We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gorgeous, warm and comforting highland escape”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Glen of Rait Tower

view of house from the hill-also shows lodge cottage which sleeps 6 and is also avaialable
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
view of house from the hill-also shows lodge cottage which sleeps 6 and is also avaialable
The main sitting room.with open fire and minstels gallery . Snooker table in main room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
36 reviews
view of house from the hill-also shows lodge cottage which sleeps 6 and is also avaialable
The main sitting room.with open fire and minstels gallery .
Snooker table in main room
Dining area for 14 people with flagstoned floor
part of main room
upstairs double bedroom
downstairs double bedroom
downstairs twin bedroom
upstairs double bedroon
kitchen with aga cooker
kitchen
main room with gallery
en suite bathroom
a handy extra bed on the landing
picnic table on private hill which is for the sole use of the house-view of 6 counties !
twin downstairs bedroom
master bedroom at night
dining hall -seats 14
brass single beds
king sized bed
main room
Exterior of house.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Perth, Perth and Kinross, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
cehslatte...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Gorgeous, warm and comforting highland escape”
Reviewed January 12, 2017 for a stay in December 2015

Went up to celebrate new year with friends and stayed in this amazing rental. The family are warm and welcoming and let us know where everything was. The cottage that we stayed in itself was super clean, well equipped and cosy! There are plenty of fabulous walks and its not too far from Edinburgh for a day trip. All in all I would 100 per cent stay here again.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margaretm...
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous time”
Reviewed January 12, 2017 for a stay in July 2016

Had my family from England stay here for a few days. We all had a wonderful time. Loved the 'Scottish' feel to the accommodation and the location was fantastic with lovely walks in the surrounding countryside. The children said they loved staying in the 'Castle'

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melisa D
scotland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“New year week”
Reviewed January 11, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We had a large group booked in for 1week for new year, ( 9 adults, 4 children, 3 dogs ) plenty of room for us all not to be on top of each other. Easy location to reach. Loved the open fire. Back garden onto the woods. Decor very odd, furniture very old and falling to bits. Be careful what chair you sit on :-)
Kitchen well equipped but very old utensils and not clean. We had to wash everything before we used it.
The whole house needs cleaned. Having to clean when we checked in was not great. Finding old sweetie wrappers at the side of the bed was not pleasant. The upstairs bathroom had no running water from the taps and the shower. We tried to contact the owner but no signal at all. we ended up checking out early. Sadly wouldn't recommend but very cheap for new years week.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 12, 2017
Apologies re the hot water problem which we only found out about on your last day,that is now fixed.The cleaner between Christmas party and New Year only had a couple of hours between guests.The house is usually cleaned for 5 hours.The furniture is a mix of antique and modern anything not up to scratch is replaced.The house has also just been repainted.Sorry this trip didn't work out but with improvements mentioned a maintenance period in January is now I can assure you in good order for 2017
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mariam M
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Charming house in beautiful surroundings!”
Reviewed April 20, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Glen of Rait tower and the neighboring cottage were absolutely fantastic! They were quirky and homely and a great place to host friends before our wedding the next day. I really liked all the furniture and books and the general ambiance of the house. My friend even nicknamed Glen of Rait the castle! The owners were also very accommodating, friendly and relaxed!

Everyone who came to the house commented how lovely it was. We would very much like to return and have some quality time enjoying the surroundings, house and fire at a leisurely pace. We look forward to another stay and would highly recommend Glen of Rait to those who appreciate natural beauty and quaintness. We certainly loved it!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quirkiness
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hen702
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“"Quirky"”
Reviewed April 18, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

The Glen of Rait Tower, is quirky, externally it is sound and double glazed while inside none of the doors fit. The tower is actually very comfortable, but none the less very quirky. We stayed with four families, and all really enjoyed their stay, the living room is huge and has something for everyone of all ages including long walks with the four legged visitors. Every room has something that is nor quite right which only adds to the charm of the tower, even the jigsaw has three parts missing which sums up the building, the owner is great in that he visited us on arrival and helped to make our stay comfortable. All in all a great stay, and we will be back....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The buildings quirkiness....
Liked least: The decor needs a refresh..
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie M
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great break, spacious, comfortable accommodation, competitively priced”
Reviewed April 10, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Setting is ideal for Peace and quite and wonderful relaxation for a short break with friends and family. Accommodation was even nicer than photographs, all areas comfortable, plenty space and ample seating in the main lounge with open fire. The dining hall was particularly nice, lots of room for our party of 9 and easily accommodated by the adjacent kitchen which provided all catering appliances required.
Great to ramble about the hills and the views are truly spectacular, we also ventured by car to Perth, Scone, St Andrews, Dalgety Bay and visited 3 different antique centres.
Hope to return in the summer so we can take advantage of the patio areas and BBQ. Should mention that there is plenty space for parking and wifi

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and size
Liked least: Nothing at all
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing