot of the Reception Bell or there can be delays if the Receptionist is caught up with other guests' needs. The corridor carpet in the area described is getting old, but the realities of the current economy mean it has to wait its turn for replacement. All carpets are regularly shampooed, so therefore clean. We hope guests appreciate the keen pricing policy we operate and are impressed by the amount of refurbishment already completed in view of this. We're busy turning those economic lemons into lemonade as fast as we can!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed in a standard room which was tastefully decorated and spotless, The view out the window of the hills was lovely. Breakfast was good with a wide choice to suit every taste. The only small gripe was that there was no-one at reception and I had to ring the bell several times for attention same problem at the bar but no bell there. This didn't impact our stay. The staff were friendly and attentive without being over bearing.

Room Tip: Room 21 and it's bathroom is a bit small if you are above average build. spotlessly clean and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosemountHotel, Manager at Rosemount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Hello and many thanks for your review. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and apologise for the slow service at the bar. We try to maintain awareness of guests' presence at all times. Reception is manned for this purpose, but because we are a small operation, at exceptionally busy times the kitchen can demand extra hands in order to get meals out piping hot and in tip-top order. Also, the Receptionist has to show check-in guests to their rooms and attend to any un-noticed issues in rooms. We have a bell at Reception, directly adjacent to the bar, but you needn't have noticed that. I regret that you were inconvenienced because of this and thank you for pointing the situation out. We will arrange a bell at the bar also. Please come again and do check for a free upgrade. We always offer one to returning guests, if at all possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

The previous evening had been a disaster (See Review of 'Allt-nan-Ros') so we were delighted to receive a warm and efficient welcome, be shown to bright and clean rooms, and be served a tasty and reasonable dinner. Breakfast was a bonus - a full cooked buffet was included in a tariff LOWER than the hotel we had stayed in the previous night.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosemountHotel, Owner at Rosemount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Each and every day our team of staff put more of everything in to this wee place and they totally deserve the satisfaction they will feel when they read that you had your faith in any kind of hospitality restored by their efforts. We don't pay anyone to manipulate the review system on our behalf and take the good AND poor reviews totally to heart, working harder each day to give our customers what they want. Our reward is genuinely to receive reviews like yours and we thank you sincerely for taking the trouble to post it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

OK, so we had the economy room, but it wasnt all that cheap ... The carpets are absolutely filthy, and not only in our room but in all the public rooms too. You get the impression that nothing has been done to this hotel for a very long time. I couldnt face the breakfast as the dining room was so dingy looking.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Esther1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosemountHotel, Owner at Rosemount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Hmmmm. We've been doing increasingly well with reviews after recent refurbishments. So, the question begs . . . . What is your motive to publish such defamatory material that flies directly in the face of other published commentary? Our cleanliness, above all else, is praised beyond doubt. I could press to have this removed, but I don't think people are any longer under illusion about the antics within the review world, some orchestrated by companies who make their entire profit from manipulating the system. We have been contacted by them, but will not "play the game". I refer readers to other sources of information as well as other commentary herewith.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We, Mum, Dad, Son and Daughter in law plus our three little dogs received a lovely welcome upon arrival. We were shown to our rooms which were clean with beautiful white bedding and towels, the shower room was exceptionally nice, with tea and coffee making facilities.
We decided to eat in the restaurant and enjoyed our well cooked and presented choices, the service was excellent. Afterwards we were allowed to sit in the bar area with our little dogs chatting to other guests.
The breakfast was first class, with a wide variety of choice ranging from traditional Scottish to Continental - a delicious way to start the day.
It is difficult enough finding accommodation when you have one dog let alone three, here we were welcomed so warmly. We would certainly stay here again and can't thank the staff enough.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Valerie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosemountHotel, Owner at Rosemount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Thank you for this beautifully and clearly written commentary. We are especially pleased that you appreciated the cleanliness of our little place. Our staff work hard at this and take great pride in turning around at the end of their shift to see a job well done. It is very gratifying to them when their effort and commitment is acknowledged publicly.

Dogs are given a genuine welcome by us all in the knowledge that folk who care enough about their pets to take them on holiday look after them well. We consider them a positive, friendly addition to the holiday atmosphere and I have never heard another guest complain about dogs being present. In fact, they seem to gel the atmosphere of friendliness by sparking off conversations which might otherwise never have happened.

We hope to see you all again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We've just returned from a short stay at this hotel. Enjoyed our stay so much with friendly staff, management and excellent food. Although the hotel is at the top of a hill, it is certainly manageable(two seniors speaking) and about 10 minutes from the main Atholl Road. Our stay was real value for money and we wouldn't hesitate in recommending the hotel to anyone. We will certainly be back again in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a shower on the wall - not a handheld spray - this was our only criticism.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MerchistonAyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosemountHotel, Owner at Rosemount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Hello there!
It was very satisfying to read that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for taking the trouble to make that known. We had great pleasure in your company, so thank YOU for making our job so rewarding. We try hard to tune in to the things that people are looking for when they come to Pitlochry for a holiday, then to find the resources to help our guests experience them. We are delighted that we succeeded for you - and please know we are already saving to convert that shower spray to a wall mounted one - bit of a tricky plumbing issue to overcome, but it SHALL be done! Meantime, please come to see us again and do remind us that you'd like a shower. I only hope we can also arrange some more of this fabulous weather as a fitting backdrop to the stunning scenery that surrounds us. Take good care of yourselves.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.2 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,899 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scotland's Hotel & Leisure Club
0.3 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
406 reviews
6.4 mi away
Atholl Arms Hotel
Atholl Arms Hotel
#11 of 18 in Pitlochry
726 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#13 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosemount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosemount Hotel

Address: 12 Higher Oakfield, Pitlochry PH16 5HT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Price Range: $78 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rosemount Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small,cosy,friendly hotel set in an Edwardian villa over looking stunning views of Pitlochry to the south and upwards to the fabulous Ben Vrackie mountain to the north. Pet and family friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rosemount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosemount Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing