We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money and extremely nice host. Great for dogs!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bruach Mhor Guest House
Ranked #39 of 66 Pitlochry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lanark, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent value for money and extremely nice host. Great for dogs!”
Reviewed October 9, 2011

We had a lovely time at the Bruach Mhor. We took out miniature Schnauzer - Breagha who had a ball on the front lawn and loved the attention had by all. Both rooms we had were spotlessly clean and very tidy. The host, Paul, was very knowledgeable about the area and very pleasant, down to earth. The whole house had bags of character which was beautifully decorated and in keeping with the style of the building. The beds were very comfortable. The breakfast in the morning was first class with everything you could ask for. A 5 minute walk took us to the Moulin Inn where the meals were first class and is also dog friendly. Also the town centre is within walking distance. We couldn't have been happier with the standard of this B and B and cannot wait to return. Thanks again for the great experience. Ian and Kirsty, Jim and Helen and Breagha the dog :)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brawdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
43
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Appleby-in-Westmorland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Stayed for 1 night in July 2011 on the way up to Lochinver to join the rest of the family. Very friendly welcome from Paul the owner who happened to know exactly where we were travelling to and gave us a few idea's for things to do. The room was extremely comfortable with a large airy bathroom. Paul recommended the local pub, Moulin Hotel just up the road as somewhere we would be able to get a meal and he was not wrong an excellent meal followed by a few home made ales accompanied by our dog who was made welcome in the Pub as well as the B & B result as he comes as part of the package.

Breakfast was a sight to behold a pan of porridge, alongside the usual cereals was not out of the ordinary but the full Scottish Breakfast, sausage, black pudding, tomato, egg, potato cake nothing unusual there you say, but Chanterelle mushrooms, picked locally just topped off our visit.

We will definitely be returning to Bruach Mhor when we get the opportunity.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2011

The owners Paul & Cathie were very welcoming and we were made to feel at home immediately. The house itself is gorgeous as are the grounds. Our room was enormous and immaculately clean as was the en-suite bathroom. We couldn't fault the place. Had a great nights sleep and breakfast was lovely, very good selection.
The house is located a short distance from the main street in Pitlochry and also close to Moulin.
We will definitely be returning again and it was great value for money.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KelliCampbelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orkney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2010

A wonderful old house,Owner Paul was very nice & friendly. Dining room and stairs nicely decorated but our room was horrendous, walls were all bright red with patches of dust all over them, duvet covers had been washed that often that they were terribly faded,no headboard on bed, mattress was far too soft and old.Far too expensive for what we got, no biscuits in room, only coffee or tea, no shower gel in bathroom. Carpet was old and worn looking too. Jam pot on table had mouldy jam in it. Last night of a 3 week holiday and I am sorry to say we were very dissapointed.Won't be going back.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kelseyorkney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
308 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2010

Tricky left turn into property coming down the hill but beautiful home/B&B hidden behind the fence. Large private garden and wonderful ambience. Just a short drive to the shops and restaurants of Pitlochry.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjf000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
1 review
Reviewed September 21, 2009

We stayed for one night in September with our dog and had a great time. The B&B is well placed for easy access to Pitlochry as well as being set within quiet grounds and a short distance for Moulin, where there is a great pub! The B&B is very clean, and our room was a good size with traditional features (fireplace, cornicing) and we had a lovely four-poster bed. The bathroom was a good size and had a good shower. The breakfast choices were good, with the usual traditional full breakfast, to scrambled eggs and smoked salmon or fresh kippers.

I would recommend this B&B and would happily stay in it again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edinburd07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
103 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2008

Wonderful location in Pitlochry, Scotland. Beautifully restored Victorian villa overlooking the hills around this scenic town. Quiet location but handy to the town center, interesting trail walks, and Moulin, nearby village with a great pub/restaurant. Personable owners Paul and Cathie Booth are knowledgeable and enthusiastic about the town and local history. Suites are immaculately clean, attractive, and comfortably furnished.

  • Liked — Friendly, helpful host; location; attractive house and suite
  • Disliked — Nothing to dislike
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jjsmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.2 mi away
Craigvrack
Craigvrack
#14 of 18 in Pitlochry
180 reviews
0.6 mi away
Derrybeg Bed and Breakfast
Derrybeg Bed and Breakfast
#7 of 66 in Pitlochry
285 reviews
0.6 mi away
West Haugh Farm House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Wellwood Guest House
The Wellwood Guest House
#20 of 66 in Pitlochry
60 reviews
0.4 mi away
Roseburn
Roseburn
#26 of 66 in Pitlochry
112 reviews
0.6 mi away
Westlands of Pitlochry
Westlands of Pitlochry
#5 of 66 in Pitlochry
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bruach Mhor Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bruach Mhor Guest House

Property: Bruach Mhor Guest House
Address: 54 West Moulin Road, Pitlochry PH16 5EQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely Victorian villa set in its own grounds and close to all amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bruach Mhor Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bruach Mhor Guest House Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing