We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Work's Christmas dinner. Couldn't fault.”
Review of Deans Restaurant

Deans Restaurant
Ranked #31 of 200 Restaurants in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $39
Cuisines: European, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Family run Contemporary Scottish Restaurant. Relax in the lounge with our creative cocktails before enjoying your meal cooked by Masterchef of GB Willie Deans. A relaxed and fun atmosphere with professional and friendly waiting staff.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Work's Christmas dinner. Couldn't fault.”
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Went with 8 people for works Christmas dinner. Menu suited everyone. Gin and tonics aperitif were delicious. 2 party members 45 mins late, but that didn't upset them at all. Food was fabulous. Couldn't fault it. Upmarket, exceptional food & reasonable prices. Great wine list. Lovely atmosphere. Obviously very popular. Will certainly come back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennycroft1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    338
    117
    48
    28
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Poor service and rude manageress”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

This restaurant is over rated. Food ok, sounded better on the menu than it tasted. The big let down however is the service and the manageress. The service was less than perfect, waiting staff looked verry unhappy ( even the christmas tree looked misirable) and after my experiene i suspect they are. The person who fronts as a manageress is rude and unhelpful. When camplaints were made to her she told us to go some place else. This after spending hunderds of pounds in the restaurant. In all my years i have never been treated in such a manner by some one in the service industry. Clearly customer service is not paramount as her whole attitude was unacceptable. If you want a good night out in a friendly aptmosphere with great food dont take the chance on Deans at lets eat, go some place else.It spoiled our night.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
16 Thank dac24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Wonderful service and a menu to please all”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We ate there recently and were surprised to be offered a table for a normal supper, when all around Perth, venues were insisting on Christmas packages. Parking was available on a nearby street for £1 (after 1800). The menu was extensive and we had difficulty deciding what to choose as we fancied everything. The decor is warm, with terracotta shades and not too glitzy with festive decorations. We were warmly welcomed and coats taken to a side room, then seated aside from the dining room to peruse the menu as we enjoyed our aperitifs. The service was attentive throughout and the food came promptly, served on very warm dishes - always a must for us. All 3 course were delicious and we both ordered separate choices, so well done to chef for pleasing us both throughout. This is a good find and although a little more expensive than other local venues, it does offer fine dining, as opposed to being an evening cafe. Well done to the team.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisboeta56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and wonderful serviceable”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is a marvellous Restaurant with great food, excellent service, and gorgeous decor. I would have no hesitation in recommending to all foodies.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elysiumPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fabulous lunch”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We're lucky in Perth to have a number of very good restaurants, but this is the one I keep coming back to as the favourite of them all. The food is consistently good, and the staff are friendly and helpful. This time we enjoyed the lighter lunch menu - this was a great option which allowed us to try three courses without having to spend the rest of the day groaning. I'll certainly be back again before long, and would thoroughly recommend it.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Deans Restaurant also viewed

 
Perth, Perth and Kinross
Perth, Perth and Kinross
 
Perth, Perth and Kinross
Perth, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Deans Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing