We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Work work work”
Review of Royal George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal George Hotel
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel during the summer on and off since 2009 for work and have found it to be one of the best hotels in Perth. Having tried most of the other hotels in Perth, this is the one we keep coming back to. It is a family run hotel, which gives you better service that the majority of the larger hotels. Parking at the hotel is limited, but have very rarely had to park in the street (where you have to pay). The rooms are well set out and spacious, with the last room i stayed in being recenty decorated, with a lovely view of the river Tay. There was confusion on the morning i checked out, where someone elses bar bill was charged to my room, which was sorted out without any fuss. I would recommend the High Tea for somone with a big apetite and sweet tooth. Would like to stay with my partner for a couple of nights to see the sights but is more expensive than some of the other hotels that do deals.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smudger01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (668)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

504 - 510 of 668 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2012

Stayed at the Royal Geroge last weekend as we were attending a wedding. We were given one of the stunning refurbed rooms and i couldnt fault it at all -absolutely spotless with an amazing bathroom. Service was perfect at all times and the Anderson's made our trip feel like a home from home!!
The wedding was fautless and food fab for such a large number...just a shame we didnt have time to stay for high tea as the meringues looked amazing!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aileen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

This is the place to go for High Tea. The choice on the menu is outstanding, if you can't find something you like you must be a very fussy eater. There is plenty of hot tea or coffee and toast served whilst you await your main course then lovely scones served with cream and jam then the biggest ever meringues you have seen in your life. Service is attentive even although the staff are kept busy. It is perhaps best to book because any time I have been it has been busy. I have also attended a few dinner functions, the food served was second to none. The hotel itself certainly has a lot of character with plenty of comfortable sofas/chairs in the bar. If you visit Perth well worth a visit with wonderful views over the river whilst you eat.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Wedding
Superb service from Eddie, Lorna and all the staff, we were just about as big a wedding as they can cater for and they looked after every detail and made us feel very looked after. The food was excellent which is impressive considering there was 113 for dinner!

Hotel
Real old school class. Everything is very comfortable feeling and is kept looking clean and good.

Rooms
We had the City of Perth suite which was amazing, huge room, huge bathroom, beautiful view and a very comfy bed.

A great experience which we will always remember.

Room Tip: City of Perth Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StuartMcNae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We booked our wedding here both day service and the evening reception and had a fantastic time. and could not have asked for a better venue the food was amazing and the staff were so frendly and Mr A is a god send and knows exactly how to keep every one calm and guide you through your day. and as for the room (tay suite) it is a fantastic room lovely clean and fresh and very roomy
with amazing veiws of the tay and the old bridge and in the evening with the lighting from tay street is just picturesque.
would highly recommend :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

On 6th September My wife and I got married and had our meal and evening reception at The Royal George Hotel.

What a fantastic day and night we had.

Eddie and all his staff made us and our wedding party feel very welcome. The meal was fantastic and we were so looked after.
From the time we first met Eddie and booked our venue to the very last detail of our wedding day, we knew that we were in good hands. The hotel catered for all our needs.

We cannot praise the staff and Eddie highly enough for all they have done for us. Our wedding experience at the Royal George was such a relaxed affair. We were made to feel like everything was about us (which of course, it was).

The rooms are fantastic. We had a suite for our wedding night and it was great. The room was big, comfortable, very clean and modern. The bed was lovely and the bathroom was brilliant.

If your thinking of staying in Perth then The Royal George Hotel is highly recommended. If you are thinking of having a wedding in Perth then we can't think of a better hotel than The Royal George.

Fantastic value for money and such a welcoming atmosphere.

Thank You Eddie and all the staff for everything.

Stewart & Sarah

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SM06092012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Wonderful helpful, friendly staff, great location. Excellent breakfast choice. On a Sunday only high tea is provided, last orders at 6.30,we therefore ate in the town where there are a large number of good restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ann2307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perthshotel, Owner at Royal George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write to us regarding your stay at The Royal George. I am delighted to hear your comments, especially those aimed at the staff and the hotel location. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
0.2 mi away
Salutation Hotel
Salutation Hotel
#6 of 18 in Perth
1,138 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parklands
Parklands
#9 of 18 in Perth
247 reviews
3.1 mi away
Huntingtower Hotel
Huntingtower Hotel
#1 of 18 in Perth
968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sunbank House Hotel
Sunbank House Hotel
#5 of 18 in Perth
297 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Perth Hotel
Mercure Perth Hotel
#17 of 18 in Perth
984 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Perth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal George Hotel

Address: The Royal George Hotel Tay Street, Perth PH1 5LD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Perth
#5 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#7 Business Hotel in Perth
Price Range: $84 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllically located on the banks of the River Tay in the heart of The City of Perth, The Royal George Hotel has been attracting guests to Scotland from around the world for over 230 years. Situated next to Perth Museum and Horsecross Arts and Conference Centre, the hotel is a popular destination for business and pleasure travellers. All bedrooms are ensuite, many with views over the river, fully licensed bar and restuarant serving locally sourced traditional Scottish fare. Limited free parking available on site, Free BT Fibre Optic Broadband available throughout. Coming April 2016 - Complimentary residents gym / fitness suite and residents games room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal George Perth
Royal George Hotel Perth, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing