We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value”
Review of Royal George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal George Hotel
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2013

My wife & I stayed for one night & we received an upgraded room, the City of Perth Room on the second floor.
It overlooked the River Tay & was immaculate. It had a king size bed, a large bathroom & was well serviced.
The staff we dealt with were friendly, polite & knowledgable. The food was first class.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Born4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (648)
There are newer reviews for Royal George Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

432 - 438 of 649 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2013

Have just returned from a garden Tour to Scotland. This was by far our favourite hotel on the tour. What a lovely experience. It was like staying in a wonderful Scottish private home. The rooms were just perfect, so very Scottish, even the single rooms had lots of space. Our bus had broken down so we were late, but they had staff waiting to help with our luggage, our included dinner was perfect, The staff were just so warm and friendly They made us feel so welcome, from the waiters in the restaurants to Eddie Anderson, the owner. You can easily tell that the people who work in this hotel are well looked after and love their jobs. Because of the great atmosphere, every evening we would congregate in the comfortable sofas in lounge for pre and post drinks - made even more perfect by the attentive wait staff. Breakfast was great. We all did not want to leave - I would recommend this hotel to everyone. It just has so much charm and warmth. Thank you Royal George for making my Garden Tour such a success.

Room Tip: Every room is wonderful The ones overlooking the Tay River are probably the best, but don't wor...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Robyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Was pleased with my recent stay. The room was small but clean and the bed comfortable. Excellent view over river. Breakfast was fine. Parking not good but I knew that in advance. The service was good and I would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Allan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights on 30/5/13. This hotel is in a prime location, right in the middle of Perth and an ideal base for sightseeing. The room was traditionally decorated with tartan, but tastefully done. The bed was comfortable and clean. Our room (no 46) had lovely views over the River Tay. The bathroom looked nice, however, on closer inspection, everything looked like it had been finished by amateurs. The taps on the sink were loose, the toilet roll holder was about to fall off the wall, as was the shower curtain. In fact, during the first night, the bathroom mirror, which was being held up by a piece of string, snapped and the mirror, which was about 2ft by 2ft in size, fell off the wall, almost scaring us to death with the noise! We reported it the following morning, and it was attended to immediately. The staff could not have been more helpful, giving us maps and useful information, and the full Scottish breakfast was huge and delicious. Despite my comments re the bathroom, we had a very enjoyable stay and would definitely return.

Room Tip: Very good hote
Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Teri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

The room was a beautiful grey color with white trim. It was clean and the bed was comfy. The tartain throws add such a lovely touch. The bathroom was large but the floors were so slippery. The halls/reception area could use from freshening up. They felt dated. I could not believe how many stairs there were in this place. I understand that comes with age but there were several older couples staying and I worried about how they got around. The location was great. More staff were needed for the reception desk. I was always waiting or seeing others wait for service there. I would stay here again but be prepared to heft bags up and down those stairs.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I spent a bank holiday weekend at the Royal George Hotel and have to say the staff were first class. Always attentive and going the extra mile to make me feel welcome and to enjoy my stay. Would recommend the Royal George if you happen to be in Perth.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Doug R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

An excellent hotel well placed for the city centre and the North Inch, dog friendly. The staff were excellent, helpful and looked after us, me and my wife and ageing black Labrador. Great room (34), good nights' sleep and an excellent breakfast.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the Tay river sound good but you will here the road noise, quieter at the opposite...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tradefare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
0.2 mi away
Salutation Hotel
Salutation Hotel
#6 of 18 in Perth
1,108 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunbank House Hotel
Sunbank House Hotel
#4 of 18 in Perth
286 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parklands
Parklands
#9 of 18 in Perth
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercure Perth Hotel
Mercure Perth Hotel
#17 of 18 in Perth
955 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Perth
3.1 mi away
Huntingtower Hotel
Huntingtower Hotel
#1 of 18 in Perth
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal George Hotel

Address: The Royal George Hotel Tay Street, Perth PH1 5LD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Perth
#5 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#7 Business Hotel in Perth
Price Range: $76 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllically located on the banks of the River Tay in the heart of The City of Perth, The Royal George Hotel has been attracting guests to Scotland from around the world for over 230 years. Situated next to Perth Museum and Horsecross Arts and Conference Centre, the hotel is a popular destination for business and pleasure travellers. All bedrooms are ensuite, many with views over the river, fully licensed bar and restuarant serving locally sourced traditional Scottish fare. Limited free parking available on site, Free BT Fibre Optic Broadband available throughout. Coming April 2016 - Complimentary residents gym / fitness suite and residents games room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Royal George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal George Perth
Royal George Hotel Perth, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing