We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another excellent visit!”
Review of Rowanlea

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pitlochry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rowanlea
Ranked #30 of 66 Pitlochry B&B and Inns
fife
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Another excellent visit!”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

My husband and i visited Rowanlea again after a gap of a few years.Gillian was lovely and welcomed us like old friends.The accomodation was as lovely as before and great value for money.Good reasons to visit ,the accomodation is seperate from the main house,has wonderful views,lovely little garden for guests,spacious modern interiors and a LOVELY host.Will visit again hopefully next year.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fiferose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
88
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We went to Pitlochry on Friday night and stayed at Rowanlea. The room was nice and clean and large, both the bedroom and the bathroom, there is lots of cupboard space so really good if you are staying a little longer. The bed was comfortable but the pillows were a little thin, I mentioned this and the owner thanked me for my feedback and said she would get some new ones.

This B&B is small and has just two rooms and you get your own door so can come and go as you wish, it was a lovley quiet location. It is up a bit of a hill and you can either drive into Pitlochry or walk, we found the walk no issue at all and we were in town within a few minutes. The breakfast was really nice and I would recommend this as a good place to stay and not as expensive as many of the bigger b&b's and hotels.

Room Tip: Go to the golf club for your dinner!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steph1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turriff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We already stayed at Rowanlea about two years ago and were delighted. This time we booked both rooms for October and stayed four nights with our family. Each room has a separate entrance at a patio ready furnished to enjoy the outside. The two rooms are spacious and clean with a nearly identical layouts almost like self contained apartments. We loved the contemporary style with TV/DVD, free WiFi, the very comfy beds the quietness and the fantastic views. After a hearty breakfast we were ready and the sunny weather made our days out and about very enjoyable. Jilly is the perfect host, very good recommendations on walks and local restaurants - great Pub food and generous portions at 'McKays' and 'The Old Mill' but if you fancy stylish ambience with excellent food then go to 'Port na Craig' near the Theatre. The Enchanted forest made our trip to Pitlochry something rather special this year. Thank you Jilly for a perfect stay and a 10 out of 10 for the overall experience. MD+SJW

Room Tip: The rooms are a mirror images, the Walker room has a tiled walk-in shower, the McCabe room has a bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MDR_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benalla, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

The unit was very roomy and modern and well appointed. It had a large en-suite. King size bed was very comfortable. Beautiful view and very quiet location. Walking access to village with several places to eat. Gillian was very welcoming and provided us with a lovely breakfast.

Room Tip: There are two units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Pleasant stay. Clean comfortable and modern accomodation. Helpful host. Golf Club good recommendation for meal. Steep and narrow access road. Throughly recommend. Good base for walking in hills north of pitlochry.Weather was damp but fine. I don't see why I have to write 200 characters ii I don't want to.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frontlawnem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We had a very pleasant 5 night stay, and aim to go back again.

Jill seems to have the balance between being helpful but not overly so just right, and was really good when my wife was unwell one day. (nothing to do with Rowanlea)

The bedroom was spotless, comfortable, spacious, with good quality fittings, and provided lovely views.
The spacious en-suite was likewise to a high specification and with a very good walk in shower.

Breakfast set us up for the day (but being on holiday we still felt we aught to indulge in coffee and cake during the afternoon!)
The underfloor heating was so effective it was undetectable, and despite some cool nights kept the room just right.

The accommodation is well suited as a B&B for 2 independent couples, or 2 travelling together and making maximum use of the intervening breakfast room.

I did struggle getting a WiFi signal in the bedroom, the breakfast room was better. This may have been due to my phone as previous guests with laptops apparently had no difficulty. Jill however was going to get the signal strength checked, so could not ask for a better response.

Rowanlea rightly deserves to be regarded as an excellent choice.

Room Tip: Either would be a good choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 7D_L_Traveller7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Spent 3 nights at Rowanlea. Good size bedroom and bathroom, very clean and spacious with superb view across the valley from panoramic windows. Lovely patio area in front of bedroom. Very convenient to Pitlochry Golf Course for both playing golf and evening meals. Gill is the perfect hostess with lots of good information about Pitlochry as well as providing first-class breakfasts. Can't wait to return again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HFH35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.4 mi away
Roseburn
Roseburn
#25 of 66 in Pitlochry
112 reviews
0.6 mi away
Craigroyston House and Lodge
Craigroyston House and Lodge
#12 of 66 in Pitlochry
258 reviews
0.8 mi away
Derrybeg Bed and Breakfast
Derrybeg Bed and Breakfast
#6 of 66 in Pitlochry
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Dalshian Guest House
Dalshian Guest House
#11 of 66 in Pitlochry
394 reviews
2.3 mi away
Benvrackie
Benvrackie
#19 of 66 in Pitlochry
135 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Claymore Guest House
The Claymore Guest House
#1 of 66 in Pitlochry
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowanlea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowanlea

Property: Rowanlea
Address: Rowanlea Cuilc Brae, Pitlochry PH16 5QS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rowanlea is situated in its own grounds in a very quiet part of Pitlochry, close to the golf course and Cuilc (the duck pond). It has tremendous panoramic views across the Tummel valley to the hills beyond. It's a pleasant 10 minutes walk into the town centre where you can find all the shops and restaurants you require. Rowanlea is run and managed by Jilly Hawley who previously owned the Tigh na Cloich Hotel in Pitlochry. Her aim is to offer you a quiet, relaxing and enjoyable stay so that you'll want to return here on your next visit to Pitlochry. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rowanlea Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing