We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful service and a menu to please all”
Review of Deans Restaurant

Deans Restaurant
Ranked #33 of 201 Restaurants in Perth
Price range: $1 - $38
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Family run Contemporary Scottish Restaurant. Relax in the lounge with our creative cocktails before enjoying your meal cooked by Masterchef of GB Willie Deans. A relaxed and fun atmosphere with professional and friendly waiting staff.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Wonderful service and a menu to please all”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We ate there recently and were surprised to be offered a table for a normal supper, when all around Perth, venues were insisting on Christmas packages. Parking was available on a nearby street for £1 (after 1800). The menu was extensive and we had difficulty deciding what to choose as we fancied everything. The decor is warm, with terracotta shades and not too glitzy with festive decorations. We were warmly welcomed and coats taken to a side room, then seated aside from the dining room to peruse the menu as we enjoyed our aperitifs. The service was attentive throughout and the food came promptly, served on very warm dishes - always a must for us. All 3 course were delicious and we both ordered separate choices, so well done to chef for pleasing us both throughout. This is a good find and although a little more expensive than other local venues, it does offer fine dining, as opposed to being an evening cafe. Well done to the team.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisboeta56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    338
    118
    48
    29
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Perth
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and wonderful serviceable”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is a marvellous Restaurant with great food, excellent service, and gorgeous decor. I would have no hesitation in recommending to all foodies.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elysiumPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fabulous lunch”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We're lucky in Perth to have a number of very good restaurants, but this is the one I keep coming back to as the favourite of them all. The food is consistently good, and the staff are friendly and helpful. This time we enjoyed the lighter lunch menu - this was a great option which allowed us to try three courses without having to spend the rest of the day groaning. I'll certainly be back again before long, and would thoroughly recommend it.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great find.”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

A really top class venue which we wished we had gone to on our previous night out.
Service is really top notch and for a fairly large group was very impressive.
Interior is warm and welcoming and a lovely little bar seating area for an aperitif.
Our food really was top drawer and was obviously freshly cooked with fab feedback from everybody.
One note of caution is that the wine is fairly pricey.
Would thoroughly recommend.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alloa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Foodie heaven”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We ate here on a recent Saturday night and certainly were not disappointed by the quality of the food. Very nice ambiance in the restaurant and waiting staff were very efficient and pleasant. We were late in arriving for our booking having been held up at a previous function but weren't too impressed by the greeting, being told 'you'll have to go right to your table as the chef's about to finish'. This was about 9.20 on a Saturday night and we couldn't help noticing that they took another two couples after us. Food was fab though. Menu was small but the choice was excellent. Satay style halibut was to die for. Hubby's assiette of rhubarb was a work of art. Would definitely go back next time we are in the Fair City.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Deans Restaurant also viewed

Perth, Perth and Kinross
 
Perth, Perth and Kinross
Perth, Perth and Kinross
 
Perth, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Deans Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing