We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A MUST FOR TEA AND SCONES”
Review of Small Talk

Small Talk
Ranked #1 of 16 Coffee & Tea in Perth
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Soups, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Forfar
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A MUST FOR TEA AND SCONES”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

A blast from the past in a good way, ten out of ten scones old fashoined teapots and cups and saucers. Can be really busy so get there early.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ForfarWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    515
    96
    31
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
735 reviews
392 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
“One of Perth's finest!”
Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

Perth is well supplied with cafes and tea rooms but this is one of the best. Good coffee, very tast cakes and very pleasant staff who give professional service. Becoming very popular with ladies who do tea!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Viewlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Delightful!!”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

As we walked around Perth we passed Small Talk and were drawn in by its charm and its traditional look. The staff were welcoming and accommodated our party. We ordered 4 afternoon teas and two soups, the food came quickly and was served on delightful antique china. The afternoon tea was fabulous and the carrot cake was to die for. Highly recommended!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashley O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Maybe it was a bad day!”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Following the enthustiastic reviews we had read we paid a visit to Small Talk. Our experience was substantially different from those we have read about. There was a distinct lack of staff available to take our order and eventually the chef came out of the kitchen and instructed a member of staff to get off their mobile and attend to customers. The manager was very friendly but we got the impression he had his work cut out keeping on top of the young waiting staff. We ordered cake and coffees. The coffee was okay but nothing to write home about and the cake was small. We had noticed that the cake from which the pieces were cut should had made two acceptable sized pieces. However, as we left the cafe we noticed that for some bizarre reason a small piece of cake had been left on the plate. The cake itself was lovely but we won't be tempted to return.
The decor did not live up to the reviews or expectations from the outside. The cafe is cramped, the standard of the workmanship is poor and quite why some tables had plastic table cloths and others had linen is a mystery. The cafe wasn't that warm and it isn't the sort of place you'd want to sit and chat, which after all is often the purpose of sharing afternoon tea/coffee together. For some strange reason it was difficult to get a receipt for our purchases and the manager had to intervene as the person taking the payments said that she couldn't do receipts and was that okay? In my opinion some customer care training is needed.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank TripMember102016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Highly Reccomended”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I have been to small talk on a few occasions for lunch each of which i have left satisfied every time. The food, which is home-made is beautiful and presented to a very high standard. The staff are pleasant and polite, the atmosphere is lovely and it has beautiful interior. I would highly recommend this tea room to anyone living in perth or visiting as it is a must!!! Great value for money. Great food. Great service. Ten out of ten.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank melodymacmahon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Small Talk also viewed

 
Perth, Perth and Kinross
Perth, Perth and Kinross
 
Perth, Perth and Kinross
Perth, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Small Talk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing