We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab wee place”

The Auld Smiddy Inn
Ranked #7 of 54 Restaurants in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fab wee place”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Recommended by our B&B we enjoyed a really tasty and good value meal here. Popped in for a drink earlier in the afternoon and although they were fully booked for the evening they suggested a time we could probably get seated. Very efficient waitress - I'm wondering if she is the same surly one that other reviewers have mentioned - but we simply found her business like and to the point, which we appreciated. Thoroughly enjoyed the meal and the wine, then wandered back to our B&B quite replete. Will be back next time we are in Pitlochry.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank 41kirstyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    339
    227
    80
    36
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We had dinner at the Auld Smiddy on Friday 7 February 2014. The menu offered a great choice and we were delighted with our choices (haggis tower and pate for starters, pork belly and salmon for mains). The food was delicious and the portions generous. Service was top notch too. We'd happily eat there again next time we're in town.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rhona A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
1 review
“Open sandwich??”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Very nice cosy restaurant. Staff were very nice and friendly. Unfortunately the menu was a bit confusing. My wife ordered a Ham and Brie Open Sandwich. One yes one slice of average standard bread with no marg or butter one slice of processed ham, three small pieces of brie,four bits of crisps and some salad to fill the plate...not bad for £7.95.... if you like being ripped off.

Not sure you can describe something as an open sandwich if you don't actually have the requirements of a sandwich ie two slices of bread.

Kids fish fingers and chips were OK apart from coming with salad instead of peas.

My haggis, neeps and tattie tower starter was decent but for £7.95 it should have been.

Won't be back!!!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank craig K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartley Wintney, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fab”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

What a lovely find. On a wet, cold and brisk winters day, the Auld Smiddy welcomed us in. The haggis, tattie dish was divine and my husband raved about it. My mushrooms on toast were absolutely delicious and very morish! The Guinness and real ale went down a treat whilst warming our hands and toes by the wood burner, just lovely. Only disappointment, returned 2 days later and food is stopped at 14:30 so had to find another watering hole. Worth the trip to Pitlochry just for the mushrooms on toast and the wonderful service by all. Enjoy

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joanned907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great food in quiet cosy place”
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

We had dinner here beside the nice log fire. Service was great and the food was fantastic. The mushroom toast was delicious, try the haggis neeps n tatties. We would definitely go back

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Edintraveler24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Auld Smiddy Inn also viewed

Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
 
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to The Auld Smiddy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing