We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old world charm”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal George Hotel
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Old world charm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

Traditional interiors with the smell of old world charm. The bar looked inviting . Be prepared to carry your luggage up the stairs ! The room was at the end overlooking next door kitchens and chimneys not what you would love to view on a holiday. Inside the room it was cozy but just that the door opened right next to your bed. This place is just fine for a night stay after a happening day when your body needs rest . Breakfast was delicious and filling.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sujoy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    205
    65
    26
    16
See reviews for
101
228
28
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

Arriving at the hotel my first thought was what a great spot, right on the river banks it has a gorgeous view across the river. Going into the hotel it isnt so gorgeous, the hotel is very traditional inside and looks like it has not had much changed since it opened, there was also a stale smell in the hotel that made the hotel seem even more old fashioned. The man at reception who checked us in was quite rude, he seemed to be too busy to really be bothered so by this point i was concerned.
We got to our room which was called the 'smeaton suite' and I was relieved, the room was lovely very spacious and spotlessly clean. We only had one major problem with the room - the heat. Now it is Scotland so it isnt often warm but it was warm when we stayed 22degrees and 26degrees on the two days we were there. And our room had no real ventilation and understandably no air conditioning, but this made the room like an oven. When we went to open the windows we realised that the windows would not even stay open, so we went to reception who gave us a card board box (!?!) to prop open the window. So this became our only ventilation in the room for our stay.
It was far too warm in the room at night and we both struggled to sleep, I understand that it isnt often so warm but they should have been able to accomodate for that.
I also found the bed quite hard although my partner didnt mind it.
The breakfast in the morning was lovely, nice range and lovely fresh made. The staff were very helpful and pleasant in the restaurant.

Overall our stay was fine but I would not rush back.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view it is well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

What a fabulous find. Booked last minute and didnt expect too much! Room was amazing, romantic four poster in a huge room, we had dinner in hotel also, superb and hot to the end. Breakfast was to die for and the staff were the friendliest bunch ever, service second to none. We cannot recommend this place highly enough.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

Really comfortable, traditional scottish hotel. Lovely friendly staff, great big breakfast (scrambled eggs and smoked salmon - yum!!). Easy to find, lovely outlook over river Tay and would definetely stay here again! Great price!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CurlyJo2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

Stayed sat night with wife hotel lovely staff very friendly room was lovely everything looked brand new ,breakfast fantastic giant portion of quality thanks for the stay royal George views over Tay at breakfast fab breakfast served in conservatory

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank silverfox73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed at this hotel just for the night after T in the Park.

The staff were all great and extremely friendly. The breakfast in the morning was brilliant and the restaurant has lovely views out to the river Tay.

Our room had a beautiful view of the Tay too although a little bit dated.

Would definitely consider this hotel again if I was staying in Perth.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CSM04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, MI. USA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

The Royal George is my favourite hotel in Scotland - Why - because it has all the atmosphere of a delightful country home. Mr. & Mrs. Anderson are simply delightful and nothing is too much trouble. This is the second time I have stayed in this hotel with a garden Tour. It's small so we are always the only group in the hotel and they could not treat us any more special. Yes the hotel does not have an elevator, (lift) but how many delightful country homes do. When we arrived they had all the staff on duty to grab the bags and take them to the rooms. This was done with precision and did not in any way minimize the service to the independent guests in the hotel. The food was brilliant, the breakfast first class and the relaxed atmosphere in the bar area, perfect. Another review mentioned the "out of tune" piano in the bar, but that did not hinder one of the independent guests treating us to a wonderful performance for at least 40 minutes after dinner one night. If you want glitz and glamour - then this is not the place for you, but if you want true Scottish hospitality and the feeling of staying in someone's private home, then the Royal George is the place. Stay and be enveloped in a warm cosy atmosphere. If it was OK for Queen Victoria it was certainly OK for us Gardeners,.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
0.2 mi away
Salutation Hotel
Salutation Hotel
#4 of 18 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
3.1 mi away
Huntingtower Hotel
Huntingtower Hotel
#2 of 18 in Perth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Perth City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercure Perth Hotel
Mercure Perth Hotel
#17 of 18 in Perth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parklands
Parklands
#11 of 18 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#18 of 18 in Perth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal George Hotel

Property: Royal George Hotel
Address: The Royal George Hotel Tay Street, Perth PH1 5LD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Perth
#5 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#7 Business Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllically located on the banks of the River Tay in the heart of The City of Perth, The Royal George Hotel has been attracting guests to Scotland from around the world for over 230 years. Situated next to Perth Museum and Horsecross Arts and Conference Centre, the hotel is a popular destination for business and pleasure travellers. All bedrooms are ensuite, many with views over the river, fully licensed bar and restuarant serving locally sourced traditional Scottish fare. Limited free parking available on site, Free BT Fibre Optic Broadband available throughout. Coming April 2016 - Complimentary residents gym / fitness suite and residents games room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Royal George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal George Perth
Royal George Hotel Perth, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing