We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply outstanding”
Review of Roseburn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Roseburn
Ranked #27 of 65 Pitlochry B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Living in London, I like doing short, 2-4 day hiking trips in the Cairngorms area - with the night train from Euston getting in is nice and easy (then up Glen Tilt from Blair Atholl or the Minigaig from Kingussie). I always reward myself with a night or two at the Roseburn at the end (7 times or so in the last five years, either by myself or with family). Even when I think hard, I can't find anything to complain about. The rooms - and I have stayed in all of them by now - are really nice, comfy and super-clean, the breakfast is superb. The owners are very professional and go out of their way to help - Alyson even once picked us up from the endpoint of a hike, because public transport was difficult... In short, this B&B is strongly recommended, excellent place!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
There are newer reviews for Roseburn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 115 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed 3 nights this week. Roseburn was recommended by another landlady who had closed for the season, and her advice was spot on! Alyson and Russell were charming hosts who were very helpful with advice on everything.
As far as the accommodation - Lovely, clean, well appointed comfortable room, ample wardrobe and drawer space, good night's sleep, and a delicious full Scottish breakfast - what more to ask? (and I'm a fussy customer!) The resident's lounge on the first floor is a nice touch, provided with a wide range of reading material.
Roseburn is in a quiet spot no more than 5 minutes walk from the main street, making eating out in the evening very convenient ( we recommend Strathgarry next to McNaughton's).
On our last morning we awoke to a power cut due to the severe storms, but it was service (and breakfast) as normal.
We are considering another visit to Pitlochry in spring, and Roseburn will be at the top of our list.
Thank you Alyson and Russell

Room Tip: We had the superb front room with huge bathroom (I think it's called the "Yew Room"...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

I'm not prone to reviewing accommodation I have stayed in as everyone has a different opinion but I feel compelled to write about my recent stay at this wonderful B&B - the personal service and attention to detail was amazing. The words "affordable luxury" were invented for Roseburn!

The two things you need from a great B&B are a comfortable room (B) and an excellent breakfast (&B) to set you up for the day. The clue should be in the title, but Roseburn excels where others so dismally fail.

The owners cannot do enough. Their breakfast menu is astounding and leaves no stone unturned, whether you feel like a full blow-out (the black pudding is something else...) or something healthier but that doesn't prevent them from accommodating special requests or going totally off-piste if that's what the client demands.

The rooms are super-clean and, as you would expect, quiet and the beds are big with perfect mattresses. Don't forget to help yourselves to the jar of "Alyson's shortbread" left on your tray - a lovely touch.

Running a family-owned B&B properly and without cutting any corners is an exhausting and, sometime, thankless task I would imagine, but the owners face clients with a positive disposition and with no hesitation to do more than is required of them.

How about this for an example of personalised service? Alyson had cooked her family some amazing looking banana and walnut cake and, totally unprompted, sent us on our way to our 5 hour hike with half a dozen slices wrapped in foil which came in very handy a few hundred feet up (pic attached)

I cannot recommend this place enough for a quick break away or a longer stay. Stunning value in a stunning part of the world. Just make sure you take a long hike to burn off the superb breakfasts!

Totally relaxed on our return to London and no hesitation at all in recommending Roseburn.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

mature couple---visiting pitlochry theatre stayed at Roseburn on sat 26th october.Cannot fault anything.Only moan was that when we left in the morning there was no-one around to tell them how much we had enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Myra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Roseburn...beautiful house, very relaxed atmosphere, lovely modern, fresh, clean room with an extremely comfortable bed. Location was perfect...just far enough from High Street ensuring a peaceful time though just short walk to shops/restaurants & places of interest. Has to be the tastiest cooked breakfast we've ever had!!! Will definitely return to Roseburn in the future & have no hesitation recommending to friends & family!!! Thank you so much for your hospitality Alyson & family...David & Margaret...xxx

Room Tip: We stayed in The Oak Room...very comfortable & would request same room In the future
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anonymous1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Three consecutive interactions with dour humourless Scots on our way to Pitlochry - but at last, a smile and friendly welcome from Alyson as we entered her large homely home. Our room was roomy, clean, warm and comfortable, well maintained and decorated. The large bed was fall. asleep easily, comfortable and undisturbed quiet. Well rested we descended to the large dining room ready for a plentiful breakfast. The highlight of mine was perfectly prepared scrambled eggs with the best black pudding you could find - so I went straight into town to stock up. And it's only a four minute walk from many restaurants on the high street. Don't hesitate to book.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joebelvedere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Apologies to Alyson and Russell on such a long-overdue review: My husband and I stayed in the Yew Room of the Roseburn back in August '09 when we got married at Blair Castle. Alyson and Russell's hospitality was phenomenal, and they were so helpful and welcoming to the seemingly never-ending stream of clueless American tourists and vendors wandering into/onto their property for our wedding.

The property is conveniently located near Pitlochry's High Street with stunning views of the surrounding scenery. The bedroom suite was exquisite- clean, comfortable, spacious. It was truly idyllic. I'd live here if I could (oh, how I wish I could!)

Breakfast was delicious, and Alyson and Russell even welcomed my maid of honor to dine with us one morning, saying that no one would leave hungry in the morning from their home.

My husband and I reminisce about the Roseburn all the time and hope to return one day in the near future for an anniversary trip. We'd recommend this B&B to anyone- it's truly a gem. Thanks, Alyson and Russell, for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pap_of_glencoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.3 mi away
Rosemount Hotel
Rosemount Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
457 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atholl Villa
Atholl Villa
#9 of 65 in Pitlochry
804 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rosehill Guest House
Rosehill Guest House
#17 of 65 in Pitlochry
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Buttonboss Lodge
Buttonboss Lodge
#18 of 65 in Pitlochry
253 reviews
0.3 mi away
Annslea Guest House
Annslea Guest House
#37 of 65 in Pitlochry
83 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ellangowan House
Ellangowan House
#28 of 65 in Pitlochry
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roseburn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roseburn

Address: 15 West Moulin Road, Pitlochry PH16 5EA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Pitlochry
Price Range: $107 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Roseburn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Bed and Breakfast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Roseburn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roseburn Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing