We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome”
Review of Grampian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grampian Hotel
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
London, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

All Staff (especially Ally) were extremely accommodating, very helpful and friendly. The room far exceeded my expectations. Exceptionally clean, well furnished, and very comfortable. If and when I return to Perth, I will definitely stay there again. Highly recommend the Grampian Hotel.

Room Tip: Room #20 is perfect for one or two people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KevinJonesCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    62
    19
    10
    6
See reviews for
32
95
10
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Bend, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

The food in the bar & also for breakfast was good, Duncan & his staff were all very nice & helpful. He is aware of the issues & will be correcting them when able. They do seem to have a very good meeting room/party business. We wish him luck. There is parking at the front of the hotel for a few cars. The hotel itself is very tired. Our room was very large but not very comfortable. The old bathroom only had very flimsy towels as well as thin plastic glasses.
Unfortunately the room was not cleaned properly.
Also unfortunately the area around the hotel is somewhat depressed.
Wifi was available on the ground floor.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RandiDI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I have stayed here several times for work. The owners and staff are lovely and will help out guests with any requests. I had to move rooms as am very light sleeper and they were very accommodating. Breakfast was lovely and I had dinner in the bar one night which was great value pub food.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BellaMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I recently purchased an Itison deal for two main meals as a treat. Although the restaurant was pretty quiet the service was great,very friendly and the food was fab. I had good old scampi and chips and my o/h had one of the best steak pies he said he had had in a long time. We had our two children with us and they also had 'pub grub' which came with veg of their choosing,chips or potatoes. I really was pleasantly surprised (although I had heard good reports) and would definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Mummytra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We went to the Grampian for high tea one Sunday. It was my Mum's 88th birthday. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The menu was great with a vast choice of traditional dishes. One thing I particularly liked about the menu was that several items were available in small portions - perfect since my elderly Mum is not able to eat very much at one time. All in all a lovely experience!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrampianHotelManager, Owner at Grampian Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review you meal in our restaurant. We are glad you enjoyed it and look forward to welcoming you all back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glencarse, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The staff showed us to our table and gave us the menu. Opening it was a lovely surprise. A great selection of fine starters. I had the black pudding which was awesome. The waiting staff spent time talking to the children and making them feel very much a part of the experience.
Mains were fantastic steak cooked to perfection and good sized portions. No room for a sweet but others did and I wish I had !!

Will certainly be back for some more of this great value top quality food. Good pub prices for top restaurant food.

Thanks

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
73 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this property for 4 nights during a tourist visit to the region. Used the property as a base to explore the extensive number of tourist sights. Found all staff to be very efficient and friendly. Would love to encounter similar staff at every venue. Staff were quick to suggest / confirm sights to see and provided useful tips. Room was very large and included a sitting table with 2 large comfortable chairs in addition to a king size (comfortable) bed and writing desk. Nothwithstanding the amount of furniture, there was ample area to move about. Despite the age of the property, there were not to many creaks and groans. Separate bathroom and also separate coffee making area. Quality of Breakfast and other meals quite good and costs were in accordance with other establishments in the city. Have no difficulty in recommending the property for others

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank parkyposs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
0.5 mi away
Salutation Hotel
Salutation Hotel
#4 of 18 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#18 of 18 in Perth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
0.1 mi away
New County Hotel
New County Hotel
#13 of 18 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Perth City Centre Hotel
0.2 mi away
Mercure Perth Hotel
Mercure Perth Hotel
#17 of 18 in Perth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
2.7 mi away
Huntingtower Hotel
Huntingtower Hotel
#2 of 18 in Perth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grampian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grampian Hotel

Property: Grampian Hotel
Address: 37 York Place, Perth PH2 8EH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Perth
#9 Romantic Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grampian Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grampian Hotel, Perth, Scotland is situated close to the railway station, the bus station, and the centre of Perth is a 5 minute walk from the hotel, an ideal location for visiting Perth and the surrounding Perthshire area.The Grampian Hotel, Perth is a three star family run hotel, the owners Duncan and Claire McFarlane extend a warm welcome to everyone. The hotel accommodation has been refurbished to a high standard to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable and relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Grampian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grampian Hotel Perth, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing