We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Perfect Setting”
Review of Royal George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal George Hotel
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Perfect Setting”
Reviewed April 19, 2011

I recently got married in The Royal George Hotel and it was wonderful. A fabulous setting where nothing is too much trouble. The owner Eddie could not have done more from organising everything for me advising on budgets and letting me know what should be done. The food was wonderful, the staff were great and my husband and I had a great day. We stayed overnight before going on honeymoon and the room was lovely with views over the river Tay - although we did not spend much time in the room. I would definitely recommend it especially for anyone who is looking to get married in a wonderful setting over looking the Tay and not having to spend the fortune that some far shoddier venues charge for less.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsP101010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    208
    67
    26
    16
See reviews for
101
232
28
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 22, 2011

If you visit Perth and wish to stay in a hotel fit for a Queen then make your way with great haste and alactrity to the Royal George. On the day of our arrival we were lucky enough to arrive in time for lunch, we previously decided that this meal would colour our judgement as to whether or not to eat here that evening, suffice to say we ate there that night. I am not going to reveal all the surprises there are in store for the Royal George guests, trust me you will not be dissapointed. Emmjay

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmjay9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crieff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2011

Our group uses this hotel for monthly meetings throughout the winter. Refreshments are provided and we have been impressed by the standard of service and friendliness of the staff.
We also have lunch in the retaurant when we have visiting speakers and rate the Sunday lunch very highly for the menu offered and at a very good price.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marjoriebourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
91 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2011

Stayed for 4 nights with a group of friends whilst fishing on the river Tay which the hotel overlooks and found the rooms,food and levels of service fantastic.In this age of corporate hotels and restaurants etc.etc.its so refreshing to stay somewhere that is individual and obviously so loved by its owners.They worked so hard to make our stay special and nothing was too much trouble,they certainly lead by example and were doing the breakfast shift on a sunday morning,impressive!
Everyone at his hotel seems so happy and friendly,I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tirom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2011

We were very impressed with our lovely meal! Our compliments to the chef!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 26, 2011

Before i start i will begin by saying i have not stayed in the Royal George and have only recently discovered the delights of of the truly amazing food on offer here.The quality of the food served here can only be described as a credit to the proprietors.Generous portions using only the best of ingredients at £10.25 for a two course lunch with the like of quinnelles of pate followed by seabass in a sumptious creamy sauce absolutely magnificent and yes i am well and truly hooked and overwhelmed by the staff who wish to make it a dining experience to remember at an affordable price.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jemzara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 21, 2011

I have stayed at the Royal George every January for the past 11 years and have always been well looked after, with nothing but friendly and helpful service. The food is excellent and I truly hope to continue doing the same for many years to come. Dennis Morton

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shooter503772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
0.2 mi away
Salutation Hotel
Salutation Hotel
#4 of 18 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
3.1 mi away
Huntingtower Hotel
Huntingtower Hotel
#2 of 18 in Perth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Perth City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercure Perth Hotel
Mercure Perth Hotel
#17 of 18 in Perth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parklands
Parklands
#11 of 18 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#18 of 18 in Perth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal George Hotel

Property: Royal George Hotel
Address: The Royal George Hotel Tay Street, Perth PH1 5LD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Perth
#5 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#7 Business Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllically located on the banks of the River Tay in the heart of The City of Perth, The Royal George Hotel has been attracting guests to Scotland from around the world for over 230 years. Situated next to Perth Museum and Horsecross Arts and Conference Centre, the hotel is a popular destination for business and pleasure travellers. All bedrooms are ensuite, many with views over the river, fully licensed bar and restuarant serving locally sourced traditional Scottish fare. Limited free parking available on site, Free BT Fibre Optic Broadband available throughout. Coming April 2016 - Complimentary residents gym / fitness suite and residents games room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Royal George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal George Perth
Royal George Hotel Perth, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing