We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location”
Review of Royal George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal George Hotel
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Hello - The hotel is in a good spot for walking around the shops and also next to the river. It is an old hotel with many interesting features. The room was a good size however had very little ventilation and in the hot summer this was an issue. Otherwise very clean and comfortable. Servce for breakfast was good, however was a little disapointed with the quality of sausages. Parking is a bit of a lottery as well. At £100 per night I have stayed in better.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry_Donnelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (648)
There are newer reviews for Royal George Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

412 - 418 of 649 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2013

Booked in for a bed and breakfast and thoroughly enjoyed the experience.
Hotel is a mixture of old world dignity and modern can do.
Rooms are clean, comfortable and well appointed with tea making facilities, flat screen televisions and comfortable beds.
Rooms overlooking the river Tay have a smashing view.
Public areas have free Wi Fi a good bar and a lovely conservatory overlooking the river.
Breakfast was excellent, loads of choice and friendly charming staff to advise you.
Watch out for the carpark it is small but lack of supervision can lead to parking problems.
I hope to return very soon.

Room Tip: Ask for river view
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martybare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Enjoyed my one night stay here but..........

Location is great and Perth looks a superb town to visit. The room was comfortable and had everything you could need. It was really clean and the views of the river and bridge out front were lovely.

However......I was on a business trip and arrived at 8pm. No one on the Reception. I tried to check out at 0720 the next morning, no one could check me out - too early.

These seem small points but I was in a rush and they held me up. I will return and hope my next review can be a 4 or more.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Off their P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We booked the Royal George for our daughters wedding at the beginning of August,it was a magical day,the hotel staff were attentive,the food was amazing,the rooms were good and the breakfast was good quality,a great day had by all.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank msinclair1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I book The Royal George Hotel when my mother pays my family a visit….. The price is standard for Perth, the rooms are clean & well maintained, the staffs are polite & attentive….food i.e. breakfast is of good quality……..I would not have my Mother stay in a hotel that was not of a good standard.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vwdougal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Great location, and the best service I have had experienced in years. Yes, it is a very old building and some areas may be more splendorous than others, but there is great effort to make the guest feel like a king (or queen). The standards are high and the place is spotless. The "high tea" is excellent a value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ximena V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Stayed one night in hotel. Booked twin room well in advance. Room allocated quite small and very stuffily warm. Opened sash window fully but no real effect. At rear of building looking onto small car park. Our biggest complaint is the narrow bathroom with a superheated towel rail on all the time. This is dangerous particularly getting in or out of shower which itself was scalding. Glad our stay was only one night, we would have asked for a change otherwise. We felt that our stay was expensive given the state of our room.Breakfast fine but the dining room looking onto river also very warm and uncomfortable. We ate at tables by outer door, cooler. Staff friendly but this hotel was disappointing.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lochnagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
0.2 mi away
Salutation Hotel
Salutation Hotel
#6 of 18 in Perth
1,108 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunbank House Hotel
Sunbank House Hotel
#4 of 18 in Perth
286 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parklands
Parklands
#9 of 18 in Perth
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercure Perth Hotel
Mercure Perth Hotel
#17 of 18 in Perth
953 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Perth
3.1 mi away
Huntingtower Hotel
Huntingtower Hotel
#1 of 18 in Perth
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal George Hotel

Address: The Royal George Hotel Tay Street, Perth PH1 5LD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Perth
#5 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#7 Business Hotel in Perth
Price Range: $77 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllically located on the banks of the River Tay in the heart of The City of Perth, The Royal George Hotel has been attracting guests to Scotland from around the world for over 230 years. Situated next to Perth Museum and Horsecross Arts and Conference Centre, the hotel is a popular destination for business and pleasure travellers. All bedrooms are ensuite, many with views over the river, fully licensed bar and restuarant serving locally sourced traditional Scottish fare. Limited free parking available on site, Free BT Fibre Optic Broadband available throughout. Coming April 2016 - Complimentary residents gym / fitness suite and residents games room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Royal George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal George Perth
Royal George Hotel Perth, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing