We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“SIMPLY THE BEST”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ardfern Guest House
Ranked #11 of 51 Perth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Northern England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“SIMPLY THE BEST”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Well this has to be one of the best B & B's ever. I stayed at short notice on a Saturday night, was really welcomed. Given a double at no extra cost with every facility. The place is spotless. Well laid out and they seem to have thought of everything. Breakfast was also 1st. Class.
I can see why people come back, I certainly will. Wilma and Bob are the most modest, nice people you could meet. Nothing is too much trouble. FIVE STAR PLUS *****+++++.

I have stayed in hundreds, nay thousands of B & B's, this really is the tops.

Room Tip: My room had a proper bed with full mattress and sprung base. Super comfort, not like sleeping on a p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
70
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed three nights at The Ardfern Guest house and it has a real taste of luxury. Roses on a coffee table, magazines, chocolates, plenty of drinks, and full size toiletries. The breakfast was so good, fresh fruit, raspberries, strawberries and brambles, plus cereals, and a cooked breakfast! Wonderful, we will be returning next year for sure!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Stayed here just one night on a quick trip to Perth, but would most certainly stay again. The house is warm and inviting, as are the hosts. Wonderful atmosphere. Very comfortable beds, with all sorts of thoughtful amenities offered in the room which are highly appreciated (kettle, coffees, teas, chocolates, robes!). The breakfast offerings were lovely. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avion85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

This was a lovely little Guest House and we had a very pleasant stay, All be it just for one night.
The service was fantastic & Very welcoming. When my partner and I arrived we were greeted with a prompt and homely welcome. Where we were shown to our room, We were also shown where things were within the Guest House, and informed of meal timings etc. One of the first things we noticed was the size of our spacious room, Which included an immaculate en suite bathroom. Which had comfortable selection of soaps, shampoos and deodrant,s. In addition to this it had ample supply of tea & coffee. Also included was a selection of complimentary chocolate bars. I have been in many posh hotels and you generally get a small biscuit or shortbread,if lucky. However The Ardfern Guest House, Even puts some of these hotels to shame. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room with plenty of ventilation. The hotel is handily placed for the City Centre, which is only 10 to 15 minutes gentle walk, to all amenities. The only real downside to the room, was the fact it was situated by a fairly main road. And as we were staying the one night, Did not cause so much a problem, We had thought the road would quieten, as the evening went on. However sadly not. And it was fairly busy throughout the evening, night and during the early hours. This is really the only downside to any of our stay. And was not a problem for a one night stay. However if we were stopping longer it could well have been.
The breakfast we had was superb and very well cooked, and plentiful. With a selection, of Cereals & yogurts. Another thing that was clearly noticeable compared to large hotel chains, Was the fresh fruit on selection...
All in all this was a lovely little Guest House, & would have no problems in stopping again for the night, which is on our agenda for next year.
On the main it was, clean, comfortable, and we were well looked after

Room Tip: If you want to, guarantee a good night sleep, Avoid the front 2 rooms. As it is situated by the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustAndy103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

I loved this place. We only stayed one night, but it was lovely. The staff are very friendly. The beds are comfortable, and the rooms are so cute! We were in a room that was titled twin/double. We thought it meant that it could be a room with either two twin beds or a double bed (pushed twins together). It actually meant that there was one double bed AND a twin bed in the room! Breakfast was amazing. The coffee was really good. The location is perfect. Not too far away from the city center, but just far enough to be quiet. We'll stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

A very warm welcome greeted us as we arrived and were shown to our room, which had an en suite and a large hanging cupboard for clothes. A very thoughtful provision in the bathroom was a selection of shampoos and deodorants, something I haven't come across before in a B & B. An excellent breakfast with a choice of cereals, fresh fruit and yoghurts as well as a plentiful plate of 'full English breakfast'. Would recommend for all age groups.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level Contributor
270 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Our first visit to Perth, and I am sure we will be back, and this Guest House would be our first choice. Free parking and just 20 minutes walk into Perth.

We were in Room 1, the only one of the three rooms without an en suite bathroom (it does have a washbasin), but it does have exclusive use of a very large and stylish bathroom across the landing, and provides towelling robes for the short walk to and fro.

The room was warm comfortable and nicely decorated, even though we were at the front next to the busy road, the traffic noise did not disturb us.

The beds were very comfortable and we had three good nights sleep. Plenty of tea and coffee provided and loads of nice chocolate biscuits.

Last but not least wonderful cooked breakfasts.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorky201024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
0.8 mi away
Salutation Hotel
Salutation Hotel
#4 of 18 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
1.1 mi away
Parklands
Parklands
#11 of 18 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#18 of 18 in Perth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Queens Hotel
1.3 mi away
The Fitzroy
The Fitzroy
#1 of 51 in Perth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Townhouse
The Townhouse
#2 of 51 in Perth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardfern Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardfern Guest House

Property: Ardfern Guest House
Address: 15 Pitcullen Crescent, Perth PH2 7HT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Perth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ardfern is a spacious Victorian house and is fully subscribed with the Scottish Tourist Board (Visitscotland) and has been awarded a grading of 4-star. We are situated in a highly respectable area of Perth and a comfortable 15 minute walk from the city centre. There is a guest lounge with an open fire for the cooler months of the year. Also ample private parking available to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ardfern Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardfern Guest House Perth, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing