We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Huntingtower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Huntingtower Hotel
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Kilrea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2009

We spent 2 nights in this hotel and really liked it. We did have one problem which at the time was a bit scary. The lift broke down when we were in it. However the staff responded quickly and got us out of it within about 10 minutes.

Apart from this we had a great time at the hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful including the red haired receptionist who was criticised in a previous review. We found her to be very pleasant and helpful.

The hotel is located a few miles from the centre of Perth though if you walk out to the main road (just over a 5 minute walk) you can get a bus into the centre. It is situated in a quiet area and has lovely grounds surrounding it while parking is also available at the side of the hotel.

Our room was very large with a large sitting area to the side of the bed. The bathroom was also a good size. Both the room and the bathroom were very clean. The room contained tea and coffe making facilities and shortbread was also left in the room

The hotel has a bar and a nice restaurant which like the hotel as a whole has plenty of character. We had an evening meal in the restaurant on one night and the food was very nice. It was a set price menu - £19.95 per person for a 4 course meal. I would certainly eat there again. The breakfast was also decent. It consisted of a cold buffet plus options for a cooked breakfast.

Free Wi-fi was also available in the hotel

We found the hotel to be a relaxing place to stay and we would certainly have no hesitation going back to stay again

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alan_ni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    241
    68
    42
    31
See reviews for
175
413
16
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2009

I've stayed in many, many hotels but have never been treated with such disdain by the reception staff and subsequently the manager as we did on the one and only night I would ever stay in this hotel. Hugely unprofessional receptionist with red hair, absolutely needs emergency training in treating customers well in a service environment and in the meantime should be kept as far away from hotel guests as possible. I felt like a naughty schoolboy despite being a good 15 years older than she. The manager seemed unconcerned by how she spoke to the hotel guests also. If we hadn't been meeting others there for a friends birthday surprise we would have all left and went to a hotel that appreciated and knew how to treat / speak to their guests. As a diret result none of us felt inclined to spend / stay in the hotel any longer than necessary and they missed out on the income that would have been generated from a party of 6 for dinner, drinks, breakfast (yes breakfast wasn't included in the tariff which came as a surprise!!) and lunch. Complaint now winging it's way to Best Western / Portland Hotels. Other reception staff were professional and bar staff were very helpful and friendly. Overall ok hotel, nice setting, beds were uncomfortable, rooms smelled a bit musty / damp......wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MJTravellerEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
82 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2009

Lovely, relaxed feel to this hotel. Ideal for couples looking for a quiet weekend away as hotel is on its own at the end of a quiet lane about 5 minutes' drive outside Perth - beautiful views over countryside at the back of the hotel. Lovely wood-panelled restaurant with excellent food and good value for money (bonus was watching ducklings and rabbits playing on the lawn at dusk outside the dining room window). Would definitely come back here.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Floridafans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2009

Stayed one night for a wedding in July. Hotel is a lovely building with nice grounds. Room was OK, we had the disabled room which had a ramp outside (from the rear carpark) leading to double-doors which people kept mistaking for the doors into the hotel! Bit scary when someone is trying to batter the door down and knowking on the window.
Could hear a lot of noise from the rooms above, just people walking about as normal so the level of noise was quite annoying. The reception & senior staff were all excellent. The bar staff and one of the waitresses at breakfast seemed disinterested in serving customer s- it was like we were inconveniencing them. The food was excellent and as a wedding reception location it ticked all the boxes.
Overall, mostly minor gripes and general impression was good.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Baxterdog8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2009

In September 08 I booked 23 rooms for May 09. In January I phoned and increased the booking to 25 rooms. When I sent the final room list 3 weeks before the event they contacted me (a week later) to tell me they had cancelled my booking in Dec/Jan as I had not confirmed the rooms - despite my call to increase the room number! They cancelled the booking without contacting me - despite having my name, address, phone no. and email address!!! You can't imagine the problems this caused. However I would highly recommend Crieff Hydro for stepping into the breach - in a much classier manner! If you have a booking with this hotel - check it regularly!

Stayed May 2009
Helpful?
1 Thank AHCFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chirnside scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2009

Stayed here for a weekend break while the arts festival was on, under the two nghts b&b and one night dinner package. Hotel is set in a lovely peaceful location. Started weekend off by sitting in the peaceful grounds with a bottle of wine. All staff were efficient, helpful and polite. Room was nice, had everything you would want. Dinner was lovely. Food was excellent. Would deffinately stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chirnside_babe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2009

We booked this for a couple of nights starting a short tour of Scotland. I'd previously stayed 11 years ago, and the hotel was great then, but with some of the reviews here I was a little worried.

We checked in, and went to the room (see pics) - the room was very spacious and comfortable - although the bed was a little tired and could probably use new mattresses.

The bathroom was of a good standard with a superb shower - lots of water pressure and nice hot water.

The best part, without a doubt was the restaurant - Between us, over two evenings we had Scallops for starters (twice) and they were superb, for main we had Duck, which was superb, Vension, which was nice, but not outstanding and Sirloin Steak - now I've eaten a lot of steak - the steak at the Huntingtower was easily in the top 3 steaks I've ever eaten. Perfectly cooked, and so tender it just melted in the mouth..

If I was looking for negatives, the WIFI wasn't the most reliable, and I was served a drink in a chipped glass - other than those 2 minor things, we had a brilliant stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark_wuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn Perth City Centre Hotel
3.2 mi away
Salutation Hotel
Salutation Hotel
#4 of 18 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
3.1 mi away
Royal George Hotel
Royal George Hotel
#5 of 18 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Perth
3.6 mi away
Sunbank House Hotel
Sunbank House Hotel
#7 of 18 in Perth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
3.0 mi away
Parklands
Parklands
#11 of 18 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huntingtower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huntingtower Hotel

Property: Huntingtower Hotel
Address: Crieff Road, Perth PH1 3NZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Perth
#2 Family Hotel in Perth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Huntingtower Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm Scottish welcome awaits you at Huntingtower Hotel, nestled in a quiet country neighbourhood setting, yet only minutes away from the city of Perth. Huntingtower Hotel is one of the friendliest country house hotels in Scotland, designed with your comfort in mind. Enjoy understated elegance and charm, individual and tasteful guest rooms, spacious and contrasting lounges and dining areas, award winning food and service, delightful gardens and grounds. A place where you can relax and feel completely at home. Whether your stay is for business or leisure, Huntingtower Hotel is the perfect choice to make your stay in Perth a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotel.de, HRS, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Huntingtower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Perth
Perth Best Western
Huntingtower Hotel Perth, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing