We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal George Hotel
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

Had a day out, including lunch here yesterday – a treat from my mother-in-law for a significant(!) birthday. I got to choose the venue (we travelled from Paisley) and plumped for the Royal George for its riverside location.
Glad I did – it was the best lunch I’ve had in ages, and my m-i-l agreed. Great food, well cooked and presented, professionally attentive and friendly staff, reasonable pricing, topped off with a superb view of the Tay in spate.
If I’m back in Perth, I’ll be back here, whether to stay or eat!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarinerGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    205
    65
    26
    16
See reviews for
101
228
28
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dufftown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

I booked in on spec; needing a place to stay while in Perth on business. What a lovely find.

I had a long drive so was tired. but as soon as I walked in I felt comfortable. Comfy leather chairs, old fashioned decor (which I really like) and a really warm welcome from the receptionist.

The lounge bar has sofas and an open fire. A great place to relax. I sat down there for a while just reading; which I seldom do in a hotel except in a bedroom.

There is something about the place that just makes you feel relaxed. It is not modern, so if you after lots of modern up to date features you will be disappointed.

The rooms was very comfortable and it looked like it had been done up recently. Very clean, good big bed, very clean and modern bathroom.Everything you need.

I ate in the restaurant. I only wanted something light; pasta. They did not have this on the main menu; but no problem I was able to order a very tasty lasagne. Very happy.

I was really struck by the quality of the staff. Without exception they were very very good. I was so impressed that I went to the reception desk and told the duty manager. They deserved a mention. This makes a good hotel.

This would be a great hotel for a romantic stay or a sight seeing trip to Perth. It is in the centre and overlooks the river.

The car park is small so be aware of that.

I will stay again and will recommend it to others.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room that has been refurbished - they are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauljohnson303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

A lovely hotel in a lovely position... very handy for the concert hall, which was the reason we were there. However it was the staff that made the stay here so exceptional... there were 8 of us, including four pensioners... we never felt like we were an inconvenience, in fact we were made to feel totally welcome from the moment we stepped through the door to the minute we left. Michael in the bar put up with our pensioners' banter and joined in with them which they loved. The reception staff were extremely helpful. The food is lovely - and if you need an early dinner... the high tea at the Royal George is a brilliant idea, and good value. We would definitely stay here again if we find ourselves in Perth.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allij_mum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warkworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

our 3rd stay at the Royal George and as good as ever, the room overlooking the Tay was very comfortable and spacious. the staff are very welcoming and the owner is a nice man coming over to speak, the food is very good and if you have a sweet tooth you must try a meringue the best i have ever had.

Room Tip: high floor, river facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

I was staying here after working at the local Concert Hall recently. I must say I was really impressed. The hotel is star rated as a 3 star and the service I received was great.

On check in I was greeted by a friendly young lady who explained the breakfast routine to me and explained how to get to my room.

The Room - the room was spacious and clean and had a window with a view of the River tay and a bridge that lights up beautifully over night.
The bathroom was modern and had a good bath and shower. They provided toiletries which I didn't expect but was very welcome.

Breakfast had a large selection from a cooked menu and also a continental selection. I'm quite fussy about what I eat and the lady taking my order was more than helpful in catering to my needs. She also informed me that they would be able to make something available to me as I would be leaving the following day before breakfast is served. They delivered a paper bag with yoghurt, cereal bars, fruit and juice to my room at 6am ready for when I left at 6:30. I was very impressed.

Overall the service was great, my room was nice and clean and I had a great nights sleep.

The only areas of concern i had were the car park isn't very well signposted - but anything larger than the notice they had would not sit well with the character of the buildings and surrounding area. Also the floor in my room was quite creaky so I became self conscious about the noise i may be making to the room below.

I fully recommend this hotel if you're stopping in perth on Business or pleasure.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view of the Tay
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in February. We have previously stayed in a few hotels in Perth and this is the one we would go back to. The room was beauifully decorated (quite recently I would think) and the bathroom was a good size with a really long bath which filled up amazingly quiickly. The breakfast was very good and both mornings we had a window table looking over the river which was lovely. I ordered the full breakfast but without the meat items and expected half a plate of food but they completely filled it. The staff were great especially the lady on reception and the young man behind the bar. The hotel is right in the centre of the town so is handy for everything. The only things stopping me from giving it a 5 rating - the toileteries were not replaced on the second day so my husband and I had to wash with what was left of .the one wee handsoap from the previous day. Luckily I had taken my own shampoo but I know when we go back again to take shower gel with me. The main complaint was the layout of the room - when we went in the door I did not notice that there was a step up into the bedroom and one up into the bathroom and I fell (according to my husband I just missed banging my head off the furniture) My leg was quite sore for a couple of days.We noticed when we were in the coridor some rooms had a wee sign on the door warning of the step but ours didn't. It was a bit scary going to the bathroom in the night in case I fell again. I will make sure the next time we get a room which is all on the same level. But all things considered this is definately a hotel worth going to.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with no steps inside
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

I stayed over at this hotel on Saturday night as I was attending a function in town. I must say from the moment I entered the front door I was impressed. The hotel is full of character. The receptionist was very welcoming and as I travelled to my room I could see this hotel was in full swing. There was a function room set for a meal, the restaurant was busy and the bar looked cosy. After getting ready, I popped down to the bar and could hear people remarking on the quality of the food. It he bar staff were very friendly and I only wished I'd been eating. I returned later on and had a great nights sleep The room was really clean and fresh. I will be back soon. Well done and thank you!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
0.2 mi away
Salutation Hotel
Salutation Hotel
#4 of 18 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
3.1 mi away
Huntingtower Hotel
Huntingtower Hotel
#2 of 18 in Perth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Perth City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercure Perth Hotel
Mercure Perth Hotel
#17 of 18 in Perth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parklands
Parklands
#11 of 18 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#18 of 18 in Perth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal George Hotel

Property: Royal George Hotel
Address: The Royal George Hotel Tay Street, Perth PH1 5LD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Perth
#5 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#7 Business Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllically located on the banks of the River Tay in the heart of The City of Perth, The Royal George Hotel has been attracting guests to Scotland from around the world for over 230 years. Situated next to Perth Museum and Horsecross Arts and Conference Centre, the hotel is a popular destination for business and pleasure travellers. All bedrooms are ensuite, many with views over the river, fully licensed bar and restuarant serving locally sourced traditional Scottish fare. Limited free parking available on site, Free BT Fibre Optic Broadband available throughout. Coming April 2016 - Complimentary residents gym / fitness suite and residents games room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Royal George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal George Perth
Royal George Hotel Perth, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing