We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay”
Review of Rowanlea

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pitlochry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rowanlea
Ranked #35 of 65 Pitlochry B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We already stayed at Rowanlea about two years ago and were delighted. This time we booked both rooms for October and stayed four nights with our family. Each room has a separate entrance at a patio ready furnished to enjoy the outside. The two rooms are spacious and clean with a nearly identical layouts almost like self contained apartments. We loved the contemporary style with TV/DVD, free WiFi, the very comfy beds the quietness and the fantastic views. After a hearty breakfast we were ready and the sunny weather made our days out and about very enjoyable. Jilly is the perfect host, very good recommendations on walks and local restaurants - great Pub food and generous portions at 'McKays' and 'The Old Mill' but if you fancy stylish ambience with excellent food then go to 'Port na Craig' near the Theatre. The Enchanted forest made our trip to Pitlochry something rather special this year. Thank you Jilly for a perfect stay and a 10 out of 10 for the overall experience. MD+SJW

Room Tip: The rooms are a mirror images, the Walker room has a tiled walk-in shower, the McCabe room has a bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MDR_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 120 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2012

The unit was very roomy and modern and well appointed. It had a large en-suite. King size bed was very comfortable. Beautiful view and very quiet location. Walking access to village with several places to eat. Gillian was very welcoming and provided us with a lovely breakfast.

Room Tip: There are two units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Pleasant stay. Clean comfortable and modern accomodation. Helpful host. Golf Club good recommendation for meal. Steep and narrow access road. Throughly recommend. Good base for walking in hills north of pitlochry.Weather was damp but fine. I don't see why I have to write 200 characters ii I don't want to.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frontlawnem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We had a very pleasant 5 night stay, and aim to go back again.

Jill seems to have the balance between being helpful but not overly so just right, and was really good when my wife was unwell one day. (nothing to do with Rowanlea)

The bedroom was spotless, comfortable, spacious, with good quality fittings, and provided lovely views.
The spacious en-suite was likewise to a high specification and with a very good walk in shower.

Breakfast set us up for the day (but being on holiday we still felt we aught to indulge in coffee and cake during the afternoon!)
The underfloor heating was so effective it was undetectable, and despite some cool nights kept the room just right.

The accommodation is well suited as a B&B for 2 independent couples, or 2 travelling together and making maximum use of the intervening breakfast room.

I did struggle getting a WiFi signal in the bedroom, the breakfast room was better. This may have been due to my phone as previous guests with laptops apparently had no difficulty. Jill however was going to get the signal strength checked, so could not ask for a better response.

Rowanlea rightly deserves to be regarded as an excellent choice.

Room Tip: Either would be a good choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 7D_L_Traveller7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Spent 3 nights at Rowanlea. Good size bedroom and bathroom, very clean and spacious with superb view across the valley from panoramic windows. Lovely patio area in front of bedroom. Very convenient to Pitlochry Golf Course for both playing golf and evening meals. Gill is the perfect hostess with lots of good information about Pitlochry as well as providing first-class breakfasts. Can't wait to return again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HFH35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Second time at Rowanlea just as good as the first, spent a week in September 2012 just as we remembered it, first class accommodation, very comfortable, spotlessly clean, breakfast superb with loads to choose from, cooked to perfection. Gill and Roger excellent hosts nothing to much trouble for them , will help you any way they can.Can not wait to go back, it is just fitting it in, will definitely return. Just simpl;simply perfect.

Room Tip: Both rooms superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

Modern accommodation in an attractive setting. Our one night stay was comfortable, relaxing and very enjoyable. A larger TV would have been a superb addition, but the overall quality could not be faulted. Hoping to return soon.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelLife100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.8 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
393 reviews
1.0 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,872 reviews
0.3 mi away
Westlands of Pitlochry
Westlands of Pitlochry
#7 of 65 in Pitlochry
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Benvrackie
Benvrackie
#19 of 65 in Pitlochry
144 reviews
0.4 mi away
Roseburn
Roseburn
#25 of 65 in Pitlochry
118 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bruach Mhor Guest House
Bruach Mhor Guest House
#29 of 65 in Pitlochry
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowanlea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowanlea

Address: Rowanlea Cuilc Brae, Pitlochry PH16 5QS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Pitlochry
Price Range: $66 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rowanlea is situated in its own grounds in a very quiet part of Pitlochry, close to the golf course and Cuilc (the duck pond). It has tremendous panoramic views across the Tummel valley to the hills beyond. It's a pleasant 10 minutes walk into the town centre where you can find all the shops and restaurants you require. Rowanlea is run and managed by Jilly Hawley who previously owned the Tigh na Cloich Hotel in Pitlochry. Her aim is to offer you a quiet, relaxing and enjoyable stay so that you'll want to return here on your next visit to Pitlochry. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rowanlea Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing