We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My sons 18th birthday lunch..”

East Haugh House Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 54 Restaurants in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Dinner is served 7 days a week from 5.30pm - 9pm. Lunch is served Saturday and Sunday 12:00 - 14:00
Aviemore, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“My sons 18th birthday lunch..”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I booked a table at this restaurant for my sons 18th birthday and we were totally over the moon with both the service , which we found to be excellent and also the food which was also excellent.
Prices were a little higher with the lack of any special 2 course lunch deals but that did not spoil our lunch which was really yummy!!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EastHaughHouseHotel, Owner at East Haugh House Restaurant, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Thank you for this lovely review. We so enjoyed hosting your son's 18th birthday lunch and are delighted to hear that you enjoyed it so much.
We have taken on board your comments regards a regular special set lunch menu and may introduce something along those lines next year. For larger parties we do offer a set menu option which can be tailored to your budget and include particular dishes of your choice.
We hope to welcome you back to East Haugh House again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    39
    5
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

This restaurant was recommended to us by Heather, the owner of the excellent Dalshian House nearby (in fact, within walking distance). It was a dreadful wet evening, but the welcome couldn't have been warmer. Heather had reserved a table for us and we were welcomed and seated within moments, our wet clothes and umbrella whisked away to dry, while we sat warm and happy in the Bar Restaurant.
The food was gorgeous. I had slow roasted shoulder of lamb that was so tender it fell to pieces as I tried to cut it and so tasty that all it needed were the simple accompaniments of mashed potato and wilted spinach that came with it. My partner had a rib-eye steak which was tender and tasty and very large and accompanied by proper chips and mushrooms and tomato. The portions were so generous that we only had enough room to share a Baileys pannacotta, which was delightful. The house Merlot, by the glass, was very good and the service was excellent.
In all, an excellent experience, highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SomersetQuantock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EastHaughHouseHotel, Owner at East Haugh House Restaurant, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
What a wonderful review! Thank you very much! We hope to welcome you back to East Haugh House again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Exquisite!”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We absolutely love the food here, the scallops are to die for, and the wine is delicious, I would eat here every night if I could!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank stephanie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EastHaughHouseHotel, Owner at East Haugh House Restaurant, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
We would love you to eat here every night too! Thank you for your kinds words. It's made our day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great meal”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We walked here for a family meal from the Southwood B and B directly opposite - talk about on your doorstep. The room was warm and inviting, chilled free water on the table, staff were very friendly and helpful. The devilled whitebait was lovely, in fact all the starters our party had were large portions and well received. The main of slow roasted lamb just fell apart, but most of us were too full for puddings! The hotel is outside of the main Pitlochry village, walking time about 20 minutes, part of which is an unlit but very quiet country lane. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paulandcaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EastHaughHouseHotel, Owner at East Haugh House Restaurant, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. We are delighted to hear you had a great meal with us. Next time come and stay here too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“another great restaurant”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

What a great restaurant this is. From the very first telephone call to make the booking and then the service its self everything was done in a friendly, cheerful and efficient manner. The food was superb, we all enjoyed all of our choices. We had a lively 2 year old with us and this was no problem, he enjoyed his visit as well as the adults. Just two points that could do with a little fine tuning. My starter was scallops, they were superb but twelve pounds for three was a bit steep, especially as everything else was good value. The other slight problem was the facilities in the ladies toilet. You told us you were child friendly but there was no platform to change a child's nappy and the floor was wet. The weather was great so we went outside and changed the nappy in the car, not so good on a wet day. These two items I only mention so the proprietor can easily put them right. Everything else was great and I would go back if in the area, in fact I wouldn't even look for anywhere else in Pitlochry.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank druidhglen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EastHaughHouseHotel, Owner at East Haugh House Restaurant, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your meal with us. It's lovely to hear you enjoyed it however i'm sorry you feel the scallops are expensive. They are hand-dived in the west coast and we source them from the best supplier in Scotland therefore they are very expensive but very tasty! We always ensure they are the biggest and best and we feel three is plenty as a starter, and at £12 we believe this is reasonably priced.
Regarding the baby-changing unit - you are absolutely right, we should have one of these! It is now a top priority and we will order one very soon. Our daughter gave us our first grandchild recently so we have no excuse now!
Thank you again for your kind and useful review. We hope to welcome you back to East Haugh House very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed East Haugh House Restaurant also viewed

Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
 
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to East Haugh House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing