We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice pub - relaxed, roaring fire - good for a few drinks”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of McKays

McKays
Ranked #21 of 54 Restaurants in Pitlochry
Price range: $6 - $39
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: McKays Pitlochry is a traditional Scottish pub and live entertainment venue serving the finest local produce, ales and premium spirits as well as showcasing the best local, national and International acts. It is open from noon each day till late every night and is a true alternative destination in the Scottish social scene.For more information on the full music and entertainment programme click herePitlochry's great value pub entertainment and food venue at McKays bar and restaurant we are becoming well known for our steaks and pub classics like fish and chips and steak and ale pie. We serve a variety of dishes to cater for every ones tastes. Each day we have a special promotion. Food is served from early to late.McKays Bar and Restaurant are delighted to announce that there is WiFi on the premises for all customers' use.While in the pub you can watch sports, listen to live musicians or join in our themed nights, which we run through out the year. We also hold a late license that allows you to party on into the early hours to live music, and the sounds played by our resident D.J Hen parties, sports tours and clubs are all welcome.About McKays Scottish Bar and RestaurantMcKays has been providing hospitality for over a hundred years, we pride ourselves on our service and quality. In recent times we have refurbished our bar and restaurant area, making it an ideal place to relax, eat and be entertained for young and old, whilst enjoying true Scottish hospitality.
Aviemore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Nice pub - relaxed, roaring fire - good for a few drinks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

McKays is really nice - it's so relaxed and if you can get a spot on the sofa by the fire you are laughing. The menu has a good range of pub grub on offer, although it is a little expensive it's ok for what you get and to be in such a nice setting. The service is fine - usual pub service but laid-back and friendly - no complaints there.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKays m, Manager at McKays, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Hello Maee

Thank-you for your comments about your recent visit to McKay's, I think a roaring log fire is a must here in the winter and make you feel so cosy and warm especially with a large local Whiskey in hand... I'm sorry that you felt our food was a little too expensive usually most people can find something to suit there budget. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our service please do tell others of your experience and we hope to see you back again soon.

Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    367
    403
    186
    104
    83
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Not bad given the choice on offer.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Pint of local stout was £3.90, and had the distinct impression that this was more than they would charge the locals. London prices for local goods. Mmmm, nuff said.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frenchifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stopped off here for late lunch/early tea yesterday.

Nice little pub, nice decor, comfy couches and tables and chairs. Ordered cheeseburger and chip and a chicken burger and chips.
Highly recommend, food good as was atmosphere. Will definitely go back in again next time we are in Pitlochery

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nat_jb84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenrothes
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Friendly cosy atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Good reasonably priced food, friendly staff. Excellent live music by very talented duo. Relaxed cosy atmosphere for all ages.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank jasGlenrothes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good Bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Myself and some friends popped in here on Saturday night for a drink and a meal.
Nice bar, friendly service and good quality food.
We were also pleasantly surprised that there was a free comedy show in the bar.
Hilarious.
Will recommend this bar to my friends.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank toecurlerjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McKays also viewed

Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
 
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
 
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to McKays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing