We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“So peaceful and tranquil”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Perth, Perth and Kinross, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Ciorstaid...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So peaceful and tranquil”
Reviewed August 28, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely welcome with local wine & shortbread. Thank you very much!! Cottage was immaculate when we arrived. Very comfortable & cosy. Had everything we needed. Lovely big well kept garden. Great location for Perth & Dundee & was so quiet & peaceful. Thank you very much Fraser, sheens & Pamela. Hope to be back!! Very reasonably priced

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The stream!!
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 26, 2015
Thank you for a lovely review! I'm glad you found Fernbank cosy and comfortable :-) We hope to welcome you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingrid R
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful thatched cottage in quiet village, clean, convenient, wonderful!”
Reviewed July 2, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This little cottage is an absolute beauty, has lovely rooms and really everything one needs. It's in a nice quiet location but Dundee and Perth are easy to reach. The owners are wonderful people! Our next stay in this area will definitely be at Fernbank Cottage again.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 5, 2015
Thank you for such a lovely comment! We look forward to welcoming you back to Fernbank again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna E
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing cottage.”
Reviewed November 22, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Our 4th stay at Fernbank - we keep coming back as Pamela and family are wonderful hosts. This year we found the addition of wi-fi most welcome , it was most useful googling ideas for days out that weren't included in the leaflets folder.
The cottage is set in a peaceful location - a welcome change from noisy traffic. Having rented many cottages over the years we look forward to our stays here as we know how cosy it is in the evenings, snuggling to sleep under a thatched roof.
Everyone should stay here - Sheena , Fraser and Pamela are the friendliest people we know.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 25, 2014
Aw, thank you very much for such a lovely message! We're always pleased to welcome you back to Fernbank and hope to see you all again next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swifthalf...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cosy cottage escape in an ideal location.”
Reviewed November 6, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed in Fernbank cottage for a short break in October with the dog. Received a warm welcome from the owners soon after arrival and settled in very quickly. Cottage is in an ideal location to explore the surrounding area of which there is plenty to see and provides a great retreat after spending the day out and about. Lovely big garden and field across from the cottage for the dog to enjoy and a wee walk up to the nearby castle. Overall the cottage is lovely and reasonably priced for the accommodation provided, would love to visit again when the weather is a wee bit warmer.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 11, 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments! Fernbank is certainly a great location for exploring Perthshire and Angus. We hope to welcome you and your dog back to Fernbank!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DFAdams
Sandown, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful cottage is quiet peaceful location”
Reviewed September 22, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I used Fernbank Cottage, during our recent holiday in Scotland. Although an old stone cottage it has been tastefully renovated. It was spotlessly clean, very well appointed, quiet, slightly off the beaten track, yet close to all the things we had planned to do during our week in the area (Perth, Stirling Castle, St Andrews, Dundee, Scone Palace and wonderful unspoilt walking in the woods around Dunkeld). A wonderful base for us to use. We shall certainly recommend Fernbank to our friends and who knowns perhaps we shall look to use it again ourselves if we come back to the Perth area again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quite tranquillity of the surroundings
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 24, 2014
Thank you very much for such lovely feedback. Fernbank certainly is a great base for exploring Perthsire, Angus and Fife. We hope to welcome you back to Fernbank in the future!

Kind regards,

Fraser, Sheena and Pam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlett, Tennessee
Reviewed May 4, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: just a great place with great host.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 9, 2014
Thank you for such a lovely comment. We like to make our guests as comfortable as possible and we do love the old village atmosphere of Rait too (we're biased of course!) We hope to welcome you back to Fernbank in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rhona B
Dronfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely little cottage ...easy acces to beautiful part of Scotland”
Reviewed March 12, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I used this cottage as a base whilst attending an event in Perth. It was a "home from home"

High level of comfort and an excellent kitchen .

It provides easy access to Perthshire and Angus but be aware you will need a car as it is located in a very small village ...2 miles to nearest shops in Errol.

It would be great for kids as their is access to a lovely garden.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location and
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 17, 2014
We're delighted you found Fernbank so homely and comfortable. We hope to welcome you back to the cottage in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing